Author Topic: Sound on Button Push  (Read 3972 times)

FrizzleFried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 243
    • View Profile
    • Idaho Garagecade
Sound on Button Push
« on: February 15, 2018, 08:55:21 AM »
How do I code in sound on a certain button push?

I "hacked" this code from another layout to make a sound when moving from ROM to ROM,  but I'd like to assign a sound to CUSTOM 1.
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (updated 06-27-19)

keilmillerjr

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1167
    • View Profile
Re: Sound on Button Push
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2018, 09:40:01 AM »
Add a signal handler, check for custom1, then play custom sound. At work so hope this is enough to get you going.

https://github.com/mickelson/attract/blob/master/Layouts.md#add_signal_handler
https://github.com/mickelson/attract/blob/master/Layouts.md#add_sound

FrizzleFried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 243
    • View Profile
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: Sound on Button Push
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2018, 12:35:40 PM »
Yeah... I'm failing miserably at trying to get this to work... considering I know next to nothing about coding,  it's no surprise,  but I've tried a few things with no success.

The current WORKING code that I hacked from another front end that makes the "click" sound when you move from ROM to ROM is:

Code: [Select]
//game select sound
function select_sound( ttype, var, ttime ) {
 switch ( ttype ) {

  case Transition.ToNewSelection:
      local sound = fe.add_sound("game.mp3");
      sound.playing=true;
  break;
  }
 return false;
}
fe.add_transition_callback( "select_sound" );

I tried using that code and hacking in what I THOUGHT was possibly going to work... it didn't...

Code: [Select]
function button_sound( ttype, var, ttime ) {
if ((signal_str=="custom1"))
{ local sound = fe.add_sound("game.mp3");
      sound.playing=true;
  break;
  }
 return false;
}
fe.add_transition_callback( "button_sound" );

But again,  being that I really have no idea what I am doing,  it's no surprise it didn't work... but I figured I could at least TRY.

:D

NOW... anyone care to tell me what kind of a dummy I am and show me where I went wrong? 

:)
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (updated 06-27-19)

calle81

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
Re: Sound on Button Push
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2018, 12:51:10 AM »
I think what you do might trigger Transition.ToNewList:

////////////////
//Sound effects
////////////
function fade_transitions( ttype, var, ttime ) {
 switch ( ttype ) {
  case Transition.ToNewSelection:
   local Wheelclick = fe.add_sound("Click.mp3")
         Wheelclick.playing=true
  break;
  case Transition.ToGame:
  case Transition.ToNewList:
   local Wheelclick = fe.add_sound("selection.mp3")
         Wheelclick.playing=true
  break;
  }
 return false;
}

calle81

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
Re: Sound on Button Push
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2018, 01:07:21 AM »
Otherwise this should work:


fe.add_signal_handler(this, "on_signalinfo");
function on_signalinfo(signal) {
   if ( signal == "custom1" ){
      local Wheelclick = fe.add_sound("selection.mp3")
           Wheelclick.playing=true
      return true;
   }
   return false;
}

FrizzleFried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 243
    • View Profile
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: Sound on Button Push
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2018, 12:59:15 PM »
Using the 2nd code you posted (directly above)... I now get the click when I push CUSTOM1 (button)... unfortunately the animation (CUSTOM1 is associated with moving from the "LIST" screen to the "INFO" screen to the "FLYER" screen then to the "CABINET" screen and then back again.  Now it just... clicks.  :)

Is it perhaps WHERE I put the code that makes the difference?

THANK YOU!!

EDIT:
Figured it out.  All I needed to do was change the first "return true;" to "return false;"...

:)

Thanks!

EDIT: BUT... it broke the "movement" sound... I'll get it though.  :D

EDIT: Fixed... ;)

« Last Edit: February 17, 2018, 07:14:12 PM by FrizzleFried »
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (updated 06-27-19)

calle81

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
Re: Sound on Button Push
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2018, 01:29:00 AM »
Happy it worked out for you :)