Author Topic: need help with playchoice 10 driver  (Read 3414 times)

jonnytracker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
need help with playchoice 10 driver
« on: November 17, 2015, 11:39:30 AM »
is it posible to play with a simple bios like other nes emulator instead of playchoice 10 for all nes games,. its anoying

hermine.potter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 378
    • View Profile
Re: need help with playchoice 10 driver
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2015, 09:48:53 PM »
this depends to your nes-emulator and your rom-files. You use a rom that contains a collection of different games.
If you want to get a overview of single games, you must have of course this games as single roms (and not as a single rom including a collection).
AM Version : 2.4.0
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : WindowsXP x86 SP3
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 4GB RAM
Emulators : zsnes; mame; dosbox; scummvm; bsnes; fusion; openbor; windows_games; winuae; video; flashgames; vice; visualboy

akafox

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 785
    • View Profile
Re: need help with playchoice 10 driver
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2015, 08:54:19 AM »
 hermine.potter is right you can just use a nes emulator instead..like fecux or nestopia. I am guessing that you want to keep this just and "arcade cabinet/setup"?

If so no you can not use a different bios for PC-10 roms. I have mine set up to start easily though..I am not fond of them however. I can show you if that is what you want.

(please move this to the emulator section as this does not have anything to do with AM)
People want life easy..then complain about it

jonnytracker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: need help with playchoice 10 driver
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2015, 10:22:21 AM »
im planing to setup mame cabinet and this monitor thing is destroying the whole plan.. i dont want extra buttons to change screens

akafox

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 785
    • View Profile
Re: need help with playchoice 10 driver
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2015, 06:16:16 PM »
Extra buttons to change screens? explain please  ???

Well the pc-10 was dual screen one top showing the menu..the bottom for game play. MAME emulates that..you can out put to two monitors or change your video settings for that game in mame to show only the main screen when it starts. If you have a 2-joy/6-button layout (like most) just set an "unused" button for the enter button. No need for any extra buttons or monitors (well punch out might be a problem of course).
People want life easy..then complain about it

keilmillerjr

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 510
    • View Profile
Re: need help with playchoice 10 driver
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2015, 06:57:53 PM »
Create a nes emulator file, use mame as the emulator, and set the arguments to use nes bios. Apply a filter for nes bios.

hermine.potter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 378
    • View Profile
Re: need help with playchoice 10 driver
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2015, 11:48:55 PM »
playchoice 10-files are simply multirom-files. It contains 10 nes games in one single rom file. Of course, if you start one of this rom-files, WYSIWYG a game, that shows 10 choices of games.
AM Version : 2.4.0
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : WindowsXP x86 SP3
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 4GB RAM
Emulators : zsnes; mame; dosbox; scummvm; bsnes; fusion; openbor; windows_games; winuae; video; flashgames; vice; visualboy

akafox

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 785
    • View Profile
Re: need help with playchoice 10 driver
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2015, 05:09:58 PM »
hermine.potter

Is there a way to load several pc-10 games in mame..you know like you can a neo-geo multi-slot in mame?
People want life easy..then complain about it

hermine.potter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 378
    • View Profile
Re: need help with playchoice 10 driver
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2015, 11:38:20 PM »
@akafox
depends on the available rom files that you have.

There are two types :

1) playchoice10-multirom-files (containing 10 nes games in one rom file)
2) single playchoice10-rom-files (one game, in one rom file)

for 2) here
AM Version : 2.4.0
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : WindowsXP x86 SP3
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 4GB RAM
Emulators : zsnes; mame; dosbox; scummvm; bsnes; fusion; openbor; windows_games; winuae; video; flashgames; vice; visualboy

akafox

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 785
    • View Profile
Re: need help with playchoice 10 driver
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2015, 06:22:50 AM »
OK then. That answers it. I knew they had miuti-rom sets..but not for pc-10. Mostly I just load them as singles. I was just thinking from a "historical point of view" like MAME is made for.

Yeah I know "why load it up that way when you have a front end like attract mode?" But like the MVS having 2, 4, or 6 games it's "fun" to see how it worked using mame from a historic point and being able to switch through them like on a real arcade cabinet...maybe they will get around to it.

Back to topic though..there is only one pc-10 bios for mame..or am I wrong here?
« Last Edit: November 25, 2015, 06:55:16 AM by akafox »
People want life easy..then complain about it

playerzero

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: need help with playchoice 10 driver
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2015, 02:53:31 PM »
Jonnytracker I had the same problem on my cab with Bonanza Bros.

It would show some sort of stats on the "bottom" screen, and the game in a tiny "top" screen.

I ended up finding a different version of the rom, which played full screen.

I really think your best bet is to use individual roms for nes games, though.
I would avoid using playchoice roms at all.