Author Topic: Filters not working for different displays  (Read 2394 times)

informix

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Filters not working for different displays
« on: July 14, 2018, 08:53:39 PM »
Trying to set up a few different displays to make getting around the 200 mame games I have..
First trying to set up just a "fighting" game display.

Using the following filter...

Code: [Select]
display a
layout               Basic
romlist              mame
in_cycle             yes
in_menu              yes
global_filter       
filter               All
filter               "2 Player Simultaneous"
rule                 Players contains sim
rule                 CloneOf not_equals .*
filter               "Fighting Scrolling"
rule                 Category contains Fight
rule                 Category contains Scrolling
rule                 CloneOf not_equals .*
filter               "Fighting Versus"
rule                 Category contains Fight
rule                 Category contains Versus
rule                 CloneOf not_equals .*

But it still shows every single game I have

Here is a 'bit' of my mame.txt
Code: [Select]
lwings;Legendary Wings (US set 1);mame;;1986;Capcom;Shooter / Flying Vertical;2;90;joystick (8-way),joystick (8-way);good;1;raster;;;;
mace;Mace: The Dark Age (boot ROM 1.0ce, HDD 1.0b);mame;;1996;Atari Games;Fighter / Versus;4;0;joystick (8-way),joystick (8-way),joystick (8-way),joystick (8-way);good;1;raster;;;chd;
mplanets;Mad Planets;mame;;1983;Gottlieb;Shooter / Field;1;270;joystick (8-way),dial;good;1;raster;;;;
mswordu;Magic Sword: Heroic Fantasy (USA 900725);mame;msword;1990;Capcom;Platform / Fighter Scrolling;2;0;joystick (8-way),joystick (8-way);good;1;raster;msword;;;
mhavoc;Major Havoc (rev 3);mame;;1983;Atari;Shooter / Misc.;2;0;dial,only_buttons;good;1;vector;;;;
marble;Marble Madness (set 1);mame;;1984;Atari Games;Maze / Marble Madness;2;0;trackball,trackball;good;1;raster;atarisy1;;;
mshu;Marvel Super Heroes (USA 951024);mame;msh;1995;Capcom;Fighter / Versus;2;0;joystick (8-way),joystick (8-way);good;1;raster;msh;;;

which looks like i have right.. Few games have category as Fighter... lots do not.. But everything shows up in the display.

I eventually just put in a very simple..

Code: [Select]
display a
layout               Basic
romlist              mame
in_cycle             yes
in_menu              yes
global_filter       
filter               All
filter               "Fighting Versus"
rule                 Category contains Fight

But still shows every single game I have.. Tried a few others.. players, year..   nothing seems to limit me down.. Every display i make always shows all my games.
i tried removing       filter               All   but that didn't help either..
Any  ideas what might be wrong.?



progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1271
    • View Profile
Re: Filters not working for different displays
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2018, 11:21:12 PM »
I think you're overlooking the part where you need to apply the filter. Each filter listed is toggled by pressing a key (once you have set it up in Configure-->Controls-->Next Filter).

If you really want to filter the entire display (which can't be toggled by pressing a key) you need to apply your rules to "Global Filter" section. Here's an example.
Code: [Select]
display a
layout               Basic
romlist              mame
in_cycle             yes
in_menu              yes
global_filter       
rule                 Category contains Fight

informix

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Filters not working for different displays
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2018, 05:46:10 AM »
This worked great..  Thank you.. !!

 But makes me think i have fundamentally miss understood how filters work.  Only global filters work all the time.. the others are turned on and off somehow..
Going to go play with it.. But any pointer won't go amiss.. ..  :)


informix

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Filters not working for different displays
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2018, 07:49:44 AM »
saying i "fundamentally miss understood" is possible an understatement.  I had somehow completely missed the "next filter" and "previous filter" options.. Seeing that might have pointed me in the right direction..   Its funny how missing something so basic sets you on a path, and you are so intent to find your way ON that path.. you never think to look at another path..

Saying thanks again.. And sorry for seems now a very silly question.