Author Topic: Maybe running x86 apps on RPI2 is not so crazy after all  (Read 5208 times)

omegaman

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Check this out. Eltechs’s faster ExaGear Desktop software version now supports ARMv6, in addition to ARMv7, letting users run x86 apps on all models of the Raspberry Pi.

Check this outhttp://linuxgizmos.com/emulator-now-runs-x86-apps-on-all-raspberry-pi-models/

verion

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • new projects
Re: Maybe running x86 apps on RPI2 is not so crazy after all
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2015, 04:12:58 AM »
It is more a proof-of-concept for me. I don't see the point to emulate x86. It is better to write software optimised for RPi (or compile it for RPi).

People are getting more and more lazy, and don't want to leave their zone of comfort.

Software optimisation (for hardware) is becoming a thing of the past. Maybe I'm wrong, because I'm not a programmer and I really don't know a thing about writing and optimising software. But I remember that on ZX Spectrum, when programmers wanted to push hardware even more - they just rewrite part of the software in assembler (low level language).

When I look at some games @ original XBOX - like BLACK for example - it's short of amazing what can be done with limited resources.
When I bought XBOX 360 - I've kept playing on old XBOX, not because of nostalgia, but just because the old games looked better. It took some time for XBOX 360 to ramp up to that level of quality.

I'm still using XBMC on XBOX as my media center. I've tried switching to RPi, but the sole interface performance (PM3) was sub par. But the devs wasn't pushing RPi enough, and I can understand why - It was easier to stay with main branch and just wait for RPi2. And don't get me wrong - there is nothing "bad" with this approach. Even more - it is more "resource friendly". It is just "not the way that it was before". *sigh*