Attract-Mode Support Forum

Related Stuff => Emulators => Topic started by: akafox on August 08, 2015, 02:25:55 PM

Title: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: akafox on August 08, 2015, 02:25:55 PM
Thanks to Bsoder52 for help on this!

Dahpne (named after the princess in Dragon's Lair) is a laserdisc emulator. (Yes we have a had "CD technology" for years before CDs were popular!) It is a "one-system emulator" that is all it emulates is laserdisc games.

First off the games (discs) are available to purchase or if you actually have a laserdisc player (and disc) you can use that. From my understanding you do not need the discs to play all the games run by daphne. The games are downloaded via torrent through the emulator itself. However, to play Dragon's Lair, Dragon's Lair II: Time Warp, Space Ace, or Thayer's Quest you must have the disc!

The default daphne.cfg works but I had some problems wit daphne being started from attract mode. Seems to be the -bank switches. These are dip switch settings and are different for some games. So I made each game a "emulator" so that the entire correct command is sent right so that daphne does not freak out. It took work and some time but it worked great! I added them to my MAME list and deleted each game list so they do not show when I cycle other emulators.

I will post them here..however do not copy and paste them and think they will work because the path is different for your setup I am sure. The part I am pasting..the -framefile switch you replace with your path to your frame file. (ex. C:\daphne\vpld\dlair\dair.txt) The -home directory switch you replace with your "working directory"..the path your your executable file (ex. C:\windows\program files x86\daphne) everything will work if you want to copy and paste them just make sure your paths are right!

us vs them
Code: [Select]
uvt vldp -framefile path/uvt.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 00000000 -noserversend -sound_buffer 940 -fullscreen -x 800 -y 600
 Super don xoite
Code: [Select]
sdq vldp -framefile path/sdq.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 00000001 -bank 1 00000000 -noserversend -sound_buffer 940 -fullscreen -x 800 -y 600 roadblaster
Code: [Select]
roadblaster vldp -framefile path/rb.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 00000000 -bank 1 00000000 -noserversend -sound_buffer 940  -fullscreen -x 800 -y 600 mach3
Code: [Select]
mach3 vldp -framefile path/mach3.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 01000001 -noserversend -sound_buffer 940 -fullscreen -x 800 -y 600 interstellar
Code: [Select]
interstellar vldp -framefile path/interstellar.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 00000001 -bank 1 00000000 -noserversend -sound_buffer 940 -fullscreen -x 800 -y 600 gpworld
Code: [Select]
gpworld vldp -framefile path/gpworld.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -noserversend -sound_buffer 940 -fullscreen -x 800 -y 600 galaxy
Code: [Select]
galaxy vldp -framefile path/galaxy.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 00000000 -bank 1 00000000 -noserversend -sound_buffer 940 -fullscreen -x 800 -y 600 dragons lair
Code: [Select]
dle21 vldp -framefile path/dle21.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 11111000 -bank 1 00110111 -noserversend -volume_vldp 64 -sound_buffer 960 -fullscreen -x 800 -y 600 esh's aurunmilla
Code: [Select]
esh vldp -framefile path/esh.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -noserversend -sound_buffer 940 -fullscreen -x 800 -y 600dragon's lair 2
Code: [Select]
lair2 vldp -framefile path/lair2.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -noserversend -sound_buffer 2048 -x 640 -y 480 cobra commander
Code: [Select]
cobraab vldp -framefile path/cobra.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 00000000 -bank 1 01000000 -noserversend -sound_buffer 940 -fullscreen -x 800 -y 600bega's battle
Code: [Select]
bega vldp -framefile path/bega.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 00000000 -bank 1 00000100 -noserversend -sound_buffer 940 -x 800 -y 600badlands
Code: [Select]
badlands vldp -framefile path/badlands.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 00000000 -bank 1 10000001 -noserversend -sound_buffer 2048 -x 640 -y 480astron belt
Code: [Select]
astron vldp -framefile path/astron.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 00000000 -bank 1 00000000 -noserversend -sound_buffer 2048 -x 640 -y 480space ace
Code: [Select]
ace vldp  -framefile path/ace.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 00000000 -bank 1 00000001 -noserversend -sound_buffer 2048 -fullscreen -x 800 -y 600 thayer's quest
Code: [Select]
tq vldp -framefile path/tq.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -useoverlaysb 1 -bank 0 00010000 -noserversend -sound_buffer 2048 -x 640 -y 480

break down line by line:

tq <-- this is the name of the rom

vldp -framefile <-- this stays the same

path/tq.txt <-- this part you change to your path on your computer and name of your framefile.txt

-blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 <-- this stays the same

-homedir /home/path <--again change this to reflect the path to your home directory for the daphne emulator

-useoverlaysb 1 -bank 0 00010000 <--don't change this part!

-noserversend optional

-sound_buffer 2048 <-- can leave this the same

-fullscreen <--adding this will make it full screen on start instead of a window
 -x 640 -y 480 <- basically your screen size leave the -x and -y part just change the numbers
valid sets are (-x 640 -y 480)  (-x 800 -y 600) (-x1280 -y 1024) (-x 1024 -y 768)

The entire goes on your arguments line in AM. One for each game..make them each a single emulator. All the rest of the information you set up in the normal manner.

I know this sounds like a pain..and maybe I am making harder i don't know. All I know I had problems on my linux machine. The games were acting weird after being launched from AM for me
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: battlecat on November 14, 2015, 05:40:44 AM
Hello:

I have Daphne up and working on Linux Mint 17.2. It works great on its own.

I have been trying to incorporate it into AM for the last 2 hours with no luck.

When I run daphne via the CLI I get this output.

Code: [Select]
DaphneLoader Launcher : Script dir is .
Daphne Launcher : Script dir is .
--DAPHNE version 1.0.11
--Command line is: ./daphne.bin lair vldp -framefile /home/battlecat/Downloads/daphne/framefile/lair.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/battlecat/.daphne -bank 0 11111001 -bank 1 00100111 -sound_buffer 2048 -fullscreen -x 640 -y 480
--CPU : GenuineIntel 2500 MHz || Mem : 4096 megs
--OS : Linux 3.16 || Video : NVIDIA Corporation GT218 [GeForce 8400 GS Rev. 3] (rev a2)
--OpenGL: Compiled In
--RGB2YUV Function: MMX
--Line Blending Function: MMX
--Audio Mixing Function: MMX
Setting alternate home dir:
/home/battlecat/.daphne
Setting sound buffer size to 2048
Setting screen width to 640
Setting screen height to 480
Set 640x480 at 32 bpp with flags: 80000000
Initializing sound system ...
GI Sound chip initialized at 2000000 Hz
WARNING : requested 2048 samples for sound buffer, but got 1024 samples
Joystick #0 was successfully opened
Remapping input ...
Loading compressed ROM image dl_f2_u1.bin...8192 bytes read.
Loading compressed ROM image dl_f2_u2.bin...8192 bytes read.
Loading compressed ROM image dl_f2_u3.bin...8192 bytes read.
Loading compressed ROM image dl_f2_u4.bin...8192 bytes read.
Shutting down sound system...
Shutting down video display...
DaphneLoader failed with an unknown exit code : 1.

I have been messing with the Daphne setting so much that it is not nearly what I started with.

Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode 1.5.2
#
executable           $HOME/home/battlecat/Downloads/daphne/.daphne
args                 lair  vldp -framefile $HOME/battlecat/Downloads/daphne/framefile/lair.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir $HOME/battlecat/Downloads/daphne.daphne -bank 0 11111001 -bank 1 00100111 -sound_buffer 2048 -fullscreen -x 640 -y 480
rompath              $HOME/battlecat/Downloads/daphne/roms
system               Arcade

Any ideas or suggestions?

Thank you,
BC
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: akafox on November 16, 2015, 01:17:13 PM
Oh wow..I just realized how long it has been since i set that up.

Quote
executable           $HOME/home/battlecat/Downloads/daphne/.daphne

Make it this
Code: [Select]
executable           $HOME/home/battlecat/Downloads/daphne/./daphne Thus
/.daphne becomes /./daphne (I know it looks strange just trust me here)

also you might want to check your path to your framefiles. You have it set up when used from the "gui" but from from the command line (thus from AM) it doesn't work that way. Make sure the path to your framefiles is right in your AM config! (took me an hour figure that out  ::) )

also

Quote
args                 lair  vldp -framefile $HOME/battlecat/Downloads/daphne/framefile/lair.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir $HOME/battlecat/Downloads/daphne.daphne -bank 0 11111001 -bank 1 00100111 -sound_buffer 2048 -fullscreen -x 640 -y 480

remove the $HOME make it /home/  ($HOME means /home/username..so you have /home/battlecat/home/battlecat.Downloads/... to linux/mac)

I'll point out the the default daphane configuration works...however it does have its problems with some games using it. That is why I made every game a separate "emulator"

post back and let me know
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: battlecat on November 18, 2015, 03:34:17 PM
So after much twerking I mean tweeking I got DL to run! Yeah!

Now I need to get it to only show the relevant ROM and show that in a user friendly format not just lair.

Here is the end config for it:

# Generated by Attract-Mode 1.5.2
#
executable           $HOME/ArcadeCabinet/daphne/./daphne
args                 lair  vldp -framefile /home/battlecat/ArcadeCabinet/daphne/framefile/lair.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/battlecat/ArcadeCabinet/daphne.daphne -bank 0 11111001 -bank 1 00100111 -sound_buffer 2048 -fullscreen -x 640 -y 480
rompath              $HOME/ArcadeCabinet/daphne/roms
system               Arcade
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: akafox on November 18, 2015, 06:59:32 PM
Looks good! :) *sigh* Well honestly I have been meaning to do a write up about lists for AM...been dragging my backside...

I have all my daphne and DICE games lists with (yes in my mame list) after all they are arcade/coin-op games right? ;)

You are the motivation to get it finished bc...
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: Setti on December 29, 2015, 09:28:46 PM
Ok.. played around and got this working. I am trying to make this work without having to give drive letter specific locations. I want to run my entire arcade off usb.
Below worked fine for me.

# Generated by Attract-Mode 1.6.2
#
executable           ../daphne/daphne.exe
args                 [name] vldp -framefile [name].txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir [rompath].. -sound_buffer 2048 -fullscreen -fastboot -useoverlaysb 0
rompath              ../daphne/roms/
romext               .zip
system               Arcade
artwork    flyer           ../daphne/flyer
artwork    marquee         ../daphne/marquee
artwork    snap            g:/Arcade/daphne/Videos
artwork    wheel           ../Daphne/Wheel

Oh.. one other thing.. Here is a sample of a framefile. Notice the double dot before the VLDP_DL direcory

..\Vldp_dl\lair

151   lair.m2v

Setti




Setti
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: akafox on May 08, 2016, 10:55:21 AM
Quote from: battlecat link=topic=323.msg3043#msg3043 date=1447889657
Now I need to get it to only show the relevant ROM and show that in a user friendly format not just lair.
[/quote

To do that I manually edited the names in the list with a text editor. There might be a better way to do that I don't know.
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: snupello on June 12, 2016, 09:40:11 AM
Ciao, i'm Claudio From Italy, i'm news in this form !!
a have a question for Daphne Emulator.

When press the game from the weels attract open the Daphne emulator but not the select game !!
Why ??

i have this config if can help


Command line is: E:\Daphne\emulador daphne auxiliar\daphne.exe ace vldp -framefile E:\daphne\framefile\ace.txt -fullscreen -bank 0 00001000 -bank 1 00000001 -noserversend

[name] vldp -framefile [rompath]../vldp/[name]/[name].txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir [rompath].. -sound_buffer 2048 -fullscreen -fastboot -useoverlaysb 0
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: robthedude on June 29, 2016, 04:25:05 PM


Hi I am struggling to get Daphne Running from attract mode. It runs fine when i get back to EMulation station, But i get an error when starting in attract mode. Could not open Framefile : /home/pi/retropie/roms/daphne/roms/lair2.zip/lair.tx Anyone have any ideas what i am doing wrong? Thank you
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: hermine.potter on June 29, 2016, 10:44:29 PM
@robthedude
try this:
-rename unzipped folders to correct gamename : lair2.zip to lair2
-use $HOME instead home : /home/and_so_on to $HOME/and_so_on
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: snupello on June 30, 2016, 05:38:11 AM
I can start the games by AM but if I go I press the screen goes blank and does not return in the frontend and background still hear the sound of the game ... how can I do to avoid it?
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: robthedude on June 30, 2016, 12:00:13 PM
@robthedude
try this:
-rename unzipped folders to correct gamename : lair2.zip to lair2
-use $HOME instead home : /home/and_so_on to $HOME/and_so_on

Hi

Sorry for my novice questioning, i have only just started using attract mode.

So do you mean the Zip files in /home/pi/retropie/roms/daphne/roms Do i just remove the .zip from these files

then go into emulators and select the "roms Path" and edit that /home/pi/retropie/roms/daphne/roms to /$home/pi/retropie/roms/daphneroms

I do appreciate any help as this is stressing me out hahaha.
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: robthedude on June 30, 2016, 12:04:02 PM
I think ive just worked it out. I have an extra /roms in my path.
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: robthedude on June 30, 2016, 01:14:45 PM
I have removed all of the roms now but i am still getting teh question marks inside the empty boxes.. I ahev removed all of the games from the XML files but this has not worked.. Is there another way i can sort this out.

Thanks
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: clockman on August 31, 2016, 05:30:37 AM
I'm having problems with this, could someone make a setup video to get this working? I think a video would alot of people. Dragons lair is one of my all time favorite games.
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: akafox on September 02, 2016, 12:04:14 PM
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.0.0
#
executable           daphne.exe
args                 dle21 vldp -framefile path/dle21.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 11111000 -bank 1 00110111 -noserversend -volume_vldp 64 -sound_buffer 960 -fullscreen -x 800 -y 600
rompath             
romext               .zip
system             
info_source         
artwork    flyer           
artwork    marquee         
artwork    snap           
artwork    wheel 

Make sure you set up Daphne and make it work through the Daphne Loader GUI first!

Here's how to to it easily:
1. Create a new "emulator" in attract mode [We'll call this one dlair]
2. Set up everything except your args line..leave it blank
3. Goto the attract folder (the one you have attract mode executable in) using your file manager (based on your operating system) goto the attract/emulators folder. (once in the attract mode folder you will see an emulators folder open that one.)
4. at the top of this post copy the dragons' lair line:
Code: [Select]
dle21 vldp -framefile path/dle21.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir /home/path -bank 0 11111000 -bank 1 00110111 -noserversend -volume_vldp 64 -sound_buffer 960 -fullscreen -x 800 -y 6005. Open your dlair.cfg file in your text editior
6. in your args line paste the line you copied above there (example above)
7. save it
Now understand the above line will not work! You MUST change your paths for your framefiles and you home directories to make your setup!

Thus example:
    -homedir (Linux: /home/user/.daphne) (windows: C:\daphne\)
 and -framefile (Linux: /home/user/.daphne/framefiles/dle21.txt) (windows: C:\daphne\framefiles\)
and dle21 change to dlair

8. now re-save the cfg to update the changes
9. load attractmode navigate to the "dlair emulator" and start it.

if that doesn't work:
1. Create a new "emulator" in attract mode [We'll call this one dlair]
2. Set up everything except your args line..leave it blank
3. Goto the attract folder (the one you have attract mode executable in) using your file manager goto the attract/emulators folder. (once in the attract mode folder you will see an emulators folder open that one.)
4. Make sure you set up Daphne and make it work through the Daphne Loader GUI first!
5. Once it works then in the daphne settings click on "advanced".
6.Then on that "page" where it says show command line...make it say yes. click ok.
7. Now start the game. in the pop up box the command line will be displayed..copy that...click cancel.
8. Then in your emulator configuration in attract mode you paste that line in the args location.
9. Save the dlair.cfg
10. Start attractmode and change to the dlair "emulator" and then start it

A video would be easier yes..however it would not help you set up anything as all paths and setups are different so thus it would be ineffective...grumbles..I guess I can make two of them..one for each operating system..though as I have low end stuff...it would be a bad quality video.
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: T2 Arcade Repairs on December 03, 2016, 11:41:41 AM
VIDEO INSTRUCTION:
After finally getting this to work I felt compelled to make a YouTube video to help anyone else needing a visual walk-through (Surprised there aren't any other videos on this subject!):

https://youtu.be/hncGYjGRJiA

Thanks for all the help akafox! You RULE! Couldnt have done it without your post! Feel free to correct any wrong info that I included in the video..I think it should be good tho. Works for me.
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: akafox on December 07, 2016, 10:13:28 PM
Hey BIG thanks for that!  ;D Actually I did another write up , made some generic configuration files, and even a custom list for Daphne games. I just need to do a little more work on it and get it posted here. Maybe you can do an updated one once I get it posted? (You don't have too as nothing changes) There are some points I'll send to you but over all great job!  8)
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: T2 Arcade Repairs on December 11, 2016, 08:51:02 PM
Sure, thanks man! Would love to update the vid later if I get a chance. Thanks again for all your help!  :D
Title: Re: Daphne emulator setup
Post by: akafox on January 03, 2017, 05:33:17 PM
These files are pre-configured for ease of use. Make sure to read the readme.txt and hopefully it's explained well enough that it is easy to use.