Author Topic: ODROID XU4 - gui environment installed but Failed to open X11 display error  (Read 5808 times)

rwebb616

• View Profile
So how does one set up attract to run at startup without starting an entire desktop environment.  I have it installed but basically I want attract mode to come up at boot and not have to launch it from the desktop.

Right now I have changed my default systemctl target to multi-user so it boots to a shell login with no display manager. 

I manually compiled attract mode using the USE_GLES=1 flag and have not done the make install yet. I was just trying to get the executable to run and it's giving me this error:
Failed to open X11 display: make sure the DISPLAY environment variable is set correctly.
Aborted

It would be really good if there were some documentation on this.  It seems like a basic thing that most people would like to know how to accomplish.

Thanks
Rich

kent79

• View Profile
First of all, I have no experience to do that. But I have idea, you may try.

Following as below guide to install Retropie in ODROID XU4 and then install Attract Mode. It should be OK.

https://retropie.org.uk/docs/Odroid-XU3-XU4/

rwebb616

• View Profile
Yes, I thought of doing that too - was just getting started on it.  In the RetroPie setup script though under experimental Attract mode is listed as not available.  I'm not sure if I install manually if it will put everything in the place it should be for Retropie.

Rich

rwebb616

• View Profile
Ok - installed RetroPie now and Attract mode will not run even in X now.  It gives me an error in the terminal window saying something about can't display texture or something.  At first I got a shared library error so I recompiled attract mode.  It compiled successfully but it just won't run under X11

Any help? Please? :)

Rich

kent79

• View Profile
http://forum.attractmode.org/index.php?topic=2275.msg15386#msg15386
Please try to follow #8 Retropie Setup & Install Attract Mode

Calvin

• View Profile