Author Topic: Won't display hacks in rom list  (Read 3119 times)

notbillcosby

• View Profile
Won't display hacks in rom list
« on: March 24, 2021, 11:54:32 AM »
Hacks? Is that the right word?

Specifically, I'm trying to play Ms. Pac-Man and Galaga with the speedup hack. These do not show in the game list in Attract Mode at all. If I open Mame 64 (and squint really really hard at my CRT to read the text) I can find fast Ms. Pac in the list, double click it, and it plays just fine. There's clearly a setting or filter or command line modifier I'm missing somewhere in Attract Mode, but I'm not a pro at this stuff and hope someone can help me. I miss my speed-up-hacked games.

jedione

• punktoe
    • View Profile
Re: Won't display hacks in rom list
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2021, 02:40:06 PM »
chances are you have a merged rom set,  go to your romlist after you generate it,  and just change the name to the name of the hack vs,  and should work ok.

i had this same problem....a bit ago...
help a friend....

jedione

• punktoe
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2021, 02:43:06 PM »
help a friend....

notbillcosby

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2021, 03:09:50 PM »
I guess I'll need more specific help than that.

Do you mean open the romlist txt file in the AM romlist folder and add a line? How do I find the exact name, just visually copy it from the Mame GUI? If that works, awesome... but is there a more automatic way to do it? I'd like to have all available hacked versions available in my game list in AM.

I downloaded this romset over a year ago and don't remember if it was merged. How do I tell? When I open Mame, the hacks all show in gray text below the white texted parent rom. Is that a giveaway at all?

notbillcosby

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2021, 05:19:10 PM »
I found this thread:

http://forum.attractmode.org/index.php?topic=161.0

I generated mamelist.xml as described, but when I type in the following: