Author Topic: Don't show rom with a certain Tag  (Read 1823 times)

PsxMicha

• View Profile
Don't show rom with a certain Tag
« on: January 24, 2022, 11:43:44 PM »
Hey Guys!

I am totally new to attract mode. I used GameEx for Years and I am still getting used to it, especially Romlists, Categories, Filters etc still confuse me a lot.

I wanna mark a lot of rom with a certain tag, for example "useless" and I don't want attractmode to show roms with that tag. how do I do that?

Mark Norville

• View Profile
Re: Don't show rom with a certain Tag
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2022, 12:07:11 AM »
Welcome to the forum and AM,

I have only been here for three to four weeks now, and like you I was a total newbie having jumped ship from CoinOps to here, so far I am glad that I made the jump as I can get things done much faster than I could on CO, by using filters, xml files, catver and nplayers.ini.

Once you get the feel for setting up one system, then pretty much all the rest are the same on setting up, the wiki is a good place to go to, as it gives you filter information, even how to write your own skin. AM has a reasonably steepish learning curve, but as you have used GE, that reasonably looks similar in what it can do, if you do get stuck, I can always do video tutorials to help you out, as it only take a few minutes just to record setting something up, no need for fancy video editing.

It would help if you said what roms you are talking about, if it is MAME roms you can already filter these out

You need a filter and have something like this in

rule                 Status equals good|imperfect

You also need to make sure that you have MAME.XML or some use list.xml and catver.ini