Author Topic: Unable to make selection in attract-mode with keyboard  (Read 1800 times)

sev_attract

• View Profile
Unable to make selection in attract-mode with keyboard
« on: July 19, 2020, 01:29:01 PM »
Hi all,

I'm new to this retro stuff. I have a raspberry pie three with a wolfonoz 32 gig sd image.  Everything boots up just fine.  I have a keyboard connected to the pie but I cannot make any selections in the menus. 

The only buttons that seem to work on the keyboard are Tab and Esc.  I press Esc to exit Attract-Mode to get into EmulationStation to map my arcade joysticks and buttons but any button I press, it won't select "Yes".

Any help is appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Ryan1

• View Profile
Re: Unable to make selection in attract-mode with keyboard
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2020, 08:08:32 AM »
The exit button in the attract mode controller settings isn't for exiting an emulator. You need to set up hotkeys in retroarch to get start/select to exit libretro based emulators.

As for removing the option to exit out of attract mode there is a setting somewhere in the menus that you can turn it off. I'm not in front of my machine now so I don't know exactly where but have a look. It's there.

akafox

• View Profile
Re: Unable to make selection in attract-mode with keyboard
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2020, 05:44:43 PM »
As this is a pre-built image you may not get much help here. Images like that can have things changed and funny things added (or deleted).
It is too much of a pain in the tail to trouble shoot them.

Just so you know a standard retropie image can be installed and attract mode installed on that.

As far as i understand you do have to go to emulation station to set up your game pads on first set up. Sounds like the y "ripped" out all the keyboard controls from the attract mode settings. Also sounds like all the "default" buttons have been changed.