Author Topic: Linux Distro - MAME only - Low-end Machine  (Read 13294 times)

battlecat

• View Profile
Linux Distro - MAME only - Low-end Machine
« on: August 28, 2015, 09:54:59 AM »
Hello:

I have an older p4. Yes I know it 's old. :) I just don't think its garbage yet.

I want to wipe this machine of its WinXP and install a Linux distro for use with Attractmode with MAME only.

What is the best distro that will most likely work with an older machine and attractmode? Currently I am looking at LUBUNTU as the main distro.

Any thoughts on this?

battlecat

• View Profile
Re: Linux Distro - MAME only - Low-end Machine
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2015, 10:02:33 AM »
I just installed LUBUNTU in a Oracle VB just to test it out.

I downloaded the package for 32 bit and received this error when attempting to install the .deb via GDEBI:
Error: Dependency is not satisfiable: libavresample1 (>=6:9.16-0ubuntu0.14.04.1)

Is there an easy fix for this? I am not a dedicated programmer. I was hoping to find something to install to a low end machine to get my arcade cabinet back up and running before Halloween.

Thanks again!
-BC

battlecat

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2015, 10:51:34 AM »
Update

I ran the sudo apt-get update for the LUBUNTU distro and rebooted. Sadly though I am still receiving the error in the GDEBI package manager.

Thanks
--BC

battlecat

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2015, 12:07:22 PM »
Okay Update. I created a VirtualBox for the latest version of Ubuntu for the desktop. I installed Attract Mode without any issues there.

So Ubuntu's minimalist version LUBUNTU does not support all of the requirements for AttractMode but plain old Ubuntu does.

Good to know. Now to test on Linux Mint as well.

Thanks
--BC

akafox

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2015, 05:58:19 AM »
Sorry i did not see your post.

Actually Lubuntu works just fine. That is what I use for mine. Also MINT will work also. I use that as well. It works fine.