Author Topic: Mame4All working fine in ES but not in AM in RaspberryPi 3  (Read 4709 times)

winter22

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Mame4All working fine in ES but not in AM in RaspberryPi 3
« on: March 01, 2017, 04:58:38 PM »
Hi everyone.  a newbie here just wanted to say thanks for everyone's contribution that help and support Attract Mode.  Who ever knew that a frontend could add so much to the experience.  After using AM, I can't ever go back. lol.  Sadly that is why im here...  I finally got everything running EXCEPT MAME.  Im using RaspberryPi 3 with MAME4ALL and it looks like its going to start then goes blank with the glGetError 0x500.  I looked everywhere for a WEEK now, and found only config info for everything else like mame on windows, linux, or just advMame and mame2003.  the funny thing is im just lacking 2 lines of code;   1) the executable path:  and 2) the argument path: .  I actually surprised with all of the issues people are having getting mame to work, there isn't a section that shows each, (for each OS).  this problem seems so simple that i tried to find the mame config file from ES and copy it to AM,  but clearly that didnt work.  I hope there is someone out there that could point me in the right direction:(    and although i found other glGetError 0x500 issues, i hope that is the only reason its not working.  thanks again

many many many many....thanx:)

winter22

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Mame4All working fine in ES but not in AM in RaspberryPi 3
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2017, 08:55:44 PM »
MY SETTINGS

SYSTEM:                            RaspberryPi 3
ATTRACT MODE BUILD:     FLOOB V0.5 28-08-2016

EMULATION NAME:            Mame (mame4all)
EXECUTABLE:                    /opt/retropie/supplementary/runcommand/runcommand.sh
COMMAND ARGUMENT:     0_SYS_mame4all "[romfilename]"

again, mame4all works fine in ES, but I just get the "glGetError 0x500"
it's surprising that there is no section that show all mame configurations settings for each OS since this sounds like a frequent issue everyone is having.  It would be so great once I can get AM running correctly.  thanks again!!
many many many many....thanx:)

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1271
    • View Profile
Re: Mame4All working fine in ES but not in AM in RaspberryPi 3
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2017, 09:36:13 PM »
MY SETTINGS

SYSTEM:                            RaspberryPi 3
ATTRACT MODE BUILD:     FLOOB V0.5 28-08-2016

EMULATION NAME:            Mame (mame4all)
EXECUTABLE:                    /opt/retropie/supplementary/runcommand/runcommand.sh
COMMAND ARGUMENT:     0_SYS_mame4all "[romfilename]"

again, mame4all works fine in ES, but I just get the "glGetError 0x500"
it's surprising that there is no section that show all mame configurations settings for each OS since this sounds like a frequent issue everyone is having.  It would be so great once I can get AM running correctly.  thanks again!!

You're missing spaces in your command argument.

Code: [Select]
COMMAND ARGUMENT:     0_SYS_mame4all "[romfilename]"
should be
Code: [Select]
COMMAND ARGUMENT:     0 _SYS_ mame4all "[romfilename]"

The "glGetError 0x500" error is normal. It has nothing to do with your problem.

winter22

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Mame4All working fine in ES but not in AM in RaspberryPi 3
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2017, 02:22:05 AM »
wow many thanks for the quick reply!!  its so great to finally find out what I've been doing wrong. lol.
so at this point, it says "No config found for system mame4all"
not sure how that could be???  Anyways, sorry for needing so much help but where could get this file? you would think ..its there since it ES works fine.  maybe im not pointing AM to the correct location?  Should i find and copy the config file for ES and put in AM?
many many many many....thanx:)

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1271
    • View Profile
Re: Mame4All working fine in ES but not in AM in RaspberryPi 3
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2017, 02:39:20 AM »
The config file should be shared for both AM and ES. I don't think this is your issue and you shouldn't need to copy it. Post your entire mame.cfg emulator file so I can see your other fields like the rompath.

winter22

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Mame4All working fine in ES but not in AM in RaspberryPi 3
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2017, 06:38:17 AM »
the rom path I set in AM is as follows:
/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/mame-mame4all

but the mame.cfg file located at: /opt/retropie/configs/mame-mame4all  is as follows:

[config]
artwork=yes
samples=yes
antialias=yes
translucency=yes
skiplines=0
skipcolumns=0
beam=1.0
flicker=0.0
gamma=1.0
frameskip=auto
ror=no
rol=no
flipx=no
flipy=no
samplerate=44100
volume=0
cheat=no
vector_width=640
vector_height=480
kioskmode=no
force_stereo=no
# Anti-alias the display?
display_smooth_stretch=yes
display_border=0
# display effect postprocessing: 0 none, 1 scanlines
display_effect=0

[directory]
inp=/opt/retropie/configs/mame-mame4all/inp
nvram=/opt/retropie/configs/mame-mame4all/nvram
hi=/opt/retropie/configs/mame-mame4all/hi
cfg=/opt/retropie/configs/mame-mame4all/cfg
snap=/opt/retropie/configs/mame-mame4all/snap
memcard=/opt/retropie/configs/mame-mame4all/memcard
sta=/opt/retropie/configs/mame-mame4all/sta
artwork=/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/mame-mame4all/artwork
cheat=.
rompath=/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/mame-mame4all;/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/arcade
samplepath=/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/mame-mame4all/samples;/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/arcade/samples

[frontend]
#Keyboard controls for frontend only
# Get codes from /usr/include/SDL/SDL_keysym.h
K_START=13
K_SELECT=53
K_LEFT=276
K_RIGHT=275
K_UP=273
K_DOWN=274
K_A=306
K_QUIT=27
#Joystick controls for frontend only
#Defaults to XBOX360 controller
J_START=7
J_SELECT=6
J_A=0
AXIS_LR=0
AXIS_UD=1


hope that helps.  thanx:)
many many many many....thanx:)

winter22

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Mame4All working fine in ES but not in AM in RaspberryPi 3
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2017, 07:14:40 AM »
..also, should I generate roms list thru AM menu each time I make a change before I see its effect?  just wondering  :-\
many many many many....thanx:)

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1271
    • View Profile
Re: Mame4All working fine in ES but not in AM in RaspberryPi 3
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2017, 12:00:11 PM »
There's still an issue with your command argument. Your argument is pointing to the wrong folder (mame4all instead of mame-mame4all).

Change it to this
Code: [Select]
COMMAND ARGUMENT:     0 _SYS_ mame-mame4all "[romfilename]"


winter22

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Mame4All working fine in ES but not in AM in RaspberryPi 3
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2017, 01:36:39 PM »
OMG its finally working!!!  I can't believe how tedious it was to figure out. It didnt work right away though.  it did load into the emulator screen, but said "NOT FOUND, Required files are missing and cannot run".  I knew I was close though so i decided to try and figure it out before I bothered you again.  I poked around and changed the default emulator from "mame-mame4all"  to lr-imame4all.  I have to go back you ES in ordeer to change it though, since the option to do so was limited in AM.  I never would have got it working without your help.  thank goodness for that:)  I definitely will write down the exact recipe to to get it up and running in AM.  I guess if it was a plug and play add-on, then it wouldn't be free. lol.  sorry for taking up your time.  im sure for you, it's just 1 thing afteer another. but a million thanks to ya:).   I'll be sure to check in periodically to see if I can learn more about how AM work so maybe I can be of any assistance to someone else.  that might help reduce your workload.  Talk soon thanx again:)) ;D   
many many many many....thanx:)