Author Topic: AttractMode + Retroarch  (Read 7296 times)

PrettyPrincess

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
AttractMode + Retroarch
« on: August 19, 2018, 01:16:28 PM »
Hey everyone,

Unfortunately, I can't launch any of my Mame games via AttractMode. Clicking on the game does nothing. No error messages. It doesn't launch.
 
- I'm using the latest version of AttractMode v2.4.1.
- The games run perfectly on the latest version of RetroArch v1.7.3 with the latest Mame core v.200.
- The games do show up in the recent playlist within RetroArch.
- I've re-checked the file directories and they are correct.
- I've also turned off my virus scanner, in case it tried to block anything.

Am I missing an additional argument or pathway?

# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.4.1
#
executable           C:\retroarch\retroarch.exe
args                 "[romfilename]" -L cores\mame_libretro.dll
rompath              C:\retroarch\rom
romext               .zip
system               Arcade
info_source          listxml
artwork    flyer           
artwork    marquee         
artwork    snap            C:\retroarch\video
artwork    wheel           C:\retroarch\wheel
« Last Edit: August 19, 2018, 03:09:00 PM by PrettyPrincess »

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1271
    • View Profile
Re: AttraceMode + Retroarch
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2018, 01:45:45 PM »
You can try this

Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.4.1
#
executable           C:\retroarch\retroarch.exe
args                 -L cores\mame_libretro.dll "[romfilename]"
rompath              C:\retroarch\rom
romext               .zip
system               Arcade
info_source          listxml
artwork    flyer           
artwork    marquee         
artwork    snap            C:\retroarch\video
artwork    wheel           C:\retroarch\wheel

If that doesn't work you should go to the command line and a run game to determine the correct syntax for the command you need.

PrettyPrincess

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: AttractMode + Retroarch
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2018, 03:42:15 PM »
I can run the game via the Command Prompt.

CD C:
CD Retroarch
retroarch.exe -L cores/mame_libretro.dll C:\retroarch\rom\<name of rom>.zip

So I've changed my argument too...
-L cores\mame_libretro.dll "C:\retroarch\rom\[romfilename]"

It doesn't work unless I'm still missing something?

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1271
    • View Profile
Re: AttractMode + Retroarch
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2018, 04:04:23 PM »
I can run the game via the Command Prompt.

CD C:
CD Retroarch
retroarch.exe -L cores/mame_libretro.dll C:\retroarch\rom\<name of rom>.zip

So I've changed my argument too...
-L cores\mame_libretro.dll "C:\retroarch\rom\[romfilename]"

It doesn't work unless I'm still missing something?

Did you try this like I suggested above?
Code: [Select]
args                 -L cores\mame_libretro.dll "[romfilename]"

PrettyPrincess

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: AttractMode + Retroarch
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2018, 04:27:56 PM »
Hey progets. Yes, I tried your suggestion. I also copied/pasted directly from your line in case I missed a letter. It still doesn't work.

When I peak inside the content_history file for Retroarch, I see the following:

This information appears when I use AttractMode with the argument -L cores\mame_libretro.dll "[romfilename]". The / is pointing the wrong direction.

C:\retroarch\rom/[romfilename].zip

C:\retroarch\cores\mame_libretro.dll
MAME

This information appears when I use the Command Prompt. It works just fine.

C:\retroarch\rom\[romfilename].zip

C:\retroarch\cores\mame_libretro.dll
MAME

ryuuji

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Re: AttractMode + Retroarch
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2018, 04:52:47 PM »
Add \ at the end of the rom path

Should be c:\retroarch\roms\

PrettyPrincess

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: AttractMode + Retroarch
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2018, 05:06:32 PM »
Thanks ryuuji. It fixed my problem.

I will bake a delicious apple pie just for you. :)

ryuuji

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Re: AttractMode + Retroarch
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2018, 06:21:41 AM »

carlhr93

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: AttractMode + Retroarch
« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2018, 01:27:38 PM »
HOLY FU** I tried every combination I could think off, I think I even tried a very close combination with the "\" thingy but finally it works! I mean, it worked before, it just stopped working after I updated my romset which is weird but whatever, now it works!!! thank you sir, you can have whatever pie you want from me ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡° )