Author Topic: Screen resolution  (Read 4019 times)

walknight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Screen resolution
« on: August 02, 2020, 10:19:49 AM »
Using the nevato layout I see the printout of "res_x" and "res_y" are 2133 x 1200. While my monitor has a max resolution of 1920x1080. Is that normal?
And I prefer to use 1280x720 for better performance. Is there a way to specify the resolution to run AM in?
Thanks!

keilmillerjr

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1167
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resolution
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2020, 10:56:39 AM »
Attract should take your desktop resolution. It will scale a layout appropriately, regardless of fe dimensions.

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1271
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resolution
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2020, 12:30:17 PM »
Like keilmillerjr said, AM should use the OS resolution.

You can control resolution settings in the layout like this.
Code: [Select]
//
// Initialize the layout's frontend-related graphic elements
//
fe.layout.width=1280;
fe.layout.height=720;
fe.layout.preserve_aspect_ratio=true;

walknight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resolution
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2020, 10:45:06 PM »
Thanks to both of you. I have a better understanding now.

walknight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resolution
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2020, 12:18:34 AM »
I was trying to use "Windowed" mode on my PC, so I can test the same 1280x720 resolution that I intend to use on the cab.
The window does come up as 1280x720 as specified in window.am. But all graphics are still at the same size of the full screen mode so they are cut off in the window (see attached pic).
I then tried to print out fe.layout.width and fe.layout.height in the beginning of the script, and they indeed show the desktop size and not the window size.
Is this normal? If so what's the intended use of the Windowed mode?
« Last Edit: August 07, 2020, 12:21:22 AM by walknight »

keilmillerjr

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1167
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resolution
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2020, 05:23:49 AM »
Try window (no border) mode. On mac os x, windowed mode would not take into account the title bar. Perhaps the same thing is happening for you? Looks like you are running linux. I use linux too, but busy testing something at the moment.

verion

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 861
    • View Profile
    • new projects
Re: Screen resolution
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2020, 02:03:56 PM »
try full screen mode (default)
NEVATO should auto detect screen resolution - if not edit the layout.nut - there is a part where you can force the resolution.

walknight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resolution
« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2020, 04:08:26 PM »
try full screen mode (default)
NEVATO should auto detect screen resolution - if not edit the layout.nut - there is a part where you can force the resolution.

I know full screen works. But I want to use Windowed mode so I can test a particular resolution easily on the PC before putting it on the cab.
I tried to force the resolution by doing this in the beginning. But still gets the same graphics cut-off issue.
Code: [Select]
fe.layout.width = 1280;
fe.layout.height = 720;

verion

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 861
    • View Profile
    • new projects
Re: Screen resolution
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2020, 09:25:50 AM »
aha... ok
I was under impression that it won't work in full screen mode

I know it won't work in windowed mode but I don't know why... and I didn't try to fix it, sorry.