Author Topic: Hide Emulator Loading  (Read 6474 times)

clockman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
Hide Emulator Loading
« on: December 13, 2015, 08:52:43 PM »
I can't find any videos loading emulators, but when you launch a game does it show the emulator in the back ground? If so can you hide it? 1 more questions to ask 1) can i use retroarch for emulators and how would i set it up? Sorry i'm a newbie!
« Last Edit: December 13, 2015, 09:31:07 PM by clockman »

hermine.potter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 767
    • View Profile
Re: Hide Emulator Loading
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2015, 12:08:54 AM »
As a mentalist I'll forecast: you are on windows system, right?!  ;D

1) Video Loading:
Download any videoplayer you want and config it with related parameters.
e.g. VLC:
Code: [Select]
executable           C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe
args                 "[romfilename]" --fullscreen
rompath              C:\attract\media\movies
romext               .avi;.mpg;.mpeg;.mov;.mkv;.mp4

or do you mean video snaps of games? For mame you can download complete snap packs/collections. For another systems you have searching in www or generating them by screencapturing software (fraps, camtasia studio and so on).

If you scroll on a game, the video plays. If you start the game, video playing stops of course (so you do not hear video in background).

2) Retroarch:
Use correct parameters of retroarch. Most of emulator system works this way by correct command-line:

e.g. zsnes

path_to_your_emulator_system\emulator_system.exe -parameters_that_starts_a_rom path_to_your_roms\romfile.rom_extension

this command-line starts a specific snes-game directly:
C:\attract\EMU\zsnes\zsnesw.exe -m C:\attract\EMU\zsnes\roms\my_snes_game.smc

In AM use this config:
executable           C:\attract\EMU\zsnes\zsnesw.exe
args                 -m "[romfilename]"
rompath              C:\attract\EMU\zsnes\roms
romext               .smc
« Last Edit: December 14, 2015, 12:22:24 AM by hermine.potter »
AM Version : 2.6.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : Windows10 Pro
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 12GB RAM

Mr.Tendo

  • Guest
Re: Hide Emulator Loading
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2017, 05:19:27 AM »
The configuration for uploading videos where there is to insert it?  ???
It is to create a new emulator with such a configuration?  :-\

hermine.potter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 767
    • View Profile
Re: Hide Emulator Loading
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2017, 05:41:39 AM »
@Mr.Tendo
What video emulator configuration do you mean?

intro-video of starting AM?
video-snap of romfile?
playing video files in AM? => see / search VLC-Movies
« Last Edit: January 18, 2017, 05:43:29 AM by hermine.potter »
AM Version : 2.6.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : Windows10 Pro
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 12GB RAM

Mr.Tendo

  • Guest
Re: Hide Emulator Loading
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2017, 05:51:03 AM »
I can not see where there is to insert the configuration that you have specified in the previous post  ???
I meant if (to put it) there is to create a new configuration? this procedure is not to hide loading the game? :-\
« Last Edit: January 18, 2017, 05:57:39 AM by Mr.Tendo »

hermine.potter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 767
    • View Profile
Re: Hide Emulator Loading
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2017, 10:51:32 AM »
@Mr. Tendo
-compare an existing emulator configuration:
start AM > press TAB button > Emulators > choose one system (like zsnes)
there can you edit the existing configuation (path to executeable, arguments, path to romsfolder, rom-extensions, and so on)

-create your on emulator system:
start AM > press TAB button > Emulators > Add Emulator
there you can add your system configuration (path to executeable, arguments, path to romsfolder, rom-extensions, and so on)

or

modify existing config:
edit on filesystem. My AM-config is C:\attract\attract.exe
so you can find existing configuration-files there : C:\attract\emulators\zsnes.cfg
then start AM > press TAB > Emulators > choose your new emulator System > Generate Romlist

add a new config:
copy an existing config-file & edit the configuration with notepad (path to executeable, arguments, path to romsfolder, rom-extensions, and so on)
then start AM > press TAB > Emulators > choose your new emulator System > Generate Romlist
« Last Edit: January 18, 2017, 10:54:00 AM by hermine.potter »
AM Version : 2.6.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : Windows10 Pro
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 12GB RAM

Mr.Tendo

  • Guest
Re: Hide Emulator Loading
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2017, 12:36:01 PM »
The emulator I use is just the MAME (ie the deceased MAMEUIFX)  8)
I did not understand, I should create a new configuration and change it later by inserting the values above (those for the Video loading) and generate the ROM list?  ???

hermine.potter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 767
    • View Profile
Re: Hide Emulator Loading
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2017, 12:15:25 AM »
@Mr. Tendo
I'm not sure what you want to do with the videos (you told something to uploading videos; create a new emulator system; now something about mame).
clockman want in his first post : 1) a video loading emulator 2) setup and parameters of retroarch

1) a video loading emulator is simply one of the million video- and mediaplayer applications to me. with VLC you play video-files => create a 'emulator-system' with VLC mediaplayer
2) setup and parameters of retroarch => google search

that was my solution.



For inserting or edit an existing emulator system, thats correct.
You edit an existing configuration to your environment or create a new configuration depending to your environment

My environment is 'C:\attract\attract.exe' and folder to emulator systems 'C:\attract\EMU\'

e.g. zsnes

path_to_your_emulator_system\emulator_system.exe -parameters_that_starts_a_rom path_to_your_roms\romfile.rom_extension

this command-line starts a specific snes-game directly:
C:\attract\EMU\zsnes\zsnesw.exe -m C:\attract\EMU\zsnes\roms\my_snes_game.smc

You need the path to the executable, the executable, the arguments to load a rom-file (using google), the path to romfiles, the rom-file extension

so in AM you have to use this config:
executable           C:\attract\EMU\zsnes\zsnesw.exe
args                 -m "[romfilename]"
rompath              C:\attract\EMU\zsnes\roms
romext               .smc

after installing and starting AM > press TAB button > Emulators > zsnes > you see this configuration:


goto filesystem : C:\attract\emulators\zsnes.cfg
Code: [Select]
executable           /usr/bin/zsnes
args                 -m "[romfilename]"
rompath              $HOME/snes/roms/
romext               .zip
system               Super Nintendo (SNES)
info_source          thegamesdb.net
artwork    flyer           $HOME/snes/boxart
artwork    marquee         
artwork    snap            $HOME/snes/videos;$HOME/snes/snap
artwork    wheel     
do you see the differences and the matches?

so you can edit the config to your environment in AM or on filesystem directly (of course when AM closed):

Code: [Select]
executable           C:\attract\EMU\zsnes\zsnesw.exe
args                 -m "[romfilename]"
rompath              C:\attract\EMU\zsnes\roms
romext               .smc
system               Super Nintendo (SNES)
info_source          thegamesdb.net
artwork    flyer           C:\attract\scraper\zsnes\flyer
artwork    marquee         C:\attract\scraper\zsnes\marquee
artwork    snap            C:\attract\scraper\zsnes\videos;C:\attract\scraper\zsnes\flyer
artwork    wheel           C:\attract\scraper\zsnes\flyer



If you want to play video-files (a folder with movies), you have to edit the "emulator-system" Kodi in AM. or insert a new system with e.g. VLC (see above)
« Last Edit: January 19, 2017, 05:16:52 AM by hermine.potter »
AM Version : 2.6.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : Windows10 Pro
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 12GB RAM

Mr.Tendo

  • Guest
Re: Hide Emulator Loading
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2017, 09:24:28 AM »
I see. It was as I thought let's try to put it in place  :-\