Author Topic: wiimotes  (Read 4840 times)

toothlessgrinn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
wiimotes
« on: December 21, 2018, 10:58:28 AM »
has any one had any experience with them as light guns? i got 1 to work but if i have 2 it erases my control configs for that game

any info would be appreciated.

im using touchmote , tried glovepi and another one name escapes me atm.
no matter what i do i cant get my pc to recognize 2 motes at once.
i can play games with 2 motes but i have to redo the configurations every time i use them but if i use only 1 its fine and seen by mame as joy9 but if i use 2 its 10 and 11 and i have to redo the  controller config
can they be permanently paired  ??
we came , we saw , we lost LOTS of quarters...

Win 7
Asus mobo amd 64bit 3core
12g ram
4 player. Custom built woody cab
46" plasma screen with 22" marquee

popoklo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: wiimotes
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2018, 04:02:50 AM »
Nice. I also want to make the same Setup like you.
My recherche:
https://www.ultimarc.com/aimtrak.html
scroll down a little bit on that page or read pdf:
Look at point 1.2:
https://www.ultimarc.com/AimTrak%20Setup%20Guide.pdf

There is a MAME config file for controls. This example is for AimTrak from Ultimark and i hope that the WiiMotes can also be setup like this.
A video tutorial:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmjfwLuZ_X0

I Hope this helps and plz give me Feedback. I want to buy all tools on 1. Jan. 2019 :D
Did u buy a lightgun case? Im interested in
https://www.amazon.de/dp/B001ZFNK24/ref=sxbs_sxwds-stvp_1?pf_rd_p=a8eca466-e86a-4725-abd2-b825a6559409&pd_rd_wg=mjcrm&pf_rd_r=Q0Q0Q6MNG1ND0PYDD6R3&pd_rd_i=B001ZFNK24&pd_rd_w=O6RsU&pd_rd_r=b51daa3b-9569-4e15-8ca3-191ba1a30c6c&ie=UTF8&qid=1545566316&sr=1

Happy Christmas!

toothlessgrinn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
Re: wiimotes
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2018, 08:16:49 AM »
As wow nice find!! Thanks man! Definatly after the weekend ill be toying with this!!!  I will gladly tell you my findings!
we came , we saw , we lost LOTS of quarters...

Win 7
Asus mobo amd 64bit 3core
12g ram
4 player. Custom built woody cab
46" plasma screen with 22" marquee

KTURNER

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
Re: wiimotes
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2018, 09:36:22 AM »
Have you looked into a dolphin bar. I don't know anything about them but there sure are a lot of people using them for light guns.

toothlessgrinn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
Re: wiimotes
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2018, 03:30:15 PM »
no not yet. but i think i might.
we came , we saw , we lost LOTS of quarters...

Win 7
Asus mobo amd 64bit 3core
12g ram
4 player. Custom built woody cab
46" plasma screen with 22" marquee

toothlessgrinn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
Re: wiimotes
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2018, 11:18:17 PM »
Nice. I also want to make the same Setup like you.
My recherche:
https://www.ultimarc.com/aimtrak.html
scroll down a little bit on that page or read pdf:
Look at point 1.2:
https://www.ultimarc.com/AimTrak%20Setup%20Guide.pdf

There is a MAME config file for controls. This example is for AimTrak from Ultimark and i hope that the WiiMotes can also be setup like this.
A video tutorial:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmjfwLuZ_X0



ok so this does not seem to work with wii motes. somthing about windows only sees 1 at a time cuz they all carry the same numbers.. supposedly glovepie is good but i cant seem to get that working  either ...

this is getting in to an area im no good at.... im more on the a+ side rather then the c++ side... lol

hoping some one will figure this out ...
sorry i cant help more.

we came , we saw , we lost LOTS of quarters...

Win 7
Asus mobo amd 64bit 3core
12g ram
4 player. Custom built woody cab
46" plasma screen with 22" marquee

toothlessgrinn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
Re: wiimotes
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2018, 11:19:34 PM »
but if i run into something i will gladly post on here!!
we came , we saw , we lost LOTS of quarters...

Win 7
Asus mobo amd 64bit 3core
12g ram
4 player. Custom built woody cab
46" plasma screen with 22" marquee

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1263
    • View Profile
Re: wiimotes
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2019, 12:10:29 AM »

toothlessgrinn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
Re: wiimotes
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2019, 07:28:01 AM »
It's been a long time since I played with the Dolphin Bar setup but this might help https://hyperspin-fe.com/forums/topic/6083-wii-remote-as-light-gun-mayflash-dolphin-bar-is-great/?page=2&tab=comments#comment-196163.

cool. thanks for the link. so i have 1 question ... where is the dual light gun option i only see lightgun not dual light gun. or do i have to manually put this in the ini ?

we came , we saw , we lost LOTS of quarters...

Win 7
Asus mobo amd 64bit 3core
12g ram
4 player. Custom built woody cab
46" plasma screen with 22" marquee

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1263
    • View Profile
Re: wiimotes
« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2019, 11:00:17 AM »
Here's part of my mame.ini. I don't know if the option is in the MAME GUI.
Code: [Select]
#
# INPUT DEVICE OPTIONS
#
global_inputs             0
dual_lightgun             1

toothlessgrinn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
Re: wiimotes
« Reply #10 on: January 01, 2019, 01:07:48 PM »
awsome right on thanks. when the WIFE allows me to get the dolphin bar ill be trying this. lol  thanks alot!

wonder if this will work for touchmote. ill toy with that as well.
we came , we saw , we lost LOTS of quarters...

Win 7
Asus mobo amd 64bit 3core
12g ram
4 player. Custom built woody cab
46" plasma screen with 22" marquee

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1263
    • View Profile
Re: wiimotes
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2019, 11:51:49 PM »
Just my 2 cents... I used Dolphin Bar very little. I wanted it for arcade gun games but it didn't work well being close on a smaller screen. It does work great for Wii games and OK for arcade games if you want to stand back 5+ feet which isn't practical for a cabinet but fine if you're using a large TV.

If you think about it, this device is really made to emulate Wii on a large TV, which it does well for $20.

If you want to shoot guns at a screen smaller than 30" plan to stand back too far from the cabinet to see the details of the games.

toothlessgrinn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
Re: wiimotes
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2019, 09:56:54 AM »
good 2 cents... i am using a 42 inch plasma and i see how a little screen wouldnt work well...
actually im finding it way mor impractical actually....

but hay ya live ya learn!! lmao!!
we came , we saw , we lost LOTS of quarters...

Win 7
Asus mobo amd 64bit 3core
12g ram
4 player. Custom built woody cab
46" plasma screen with 22" marquee

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1263
    • View Profile
Re: wiimotes
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2019, 11:20:57 PM »
Yes, it all make sense. For $20 it was worth a try for my cabinet. AimTrack is probably the best solution for me but I don't love the gun games enough to spend $200+ for two AimTrack guns. On a big TV the wireless gun aspect of the Dolphin Bar vs. wired AimTrack guns is another huge advantage in addition to the cost.