Author Topic: setting up openbor in attract mode.  (Read 4534 times)

Tobas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
setting up openbor in attract mode.
« on: August 06, 2020, 06:28:10 PM »
hey everyone, I have openbor working fine in emulation station, is there a guide on how I could get it working in attract mode?

hermine.potter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 767
    • View Profile
Re: setting up openbor in attract mode.
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2020, 11:10:07 PM »
what is the configuration/command in ES, to start an OpenBOR game?
so you can transfer it to AM.

otherwise...

>on windows:
three ways:

-create links from each OpenBOR.exe (for each game) > start these .lnk from AM

-create batch-files to each OpenBOR.exe (for each game) > start these .bat from AM

-use change directory command + start OpenBOR.exe from there > start these folders from AM
section OpenBOR

if you do not want to use quit option in OpenBOR:
you need external script, that recognize press of external exit-button

>on linux (not tested):
-there exists a selector 'Beats of Rage Engine Selection'
-it seems, that simple commandline works : openbor ROM
AM Version : 2.6.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : Windows10 Pro
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 12GB RAM

Tobas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: setting up openbor in attract mode.
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2020, 09:21:57 AM »
I'm using it on retropie currently. I've seen some cool builds with OpenBOR in the attract mode menu I'd like to do something like that.

sergiohyperspin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: setting up openbor in attract mode.
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2020, 01:38:24 PM »
I will tell what worked for me,in my RPi3:

Through putty run the following script (specific for RPi3):

wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/crcerror/OpenBOR-63xx-RetroPie-openbeta/master/scriptmodules/openbor-6xxx-RPi3/openbor-v6510-RPi3.sh -O- | tr -d '\r' > /home/pi/RetroPie-Setup/scriptmodules/ports/openbor-v6510-RPi3.sh

This will install a script in retropie setup, and show OpenBOR 6510 in experimental packages.

Go to the experimental packages and install OpenBOR 6510.

After that you will need to create a cfg fil. So still in putty, type the following:

sudo nano /home/pi/.attract/emulators/OpenBOR.cfg

press enter

Then copy the following text (to paste in putty just press right click in the mouse):

# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable           /opt/retropie/ports/openbor-v6510-RPi3/./OpenBOR
args                 "[romfilename]"
rompath              /home/pi/RetroPie/roms/openbor/
romext               .pak;.PAK
system               OpenBOR
artwork    boxart          /home/pi/RetroPie/roms/openbor/boxart
artwork    cartart         /home/pi/RetroPie/roms/openbor/cartart
artwork    flyer           /home/pi/RetroPie/roms/openbor/flyer
artwork    marquee         /home/pi/RetroPie/roms/openbor/marquee
artwork    snap            /home/pi/RetroPie/roms/openbor/snap
artwork    wheel           /home/pi/RetroPie/roms/openbor/wheel

Save and exit

You can set different locations, just edit the text above.

Then place the pak files (do not extract then) in the designated folder (in my case /roms/openbor), place the art in the respective folders.

Go to attract mode, press tab, or the button to enter the menu, go to emulators, select OpenBOR, go all the way down and generate romlist.

Then go back to the menu, go to displays and set the theme and filters.

Thats it.




Yaron2019

  • Guest
Re: setting up openbor in attract mode.
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2020, 12:36:37 PM »
I am having issues with running openBOR in a sane way with AM. I succeeded in running it with link files but this requires setting up every game with it's own configuration, meaning setting the video and joystick options PER GAME and there are many of them.

My question: is there a way to set up the video and joystick options ONCE and run all the openBOR games using that setting?

I thought maybe the following openBOR config will do that but it returns an error stating there are no mods in the pak folder while the game pak file I am trying to run is there:

Code: [Select]
executable           cmd
args                 /c cd E:\Arcade\attract\apps\OpenBOR\[name] & start E:\Arcade\attract\apps\OpenBOR\OpenBOR.exe & start E:\Arcade\attract\apps\OpenBOR\wait_for_ESC.exe
rompath              E:\Arcade\attract\apps\OpenBOR
romext               <DIR>
system               Arcade
info_source          thegamesdb.net
nb_mode_wait         3
exit_hotkey          Escape


Any ideas?
« Last Edit: October 09, 2020, 12:11:47 AM by Yaron2019 »

Ryugah

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: setting up openbor in attract mode.
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2020, 06:40:47 PM »
only problem i have with openBOR is the exit key in windows.
doesnt seem to work.

Yaron2019

  • Guest
Re: setting up openbor in attract mode.
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2020, 11:53:19 PM »
only problem i have with openBOR is the exit key in windows.
doesnt seem to work.

So how did you solve the problem I have above?
How did you set up your openBOR?

hermine.potter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 767
    • View Profile
Re: setting up openbor in attract mode.
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2020, 11:11:46 PM »
@ Yaron2019
All your settings (fullscreen, resolution, controls, ..) are stored in one file
your_OpenBOR_Game\Saves\same_Name_like_PAK-File.cfg
and it's not editable / not readable

So try this:

1 ) Configure a game like you wish (so you get a "master"-configuration under your_OpenBOR_Game\Saves\same_Name_like_PAK-File.cfg)
2 ) goto your next OpenBOR Game
3 ) goto your_OpenBOR_Game\Paks
4 ) note the name of .pak or .spk
5 ) goto your_OpenBOR_Game\Saves
6 ) delete existing .cfg file ( Name_of_step3.cfg )
7 ) copy your "master"-configuraton there
8 ) rename to Name_of_step3.cfg

this could probably be automated by script (AHK, autoit, batch, vbs, ...):
read filename from name.pak > delete name.cfg > copy master.cfg > rename to name.cfg
AM Version : 2.6.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : Windows10 Pro
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 12GB RAM

hermine.potter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 767
    • View Profile
Re: setting up openbor in attract mode.
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2020, 11:14:33 PM »
@ Ryugah
See section OpenBOR
use external script / software, that waits for an escape button and do a processclose / taskkill to OpenBOR.exe
AM Version : 2.6.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : Windows10 Pro
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 12GB RAM

Yaron2019

  • Guest
Re: setting up openbor in attract mode.
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2020, 04:37:05 AM »
1 ) Configure a game like you wish (so you get a "master"-configuration under your_OpenBOR_Game\Saves\same_Name_like_PAK-File.cfg)
2 ) goto your next OpenBOR Game
3 ) goto your_OpenBOR_Game\Paks
4 ) note the name of .pak or .spk
5 ) goto your_OpenBOR_Game\Saves
6 ) delete existing .cfg file ( Name_of_step3.cfg )
7 ) copy your "master"-configuraton there
8 ) rename to Name_of_step3.cfg

this could probably be automated by script (AHK, autoit, batch, vbs, ...):
read filename from name.pak > delete name.cfg > copy master.cfg > rename to name.cfg

That's a good idea, will try and report back. Thanks!

Yaron2019

  • Guest
Re: setting up openbor in attract mode.
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2020, 08:42:29 AM »
Well it works on some games and others it doesn't. I didn't find a common ground for those that don't work.
What I decided to do is to configure one at a time when I actually play it.
Thanks for all the info!
« Last Edit: October 10, 2020, 10:27:39 AM by Yaron2019 »