Author Topic: How can I process the number of players and style from nplayer.ini?  (Read 3041 times)

Favdeacon

• View Profile
Hi,

nplayers.ini lists the number of players and style of multiplay (simultaneous or alternating) in the format "2P sim", "3P alt", or even "4P alt / 2P sim". Building a romlist with nplayers.ini in import_extras passes them on in this format.

I want to extract the number(s) of players and the style(s) from Info.Players for further processing or display as [!somefunction].

My first try was to simply splice off the first character of Info.Players (see below), but it's a dirty hack that doesn't cover two-digit numbers (Royal Ascot II has 12) nor styles or dual styles.

Code: [Select]
function playersStripped()
 {
        local pstrip = fe.game_info(Info.Players).slice(0,1);
        return pstrip;
 }

After doing some reading in http://www.squirrel-lang.org/doc/squirrel3.html I think about a combination of splice() and find(). But I'm a absolute beginner at Squirrel and need some (aka much) help with this. Ideally, the final result may help others in parsing the nplayers.ini.

Cheers
Favdeacon

Favdeacon

• View Profile
Re: How can I process the number of players and style from nplayer.ini?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2017, 04:13:38 AM »
Update: Two friends who know their RegEx helped me write this function:

function plnum()
 {
  local ex = regexp(@"(\d+)P(?: (alt|sim))?");
local plinfo = fe.game_info(Info.Players);
  local plex = ex.capture(plinfo);
local plnum = plinfo.slice(plex[1].begin,plex[1].end);
local mpmode = plinfo.slice(plex[2].begin,plex[2].end);
return plnum;
 }

Given fe.game_info(Info.Players) in the format "2P alt" etc. it returns the number of players with one or more digits. As a bonus, the multiplayer mode "alt" or "sim" will be stored in the variable mpmode.

Because I am very new at Squirrel and coding overall, it may be not very optimized. Feel free to tinker with it.