Author Topic: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3  (Read 89041 times)

Floob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« on: April 16, 2016, 03:51:20 PM »
Image Downloads
http://smartretro.co.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=8277

Video Overview:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrXe3icI-mI
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VG0P7S3U3lE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PfWZqr0BwS8
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ssbyofbm4Q

Version History
==================
10th April 2016 - v0.1
- First Version

16th April 2016 - v0.2
- RetroPie 3.7
- Attract Mode 2.0.0 - 15th April 2016
- Shaders configured for RetroArch emulators
- AM configs pre-configured to match most RetroPie emulators
- Artwork directories created in the roms directories of the systems
- Extra AM layouts/themes pre-installed
- Exit to from AM to ES and vice versa
- Added MAME controls.ini, nplayer.ini, catver.ini to help filters in AM
- Fixed keyboard hang (hacked boot delay)
- Added boot script by Shakz (to flip between ES and AM)
- Hide motd, rainbow splashscreen and raspberry logo appearing
- Hide last login and uname output
- Stop white screen with X boot info showing
- Selected new version of Robospin as default theme
- Setting correct aspect ratio for re-configured systems
- Various small tweaks
- Install intro video for AM

2nd May 2016 - v0.3
- Recompiled AM with new SFML so X is no longer needed (https://github.com/mickelson/sfml-pi)
- This means runcommand now works under Attract Mode, and emulators that use SDL 1.2 can now be run with attractmode outside of X with hardware scaling.
- Advmame for example scaled only in software in X. Now it will use hardware scaling.
- Updated configs to no longer start X
- Updated Emulators to use runcommand (https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/runcommand)

7th May 2016 - v0.4
- Kodi Installed
- Daphne Installed
- Updated some Attract Mode layouts
- Added more emulator configs

8th May 2016 - v0.4 Artwork
- As 0.4 but with MAME artwork
- Stored under the mame-libretro roms directory
- Credits to http://www.progettosnaps.net/ and omegaman on the AM forums
- Full credits and author details in the readme folder

23rd August 2016 - v0.5
- RetroPie 4.0.1 (22nd August)
- Attract Mode 2.1.0 (22nd August)
- Experimental version of Emulation Station with grid mode
- Video Manager tool pre-installed, but not configured
- RetroPie setup script accessible within Attract Mode
- No X mode installed/configured



Known Issues
- AM startup error
AL lib: (WW) alc_initconfig: Failed to initialize backend "pulse"
glGetError 0x500
glGetError 0x500
glGetError 0x500

To Do
- Auto resize image partitions
- Remove console output for clean boot
- Change scripts to not reboot when switching FE?
- Use integer scaling?
- Other Stuff
« Last Edit: August 23, 2016, 04:51:38 PM by Floob »
RetroPie Help Guides: https://goo.gl/3gcNsT

omegaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 873
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2016, 09:09:26 AM »
I moved Floob's new image here. I highly recommend you check out his youtube tutorials if you have any problems. Thanks...

fbs777

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2016, 11:19:12 PM »
Quote
- Fixed keyboard hang (hacked boot delay)
Im still having problems with keyboard, some times i need to unplug and plug again to work. Its randomly, some times is after a few minutes, some times is after hours...
Im using a raspberry pi 2

Floob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2016, 12:02:59 PM »
@fbs777
I added a "sleep 10" command here
/etc/profile.d/10-emulationstation.sh

you could play with that, or try using the usbwait command in the cmdline.txt file
RetroPie Help Guides: https://goo.gl/3gcNsT

Misterhollyw00d

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2016, 01:43:24 PM »
Very nice work love it. I have an arcade I bought but was using a PC now I can just use the PI

I was wondering when it boots up it takes you to a menu and you have to hit left or right to get the wheels for each emulator. Anyway to start it up on an emulator or to remove the menu all together?

Layout is real nice for wheels marquee snaps and easy to update. There are some roms that I have to have in folder to get them to work. Is there any way to have the layout display just the roms that have wheel art or snap art and hide all that do not.

I see you can add emulators and change executable. On emulation station some games had to be changed on what emulator you use. Is there a link to where the other mame emulator is. I don't know how to locate the location

Thank You great work

omegaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 873
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2016, 04:14:29 PM »
Misterh-

There are several things that can be done for missing artwork. You can setup a global filter that will hide majority of the roms without art. Filtering out stuff like clones, Quiz,Trivia,Mahjong,Adult,Fruit,Mature,Puzzles and Casino games for example will hide a good chunk with missing art. You can even take it one step further by filtering out individual games.   

Another method is to edit your romlist manually or use a program like romlister to achieve the same result as above. You could also do a combination of both.

You could also make a favorites list by adding all the games with art to it. Though, this method is tedious.

And, even more tedious is adding your own art.     

progets

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2016, 08:30:46 PM »
Misterhollyw00d,

Omegaman's comments are accurate. To touch on some of your other questions...

You can delete any menu by pressing the "Tab" key then choose "Displays"--><display you want to remove>-->"Remove This Display". A better idea would be to leave the menu and just hide it. You can hide any menu from displaying by pressing the "Tab" key then choose "Displays"--><display you want to hide>-->"Show in Cycle = no" and "Show in Menu = no". This way you can always put them back if you need them (even if it's temporary just for maintenance). Another option is to change the where Attract-Mode starts by pressing the "Tab" key and choose "General"-->"Startup Mode" and choosing a different option. If you want to do any of these you'll have the issue of not being able to have a poweroff option which can be fixed by pressing the "Tab" key and choosing "General"-->"Exit Command" and entering something like "sudo poweroff".

Your question about other emulators is a good one. RetroPie allows you to choose an alternate emulator for specific roms, to my knowledge this can't currently be done in the Attract-Mode graphical interface (it can be done from the command line but will require modifications to the list.txt file produced or rules applied to get it working as you've described). You can set up and use other emulators for MAME (or any system) but they will appear on a different screen since Attract-Mode displays screens based on emulators (RetroPie displays screens based on systems).

The other RetroPie Arcade emulators can be found in these locations:
/opt/retropie/emulators/advmame
/opt/retropie/emulators/gngeopi
/opt/retropie/emulators/mame4all
/opt/retropie/emulators/pifba
/opt/retropie/libretrocores/lr-fba
/opt/retropie/libretrocores/lr-fba-next
/opt/retropie/libretrocores/lr-mame4all
/opt/retropie/libretrocores/lr-mame2003
/opt/retropie/libretrocores/lr-mame2010 (not installed in Floob's image)
/opt/retropie/libretrocores/lr-mame (not installed in Floob's image)

Understand that each of these emulators uses a different version of the MAME rom sets. First make sure you have any BIOS files that are needed installed in the rom folder (neogeo.zip for example). Chances are if a rom isn't working properly it probably isn't from correct MAME rom set or isn't supported at all in these versions. This is beyond the scope of this forum but there is plenty of information elsewhere. You can start at https://github.com/retropie/retropie-setup/wiki/Managing-ROMs. Floob provided the two best running and most compatible in his configs (mame2003 and fba-next). The ones that he doesn't have installed are experimental at this point.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2016, 10:25:01 PM by progets »

progets

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2016, 11:16:22 PM »
Just a tip for those that aren't regular Linux users or are stronger Windows Users. Build out Attract-Mode in Windows and getting it working how you like on a PC or laptop and then move it (in full or more likely by Attract-Mode subdirectory excluding "emulators") to your Raspberry Pi. Floob has done a great job with his image but since you need your own artwork, roms, romlists, etc. and any other modifications you might want, this is a great method to get all the pieces you need working. You can even build it on a USB stick and use relative paths which make transferring to the Pi (or a friend's computer) easy.

Everything is portable/compatible in Attract-Mode between Windows and Linux except for the emulators (which aren't part of Attract-Mode). You can setup and configure everything in Windows without the emulators installed (of course you can't play games this way) but you can setup your romlists, artwork, displays, layouts, filters, etc.  If you want to play the games in Windows, RetroPie uses RetroArch for 90% if its emulation and is easy to setup on Windows (and a free download).

A few warnings:
1) your emulator configs will be different/need changes since the emulators and paths will be different between Windows and Linux
2) remember that your display resolutions might be different between Windows and the Pi so keep this in mind when working with the layouts and artwork
3) your Windows machine will likely play high resolution/HD videos but these video might not work on the Pi yet (I've been using lower resolution files as a result)

I prefer this method because it allows me to sit in an Easy Chair and watch TV with my laptop while I casually setup Attract-Mode and test many things. Once it's how I like it, I send it to the Pi (using SSH/FTP/SAMBA/USB).
« Last Edit: April 20, 2016, 11:25:42 PM by progets »

efraimsangil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2016, 03:18:26 AM »
Hi all!

Floob, first, thanks for your image :)

I am uploaded some roms in /home/pi/RetroPie/roms/mame-libretro but in Front End appear in "Nintendo DS" !!!

Then I am uploaded some roms in /home/pi/RetroPie/roms/neogeo and in Front End appear in "Game Boy Color" !!!

What's I doing wrong?

Thanks!

Floob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2016, 04:38:46 PM »
@efraimsangil
Thats odd as I havent set a Nintendo DS display or emulator up in the image I uploaded?


After you upload your roms to the relevant folder, run the "Generate Collection/Rom list" option found under the emulator menu.
This should make your roms available in a display.
RetroPie Help Guides: https://goo.gl/3gcNsT

Omamez

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2016, 12:57:42 AM »
@ floobs I also witnesses this issue with mame some fba comming up as ds logo

Floob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2016, 02:21:17 PM »
@omamez
Can you provide a screenshot? If its coming up with a DS logo, presumably thats because there is one in the artwork?
RetroPie Help Guides: https://goo.gl/3gcNsT

Omamez

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2016, 03:42:43 PM »
@Floobs little to late I wiped my card out due to me having issues as mention in another thread. Sound and controller issue with wireless xbox360 in attract mode.

what it was the marquee and the wheel art that was blank came up with 3ds logo.

I mean I can re upload the roms folders and it should replicate the issue I believe give me 1 hr and I will take some screen shots

using rpi3 and robo betanew skin

omegaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 873
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2016, 05:35:11 PM »
Omamez-

I think when you made changes to your /boot/config.txt something got hosed. It's the only thing that makes sense.

Hopefully, your new install solves it. 

omegaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 873
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #14 on: April 22, 2016, 07:15:24 PM »
Here's a little tip if you guys want to use alternate rom and media paths using floob's image.

As you know, when you launch emulationstation it scans for system roms in this location /home/pi/RetroPie/roms etc... 

But, if you have a lot roms and media there's a good chance your sd card will not have enough space on it. So, adding something like a portable usb drive could be crucial.

To use a usb drive we need to edit a file in emulationstation and change the paths for attract emulator configs.

So, here's what we do. Edit the /etc/emulationstation/es_systems file and change the system paths that you want to use a usb drive. Example, for the mame system, change this line.

 <path>/media/usb0/roms/mame</path>
   
Now, when you boot into emulationstation to configure your emulators it should scan the new rom path on the usb drive.

You also want to change the paths for your attract emulator configs as well.