Attract-Mode Support Forum

Attract-Mode Support => General => Topic started by: slippyblade on July 14, 2015, 01:12:30 PM

Title: Linux install
Post by: slippyblade on July 14, 2015, 01:12:30 PM
I am feeling remarkably stupid.  Please help me.

I've been having issues with windows machines not liking to work with AM properly.  Decided to try a linux install instead.  Here's my problem...

I can't figure out, for the life of me, how to install AM.  I've got Debian up and running.  I DL'd the .deb package for AM and now have no idea what to do with it.  I'm used to using apt to install software from the repository, so am absolutely clueless here.
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: slippyblade on July 14, 2015, 10:05:21 PM
Ok, I think I'm doing this right but I'm getting an error.

Dependency not satisfiable.  libavresample (>= 6:9.16-0ubuntu0.14.04.1)
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: omegaman on July 15, 2015, 06:10:25 AM
Did you use the AM install wiki for Linux? If you follow it to the letter, you shouldn't have any major issues. The only time I ran into issues is when I didn't follow the wiki because my Linux skills were a little rusty. I ran into one dependency issue that was self explanatory.  AM needed Xandr libs when compiling. I am running raspbian wheezy though.

Here is the wiki link you should be using: https://github.com/mickelson/attract/wiki. And, you can always give nitrogen's image a try, it has everything you need.   
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: slippyblade on July 15, 2015, 10:29:34 AM
I'm not compiling anything.  I downloaded the .deb file from the downloads section of the website.
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: omegaman on July 15, 2015, 11:37:55 AM
Ah, OK. I think akafox made those. I think for deb you need these dependencies:

apt-get install build-essential pkg-config git libfontconfig-dev libopenal-dev sfml-dev libavutil-dev libavcodec-dev libavformat-dev libavfilter-dev libswscale-dev libavresample-dev.

 
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: slippyblade on July 15, 2015, 01:11:21 PM
God damn it.  NOTHING is working.  Even trying to compile it I'm getting retarded errors.

I've installed Debian Jessie, straight from the Debian website.  Installed it with no problems. 

Doing a direct copy/paste of the instructions from the Git page gives me "Unable to locate package sfml-dev" and I can't find a way to get the damn thing.

What the hell?  I am not a noob, I've been doing this stuff for 30 freaking years and am beating my head against a spiked block wall!!!
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: omegaman on July 15, 2015, 06:37:51 PM
Slippy-

On deb this should work: 

sudo apt-get install libsfml-dev

You also mentioned that you had some problems with AM on windows, right? What version did you try? And, was it the 32bit or 64bit version? I would try the 32bit version if you haven't already done so.
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: omegaman on July 15, 2015, 06:49:17 PM
Also, on windows I would try rolling back to 1.52 and see if the stuttering you reported on a different thread is still there. That way we can verify if a bug was introduced in the latest versions. I can even upload ver 1.51 if you want to try that too. Thanks...   
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: slippyblade on July 15, 2015, 10:54:11 PM
Finally making some headway.  Apparently apt-get is configured to look for a CD with a repo image instead of going online.  Had to comment out the CD section in Sources.list in the etc/apt directory.
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: slippyblade on July 15, 2015, 11:06:31 PM
the .deb still is not working, exact same error.  However, the compile method *almost* worked.  It started compiling and crashed out with compile errors.

Code: [Select]
src/fe_present.cpp: In member function ‘FeShader* FePresent::add_shader(FeShader::Type, const char*, const char*)’:
src/fe_present.cpp:491:5: error: ‘FileInputStream’ is not a member of ‘sf’
     sf::FileInputStream fs1;
     ^
src/fe_present.cpp:492:5: error: ‘fs1’ was not declared in this scope
     fs1.open( path + shader1 );
     ^
src/fe_present.cpp:494:5: error: ‘FileInputStream’ is not a member of ‘sf’
     sf::FileInputStream fs2;
     ^
src/fe_present.cpp:495:5: error: ‘fs2’ was not declared in this scope
     fs2.open( path + shader2 );
     ^
src/fe_present.cpp:512:5: error: ‘FileInputStream’ is not a member of ‘sf’
     sf::FileInputStream fs;
     ^
src/fe_present.cpp:513:5: error: ‘fs’ was not declared in this scope
     fs.open( path + shader1 );
     ^
Makefile:312: recipe for target 'obj/fe_present.o' failed

Slowly making headway.
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: akafox on July 23, 2015, 10:06:16 AM
ok slippy. first sorry the forum being down i couldn't help you. now source forge is up I can do this! Yes i made the linux debs. and yes they DO work..however...they work for ubuntu 14.04 base (trusty thar) I know this because i wiped my system to install a 32-bit build..I just reinstalled it.

http://forum.attractmode.org/index.php?topic=189.msg1089#msg1089 (http://forum.attractmode.org/index.php?topic=189.msg1089#msg1089)

I love my mame cab on linux it runs smoother than windows...once i can get to that point! lol
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: slippyblade on July 23, 2015, 01:17:40 PM
No need to apologize about the forum, shit happens.

I'll grab that version/distro and give it a try, thanks!
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: ronimc on July 23, 2015, 04:39:23 PM
Hello friend. Install Ubuntu, Xubuntu or Lubuntu 14.04, Linux Mint or LXLE. In new Ubuntu 15.04 and Debian 8, the deb not install (dependency error). I'm using LXLE and works wonderfully. Sorry for bad english.
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: raygun on July 23, 2015, 09:29:36 PM
Hey slippy,

I don't understand why you'd be getting that compiler error, I'm not getting it here and I'm on debian as well.... hmmm... so I went and tweaked the file you are failing on so that the compile should get further along for you now.  Just do a "git pull origin master" in your attractmode source directory to update to the latest if you want to try the compile method again....

cheers
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: akafox on July 24, 2015, 10:16:43 PM
Raygun

If I read that right it is working in 14.04, but he is having problems with 15.04. Yeah a lot of dependencies will not pull down in 15.04 I had to grab them all from the ubuntu website. Although I have not tried to compile or make a deb with 15.04 yet. Not sure it would make a difference...would it? I posted a list of the needed dependencies on this thread above. If compiling it on 15.04 and making a deb will make a difference let me know! :)
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: slippyblade on August 07, 2015, 01:34:41 AM
Needing some help...  again.  Sorry.

I've got AM working on Linux.  Got the emulators working through AM.  My problem now is that I can't get some of my layout graphics to work.  Anything PNG is not working.  If I convert them to JPG they work just fine - but these images need transparency, so JPG doesn't work for the purpose.  The images are opening in Gimp and Image Viewer just fine.

I'm attaching my layout.  Anybody see anything wrong?

Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: akafox on August 07, 2015, 06:24:29 AM
ok. I do not see any output errors in the terminal. I converted everything to png using GiMP just  to check too. Please repost this in the themes section. You'll get better help there. I don't know much about scripting.
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: slippyblade on August 07, 2015, 12:28:35 PM
Can do, thanks!
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: slippyblade on August 09, 2015, 07:59:21 PM
Woot!  Everything is working!  Controls are setup, layouts are great, spent 2 hours last night "testing" games.  :)

My graphics problem was weird.  I had to convert all the broken png's to gif to protect the transparency.  Then re-convert those gif's back to png's.  Then they worked.  I don't get it, but at least everything is working now!

I am now setting up the OS for cabinet use.  Set a black background. Set the launch bar to auto-hide.  Apparently Ubuntu makes it so you can't hide that silly menu bar up top, oh well.  I can't figure out how to make AM auto start on boot though.  I tried adding it to the "Startup Applications", but that doesn't seem to work.  Something is happening, the mouse cursor is gone, but the rest of the desktop is showing.  If I hit Esc and arrow up once and enter (the steps to exit AM) then the mouse pointer pops back up and I can use the desktop.  I can manually launch AM and it is fine.
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: akafox on August 09, 2015, 09:12:04 PM
what *buntu version are you on again? lubuntu or ubuntu? lubuntu I can help..if it's not I can burn and pillage the internet until I can get you an answer :P
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: slippyblade on August 09, 2015, 10:35:57 PM
I got it.  I had to insert a delay into the autostart.  Not sure what was going on, but a 10 second delay and it's working fine now.  It's vanilla Ubuntu with Unity.  Can't say I'm a fan of Unity...
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: akafox on August 10, 2015, 06:35:12 AM
Yeah unity is a pain. it's also the second resource hog next to kde's plasma desktop. That is why I went to lubuntu. However you can install the lxed desktop and log out of unity and into lxde. (That is the only difference it's still ubuntu just a different desktop installed for the base gui) I use openbox it comes up "blank" by default and then I set it up to lunch attract mode and antimicro at boot. There are ways of doing it through raw xorg (thats the "base layer" for the gui) but I have not been successful yet. More here http://forum.attractmode.org/index.php?topic=171.msg926#msg926 (http://forum.attractmode.org/index.php?topic=171.msg926#msg926)
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: slippyblade on August 10, 2015, 08:41:16 AM
I gave that a try actually.  Didn't work for a rather unexpected reason.

I am using a busted laptop.  The LCD had been torn off this particular laptop, so it has no main screen.  I'm running an external LCD, when I installed LXDE it stretched the desktop across both monitors - the one that didn't exist as well as the new one.  EVERYTHING tried to open on the non-existent monitor and I couldn't figure a way around that because the settings window popped on a screen that I couldn't actually access.  I'm sure there's a work around for that, but I'm sick of dealing with this project and just wanted it done.  So I went back to Unity.
Title: Re: Linux install
Post by: akafox on August 11, 2015, 11:30:51 AM
Oh. Had i known that I wouldn't have suggested it without a fix. Yes there is a work around. Can not remember it from the top of my head. But as for the broken laptop..wow I thought i was the only person that has done that lol Just make sure that the laptop gets good air flow. I have mine on a book with the fan over the edge. Laying on a table is a not a good idea..not enough airflow.