Attract-Mode Support Forum
Attract-Mode Support => General => Topic started by: Madcore on October 11, 2015, 07:18:58 AM
-
Hi.
I´m using my emulation environment in a external HD in "portable mode", I mean, using relative paths to launch everything ignoring driveletters. I discovered Attract Mode and really like it, but I can't make it work with relative paths, only with absolutes or with system variables. There's a way I can use relative paths or create new variables for the paths?
Thanks, and sorry for my bad english.
-
Hello, check my emulator config example:
executable retroarch\retroarch.exe
args -L cores\genesis_plus_gx_libretro.dll "..\[romfilename]"
rompath roms\gen
romext .gen
system Sega Genesis
info_source thegamesdb.net
Use subfolder paths as usually, use ..\ for level up :D
-
MadCore I am sure that is possible. However you will have to make sure that the external drive is the same drive letter every time.
We can help you better if we know what OS you are using though.
-
Relative paths work fine with attract mode in Windows (as De_Cadanz says), though some layouts (such as roboskin) seem to require an extra ..\ in the resource paths.
My mame "emulator" cfg file works fine on Windows for a structure of:
path:\emulators
path:\frontends
path:\Roms
path:\Artwork
# Generated by Attract-Mode 1.6.0
#
executable ..\..\emulators\MAME\v0.163b\mame.exe
args [name] -skip_gameinfo -nowindow
rompath ..\..\roms\mame_v0.163\
romext .zip;.7z;<DIR>
system Arcade
info_source mame
import_extras ..\..\emulators\MAME\Common_Files\catver.ini;..\..\emulators\MAME\Common_Files\nplayers.ini
artwork flyer ..\..\..\..\artwork\MAME\flyers\
artwork marquee ..\..\..\..\artwork\MAME\marquees\;..\..\..\..\artwork\MAME\marquees_alt\;..\..\..\..\artwork\MAME\banner\;..\..\..\..\artwork\MAME\wheel\
artwork snap ..\..\..\..\artwork\MAME\video_mp4\;..\..\..\..\artwork\mame\snap\
artwork wheel ..\..\..\..\artwork\MAME\wheel\;..\..\..\..\artwork\MAME\banner\;..\..\..\..\artwork\MAME\marquees\;..\..\..\..\artwork\MAME\marquees_alt\
However you will have to make sure that the external drive is the same drive letter every time.
This isn't actually needed at all as long as you run attract mode from the same external drive. :)
-
Is there anyway to set a global variable for paths without specifying it in every .cfg file?
e.g.
$emulators="..\..\emulators\"
executable $emulators\MAME\v0.163b\mame.exe
-
yes, how to command
-
Are you able to elaborate on the "yes how to command"
-
Hello everybody :-)
Working fine with relative paths...
EXCEPT all configs, where the arguments line is pointing to the attract.exe. Can't get that to work with relative paths.
It's scraping all games and artwork well, it's even starting the Emulators and the games, BUT it freezes all emulators immediately...
Seems the emulators just can't handle these paths, as they are obviously set correct for attract mode to work fine.
Example:
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.3.0
#
executable ..\RocketLauncher\RocketLauncher.exe
args -s "[emulator]" -r "[name]" -p AttractMode -f "H:\Vintage Collection\Attract\attract.exe"
rompath ..\Games\virtualboy
romext .7z;.zip;.vb;.VB;.ZIP;.7Z
system Nintendo Virtual Boy
info_source listxml
exit_hotkey Joy0 Button8
artwork boxart ..\Games\virtualboy\boxart
artwork cartart ..\Games\virtualboy\cartart
artwork flyer ..\Games\virtualboy\boxart
artwork marquee ..\Games\virtualboy\marquee
artwork snap ..\Games\virtualboy\snap
artwork wheel ..\Games\virtualboy\wheel
ONLY THIS is working. Doesn't matter how much "..\" i am replacing the "H:\Vintage Collection" with in the "args" line... it doesn't work.
Already tried just "attract.exe", failed also...
The folder structure is:
H:\Vintage Collection\Attract\attract.exe
H:\Vintage Collection\Systems\(Emus in seperate folders)
H:\Vintage Collection\Games\(Roms in seperate folders)
H:\Vintage Collection\RocketLauncher\RocketLauncher.exe
Windows 10 x64 Enterprise.
Any idea?
-
Both of these styles work for me.
args -s "[emulator]" -r "[name]" -p AttractMode -f "\Vintage Collection\Attract\attract.exe"
args -s "[emulator]" -r "[name]" -p AttractMode -f "..\Attract\attract.exe"
-
Hi, just registered to notify the following:
I was trying to get my setup to work with relative paths, but for some strange reason I could not get it to work, until I moved AttractMode into a subfolder.
Snap etc would load fine, but could not get the game to start.
So NOT working:
Filestructure:
\AttractMode
\Emulators\RetroArch
And then trying to launch roms with ..\Emulators\RetroArch\retroarch.exe
#
executable ..\Emulators\RetroArch\retroarch.exe
args -L cores\nestopia_libretro.dll "[romfilename]"
rompath ..\Roms\Nintendo NES\Roms
romext .nes;.unf;.unif;.fds;.zip;.rar;.7z
system Nintendo Entertainment System (NES)
info_source thegamesdb.net
artwork flyer ..\Roms\Nintendo NES\Assets\Boxart
artwork snap ..\Roms\Nintendo NES\Assets\Snap
Working:
Filestructure:
\Frontend\AttractMode
\Emulators\RetroArch
And then launch roms with ..\..\Emulators\RetroArch\retroarch.exe
#
executable ..\..\Emulators\RetroArch\retroarch.exe
args -L cores\nestopia_libretro.dll "[romfilename]"
rompath ..\..\Roms\Nintendo NES\Roms
romext .nes;.unf;.unif;.fds;.zip;.rar;.7z
system Nintendo Entertainment System (NES)
info_source thegamesdb.net
artwork flyer ..\..\Roms\Nintendo NES\Assets\Boxart
artwork snap ..\..\Roms\Nintendo NES\Assets\Snap
I have absolutely no idea why. But maybe it could help others..
-
I run attract mode from external drive, with this configuration..
Code: [Select]
executable ..\RocketLauncher\RocketLauncher.exe
args -s "[emulator]" -r "[name]" -p AttractMode -f "..\attract\attract.exe"
rompath ..\roms\mame2003
romext .zip;.7z;<DIR>
system mame
info_source listxml
import_extras ..\listextra\2003\catver.ini;..\listextra\\2003\nplayers.ini;..\listextra\2003\mame2003-plus.xml
exit_hotkey Escape
artwork flyer ..\media\mame\flyer
artwork marquee ..\media\mame\marquees
artwork snap ..\media\mame\videos;..\media\mame\snap
artwork wheel ..\media\mame\wheel
with directory tree like this:
[[retrogames]]
|
[attractmode]
|
|
|
[media]
| |
| mame
| |
| flyer
| snap
|
[emulators]
| mame
| retroarch
|
[roms]
| mame2003
| genesis
|
[rocketlauncher]
Saludos...
-
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable \AM-2.6.1\emuladores\Mame\Arcade.exe
args [name]
rompath \AM-2.6.1\Games\Arcade
romext .zip
system Arcade
info_source listxml
import_extras ..\AM-2.6.1\Emuladores\Mame\catver\catver.ini
artwork 3d ..\AM-2.6.1\media\Arcade\Box 3D
artwork flyer ..\AM-2.6.1\media\Arcade\Flyer
artwork marquee ..\AM-2.6.1\media\Arcade\Marquee
artwork play ..\AM-2.6.1\media\Arcade\Screenshot Play
artwork select ..\AM-2.6.1\media\Arcade\Screenshot Select
artwork snap ..\AM-2.6.1\media\Arcade\Snaps
artwork title ..\AM-2.6.1\media\Arcade\Screenshot Title
artwork wheel ..\AM-2.6.1\media\Arcade\Wheels
artwork loading ..\AM-2.6.1\media\Arcade\Loading
it works well, the folders are all in the root directory of AM.
-
Could someone please help me?
I'm using these Codes
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable ..\emulators\retroarch\retroarch.exe
args -L cores\snes9x2010_libretro.dll "[romfilename]"
rompath \AttractMode\roms\Super Nintendo Entertainment System\
romext .smc;.zip
system Super Nintendo (SNES)
info_source thegamesdb.net
artwork flyer ..\AttractMode\roms\Super Nintendo Entertainment System\media\flyer
artwork marquee ..\AttractMode\roms\Super Nintendo Entertainment System\media\marquee
artwork snap ..\AttractMode\roms\Super Nintendo Entertainment System\media\snap
artwork wheel ..\AttractMode\roms\Super Nintendo Entertainment System\media\wheel
All the artworks work well when i write "..\AttractMode\roms...." But not when i write "..\roms" for some reason.
But i can't get Retroarch to work :(
I've tried
executable ..\emulators\retroarch\retroarch.exe
args -L cores\snes9x2010_libretro.dll "[romfilename]"
rompath \AttractMode\roms\Super Nintendo Entertainment System\
executable ..\AttractMode\emulators\retroarch\retroarch.exe
executable ..\..\AttractMode\emulators\retroarch\retroarch.exe
executable ..\..\emulators\retroarch\retroarch.exe
Nothing seems to work :(
The program can find my roms but for some reason i can't launch any game, Retroarch just crashes (it blinks for like 1 seconds) and brings me back to AttractMode. Please anyone :(