Attract-Mode Support Forum

Attract-Mode Support => General => Topic started by: fireslayer26 on July 04, 2020, 04:37:18 PM

Title: Marquee screen
Post by: fireslayer26 on July 04, 2020, 04:37:18 PM
So I have my attract mode setup and all is working great. I have a second monitor setup for my marquee's. It works great with the system menus and game marquee's when scrolling. But when I start a game, arcade or console based, the marquee disappears while playing the game, then comes back when I exit the game. Is there anyway to keep the marquee there while playing the game?

Thanks
Title: Re: Marquee screen
Post by: hermine.potter on July 06, 2020, 12:30:30 AM
what you can test:

-set second display to same or lower resolution as first display

-in taskbar-settings, set taskbar to hide

-set Non-Blocking Mode Wait in emulator settings
start AM > press TAB key > Emulators > your_emulator > Non-Blocking Mode Wait
try it from 1 to 5 

-try another emulator for your system
Title: Re: Marquee screen
Post by: vengefultacos on July 12, 2020, 12:47:47 PM
I have the same issue. I'm using Mame 64 on Windows 7, and have multimon enabled. Every time MAME starts up. the marquee display flips back to displaying the desktop.

I tried the settings mentioned:


I did find one weird sort of workaround. While I was debugging, the marquee screen would remain up after launching MAME once in a while. This caused me to tear my hair out until I figured out what was going on while writing this response. It turns out the marquee doesn't get cleared when MAME launches if I have an open VNC (remote desktop) connection to my arcade system. I sometimes use VNC to remotely access the arcade cabinet to tweak stuff because I often don't have a keyboard connected to it.  My guess is that the VNC server changes how the screen is rendered somehow, which somehow prevents the marquee screen from being wiped. I wonder if there is some sot of graphics level conflict between AM and MAME that causes a conflict?


Title: Re: Marquee screen
Post by: toothlessgrinn on July 18, 2020, 04:15:54 PM
you still need the artwork files in mame dir.. if you already do then im no good to ya... lol.. hope you get it working.
Title: Re: Marquee screen
Post by: vengefultacos on August 01, 2020, 07:46:16 AM
OK, I was able to fix this via the usual "change stuff until you find something that works" method. In my case, I'm running running MAME on Windows 7. The fix was to switch from using OpenGL to Direct 3D in mame.ini. I guess MAME's OpenGL renderer kicks Attract Mode off of the secondary display, even though it is not supposed to touch it. With Direct 3D, MAME doesn't seem to mess with Attract Mode's marquee display on the second monitor.

I guess that the reason why VNC was forcing things to work is that it forced everything through some sort of software renderer.

To be clear, I'm not letting MAME know about the second monitor. AM is control of the marquee. Here's the relevant section of my mame.ini:

Code: [Select]
#
# OSD VIDEO OPTIONS
#
video                     d3d
numscreens                1
window                    0
maximize                  1
waitvsync                 1
syncrefresh               0
monitorprovider           auto

And with that solved, my cab is now pretty much complete. Yeah!
Title: Re: Marquee screen
Post by: fireslayer26 on August 02, 2020, 04:46:46 PM
Mine does it no matter which emulator I'm using. Which leads me to believe its an issue with AM or Rocketlauncher??
Title: Re: Marquee screen
Post by: fireslayer26 on August 02, 2020, 06:04:28 PM
Ok, so it turned out to be a simple fix. I was using Attract Mode 2.2.1  and I updated it to 2.6.1 and now the marquee does not disappear when I start a game.