Author Topic: mame ui 64 get an error on AM  (Read 5511 times)

abls1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« on: May 28, 2015, 01:50:39 AM »
I can run the frontend outside of AM but when i try to run a game it tries to start the game normally but then it says game files are missing.. this happends for very game i tried from mame

cfg:

# Generated by Attract-Mode 1.5.2
#
executable           B:\Emulators\MAME64-161\MameUI64\Mameui64.EXE
args                 [name]
rompath              B:\mame151\MAME 0.151 ROMs;D:\finalburn\FBA\ROMs
romext               .zip;rom
system               Arcade
info_source          mame
artwork    flyer           
artwork    marquee         $HOME/mame/marquees
artwork    snap            $HOME/mame/videos;$HOME/mame/snap
artwork    wheel   

hermine.potter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2015, 03:45:06 AM »
'Generate Collection/Rom List' and try again.

once again : check your correct syntax and notation

 .zip;rom => wrong
correct : .zip;.rom

Are the paths to your roms correct?
 B:\mame151\MAME 0.151 ROMs
not this? B:\mame151\MAME 0.151\ROMs
« Last Edit: May 28, 2015, 03:47:43 AM by hermine.potter »
AM Version : 2.2.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : WindowsXP x86 SP3
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 4GB RAM
Emulators : zsnes; mame; dosbox; scummvm; bsnes; fusion; openbor; windows_games; winuae; video; flashgames; vice; visualboy

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 745
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2015, 04:41:19 AM »
Well again as hemine said check your syntax..

rompath              B:\mame151\MAME 0.151 ROMs;D:\finalburn\FBA\ROMs <-wrong
rompath              "B:\mame151\MAME 0.151 ROMs;D:\finalburn\FBA\ROMs" <-right

you must remember the command line done not like spaces!

also my i ask why you have two paths to roms for one emulator? I mean why mame and FBA? It just seems redundant. If you want to use them fine..but set up each separate and then "merge" the list. <-- just an idea that's all. :)
People want life easy..then complain about it

abls1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2015, 09:36:08 AM »
same error and i did dome edits.. it seems that it has to do with the args.. the emulator loads but the roms files are not detected



# Generated by Attract-Mode 1.5.2
#
executable           B:\Emulators\MAME\MameUI64\Mameui64.exe
args                 "[rompath]"
rompath              B:\mame151\MAME151roms
romext               .rom;.zip
system               Arcade
info_source          mame
artwork    flyer           
artwork    marquee         $HOME/mame/marquees
artwork    snap            $HOME/mame/videos;$HOME/mame/snap
artwork    wheel   

hermine.potter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2015, 10:21:57 PM »
Your argument [rompath] is not correct. Use [name] instead.
It's important using the correct syntax and notation.

the mame-emulator (and all another emulator-systems) works similar this way:
path_to_emulator\emulator.exe filename_of_game -other_parameters
e.g. : B:\Emulators\MAME\MameUI64\Mameui64.exe game_abc_123.zip

What you do with your config, is starting a folder, instead a gamefile:
path_to_emulator\emulator.exe rompath -other_parameters
B:\Emulators\MAME\MameUI64\Mameui64.exe B:\mame151\MAME151roms
« Last Edit: May 28, 2015, 10:23:54 PM by hermine.potter »
AM Version : 2.2.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : WindowsXP x86 SP3
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 4GB RAM
Emulators : zsnes; mame; dosbox; scummvm; bsnes; fusion; openbor; windows_games; winuae; video; flashgames; vice; visualboy

abls1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2015, 04:09:15 AM »
I'm a bit confused of what each arg means..  sample

full-screen -loadgame -escape -exit skip intro

How would i write that using your args?

hermine.potter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2015, 04:42:41 AM »
I'm using mame v0.159 on a x86 windows. My steps:

1) First I've started mame manually under windows with mame.exe and configured the emulator (fullscreen, joystick-inputs and so on).

2) then I've configured mame under attractmode with these settings:
# Generated by Attract-Mode 1.5.3
#
executable           C:\attract\EMU\mame\mamepp.exe
args                 [name] -skip_gameinfo
rompath              C:\attract\EMU\mame\roms
romext               .zip;.7z;<DIR>
system               Arcade
info_source          mame
artwork    flyer           
artwork    marquee         $HOME/mame/marquees
artwork    snap            $HOME/mame/videos;$HOME/mame/snap
artwork    wheel 

I've added the parameter -skip_gameinfo because you can't find an option under mame.exe directly. So you have to use it by setting as a parameter.

Next time I'm upgrade mame to version 0.162 and do the same steps again:
1) Configure the emulator under windows and looking what options are not available under the emulator (this would probable be -skip_gameinfo again).
2) If it not available as option I'll left the arguments-line in AM as shown as above.
If it's now available as option I'll delete parameter in AM and left this line (without any parameters):
args                 [name]
« Last Edit: May 29, 2015, 04:44:35 AM by hermine.potter »
AM Version : 2.2.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : WindowsXP x86 SP3
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 4GB RAM
Emulators : zsnes; mame; dosbox; scummvm; bsnes; fusion; openbor; windows_games; winuae; video; flashgames; vice; visualboy

abls1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2015, 06:21:08 AM »
This is a screenshot of the

http://www.mediafire.com/view/tdtk206fw2x27kc/mame_error.PNG

Stuff seems to load fine the it stops and says files are missing

code used:


# Generated by Attract-Mode 1.5.2
#
executable           B:\Emulators\MAME\MameUI64\Mameui64.exe
args                  [name] -skip_gameinfo
rompath               B:\mame151\MAME151roms
romext                .zip;.7z;<DIR>
system                Arcade
info_source           mame
artwork    flyer           
artwork    marquee         $HOME/mame/marquees
artwork    snap            $HOME/mame/videos;$HOME/mame/snap
artwork    wheel

So far I have working

Fusion364   -perfect
snes9x         -perfect
stella            -perfect
neo pop        -does not load in full screen
Final Burn     -perfect
FCE Ultra       - Perfect> used the config for nestopia because nestopia was not working properly
Steam           -Perfect> but it shows app id  on list not game name
« Last Edit: May 30, 2015, 05:04:53 PM by abls1 »

checkist

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #8 on: May 30, 2015, 04:30:33 AM »
I suggest to test

#1. run cmd.exe
#2. cd "B:\Emulators\MAME\MameUI64\"
#3. Mameui64.exe wupndown

It should have same result (fail) in your screenshot.

I cannot say for sure, as I haven't used MAMEUI64, but it should have built-in UI for assigning rom directories whatsoever.

If it does not have setting UI, most MAME releases have mame.ini as their setting file, add following line to the mame.ini

rompath      B:\mame151\MAME151roms


Once done, repeat above step #1 through #3. If it succeeds, then it can be also done in AM by your settings. (hopefully)

abls1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2015, 03:20:47 PM »
Tried that and it does not give me the same error i had before.. it does not work for me

checkist

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2015, 01:29:17 AM »
Really? then I have no idea...

One last thing to test is that

#3. Mameui64.exe wupndown

should be

#3. Mameui64.exe wupndowna

but I don't think it'll make any difference...


abls1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #11 on: June 01, 2015, 02:45:28 AM »

checkist

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #12 on: June 01, 2015, 02:57:00 AM »
You might need to change

"[romname]"

to

"[romfilename]"

in your emulator configuration

abls1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #13 on: June 02, 2015, 07:26:41 AM »
That did not work either.. Not sure why mame is not running in the frontend because I can run Final Burn and its based on MAME the args:  '[name]" run final burn but not mame

hermine.potter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
    • View Profile
Re: mame ui 64 get an error on AM
« Reply #14 on: June 03, 2015, 12:58:16 AM »
hi! i've tested mame v0.162 x86 on a 64bit system. it works. please try this:

1) download latest mame x86
2) use this config (replace executable and rompath correct to your system):
Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode 1.5.3
#
executable           C:\attract\EMU\mame\mame.exe
args                 [name] -skip_gameinfo
rompath              C:\attract\EMU\mame\roms
romext               .zip
system               Arcade
info_source          mame
artwork    flyer           
artwork    marquee         $HOME/mame/marquees
artwork    snap            $HOME/mame/videos;$HOME/mame/snap
artwork    wheel           
3) Generate Collection/Rom List in mame menu again
« Last Edit: June 03, 2015, 01:08:21 AM by hermine.potter »
AM Version : 2.2.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : WindowsXP x86 SP3
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 4GB RAM
Emulators : zsnes; mame; dosbox; scummvm; bsnes; fusion; openbor; windows_games; winuae; video; flashgames; vice; visualboy