Author Topic: SDAMax  (Read 2429 times)

FrizzleFried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • Idaho Garagecade
SDAMax
« on: December 26, 2018, 10:12:20 AM »
SDA Max v1.0

Based on the SDArcade concept... just "maxified"... ;)

Supports vertical and horizontal modes...


https://youtu.be/05AWQbmrmjY

UPDATED to v1.1. Included in the update:

Up/down scrolling added
Progress bar added (vertical and horizontal)
New font allows more characters on screen (useful for long game names)
Other minor tweaks

You can see a (pretty low res admittedly) demo of the progress bar (horizontal/vertical) here:

https://youtu.be/BiktF13Do7o

You can see another low res demo of the vertical/horizontal scrolling here (note: this capture was taken before I changed fonts or added the progress bar):

https://youtu.be/RBeN6uxqZOc

« Last Edit: January 11, 2019, 08:54:43 PM by FrizzleFried »
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (updated 04-28-19)

billver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: SDAMax v1.0
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2018, 01:38:09 PM »
I like it!
Cant wait to try it out.

FrizzleFried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: SDAMax v1.0
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2018, 03:53:50 PM »
The video is pretty low quality (I guess I can't complain... it's freeware capture software).... running only 15FPS.  It's quite a bit smoother in person...
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (updated 04-28-19)

toothlessgrinn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: SDAMax v1.0
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2018, 05:32:11 AM »
Dude!! I love the simplicity ... I think these type of themes are awesome !!

Thanks for the time you give !!

Really like what you did with arcadesd
we came , we saw , we lost LOTS of quarters...

Win 7
Asus mobo amd 64bit 3core
12g ram
4 player. Custom built woody cab
46" plasma screen with 22" marquee

FrizzleFried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: SDAMax v1.0
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2018, 05:22:03 PM »
v1.1 will be coming soon.  Now is the time for anyone who ever wanted something implemented in a front end layout like this to chime in with any suggestions...

:)

https://youtu.be/RBeN6uxqZOc

Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (updated 04-28-19)

toothlessgrinn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: SDAMax v1.0
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2018, 08:19:32 PM »
how about the bezel for each game to cycle with the game titles
we came , we saw , we lost LOTS of quarters...

Win 7
Asus mobo amd 64bit 3core
12g ram
4 player. Custom built woody cab
46" plasma screen with 22" marquee

FrizzleFried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: SDAMax v1.0
« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2018, 06:44:48 AM »
how about the bezel for each game to cycle with the game titles

Thought about making a separate theme doing this... it wouldn't work well with the sliding effect of SDarcade ... and SDAMax is full screen so there is no room for a bezel.

:)

I've never used bezel art before... can I assume it's all a standardized size outer and inner dimension?  If not,  it could be much harder to implement.
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (updated 04-28-19)

toothlessgrinn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: SDAMax v1.0
« Reply #7 on: December 30, 2018, 07:59:45 AM »
I think its all the same. I tied it with simpleflyer theme by kent79.  But I'm not real good at theme making. I got it to somewhat work but again im not a programmer by any means. I'm more on the a+ side of things...

But right on.

I've tried using ambuilder but I only got 1 theme to work right and that's all I could do. (I think the guy who made it stoped working on it. And won't answer any questions on it)  but I digress

Lol anyways was just a thought.
we came , we saw , we lost LOTS of quarters...

Win 7
Asus mobo amd 64bit 3core
12g ram
4 player. Custom built woody cab
46" plasma screen with 22" marquee

FrizzleFried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: SDAMax
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2019, 08:29:23 PM »
UPDATED to v1.1. Included in the update:

Up/down scrolling added
Progress bar added (vertical and horizontal)
New font allows more characters on screen (useful for long game names)
Other minor tweaks

You can see a (pretty low res admittedly) demo of the progress bar (horizontal/vertical) here:

https://youtu.be/BiktF13Do7o

You can see another low res demo of the vertical/horizontal scrolling here (note: this capture was taken before I changed fonts or added the progress bar):

https://youtu.be/RBeN6uxqZOc

The link to this layout is in the original post up top.
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (updated 04-28-19)

gleegum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: SDAMax
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2019, 07:47:57 PM »
Hi, I'm new to this forum, this is my first post.

I'm trying to use this theme SDMAX v1.1 with no success, not sure what I'm doing wrong. I've decompressed the .zip file to the 'layouts' folder and selected the theme inside attract mode menu. I can see that the theme is applied but with missing things like logos, marquees, text, and a huge font. I've attached a screenshot.
I'm new to attract mode, but I've used other front ends in the past (maximus, hyperspin, mala).

I would like to thank the creator of this great theme!


FrizzleFried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: SDAMax
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2019, 09:44:35 PM »
Hi, I'm new to this forum, this is my first post.

I'm trying to use this theme SDMAX v1.1 with no success, not sure what I'm doing wrong. I've decompressed the .zip file to the 'layouts' folder and selected the theme inside attract mode menu. I can see that the theme is applied but with missing things like logos, marquees, text, and a huge font. I've attached a screenshot.
I'm new to attract mode, but I've used other front ends in the past (maximus, hyperspin, mala).

I would like to thank the creator of this great theme!

Make sure that the zip file expanded directly in to the folder...

IE: make sure that LAYOUT.NUT is in the "layouts/SDAMAX" folder  and there isn't an extra folder in there ala "layouts/SDAMAX/SDAMAX"

If you find that there is an extra SDAMAX folder in the original SDAMAX folder... just move it's contents up to the first SDAMAX folder.


Let me know if that helps.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2019, 09:48:35 PM by FrizzleFried »
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (updated 04-28-19)

gleegum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: SDAMax
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2019, 01:59:58 PM »

Make sure that the zip file expanded directly in to the folder...

IE: make sure that LAYOUT.NUT is in the "layouts/SDAMAX" folder  and there isn't an extra folder in there ala "layouts/SDAMAX/SDAMAX"

If you find that there is an extra SDAMAX folder in the original SDAMAX folder... just move it's contents up to the first SDAMAX folder.


Let me know if that helps.

I've checked the folders and they seem ok, I'm attaching a picture. Will keep researching. thanks!
« Last Edit: January 11, 2019, 02:53:43 PM by gleegum »

FrizzleFried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: SDAMax
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2019, 04:18:13 PM »

Make sure that the zip file expanded directly in to the folder...

IE: make sure that LAYOUT.NUT is in the "layouts/SDAMAX" folder  and there isn't an extra folder in there ala "layouts/SDAMAX/SDAMAX"

If you find that there is an extra SDAMAX folder in the original SDAMAX folder... just move it's contents up to the first SDAMAX folder.


Let me know if that helps.

I've checked the folders and they seem ok, I'm attaching a picture. Will keep researching. thanks!

Welp,  that is where it's supposed to be.  It's working on my Pi and my older version of attract mode.  I guess I get to upgrade to see whats going on.

Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (updated 04-28-19)

FrizzleFried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: SDAMax
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2019, 04:38:53 PM »
I can confirm this layout is NOT working on 2.5.1 version of attract-mode... but it works fine on 2.3.0...

Now to figure out why?!?  To be honest,  I have ZERO idea where to even start.  Can anyone chime in as to why a module would work in 2.3.0 fine but 2.5.1 breaks it?

EDIT:  BTW ... the Pi3 version I am using I believe is the version that came our before 2.5.1... and it works.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2019, 04:41:35 PM by FrizzleFried »
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (updated 04-28-19)

FrizzleFried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: SDAMax
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2019, 04:47:27 PM »
Heck,  it appears that the new version breaks my SDArcade layout... as well as the older versions of it as well...

At this point,  unless someone can help me determine what is broken,  your only option would be to use an older version of Attract-Mode.

:(

Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (updated 04-28-19)