Author Topic: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3  (Read 120790 times)

Graboid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #510 on: January 06, 2017, 01:47:23 AM »
I've just seen this, so will give it a go.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3pzxL7dKqUA

Not Big Fan of the skin - RP 4.1.3 + AM 2.2.0

After installing it I'm not a fan either. I switched back to Robospin_V4.
It gave me a solid build with mmal support straight out of the image. Now I've started configuring to how I want it.

Omamez

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 222
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #511 on: January 06, 2017, 07:30:32 AM »
you have a valid point

cyborgcnc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3: CACHED KEY Press Fixed!
« Reply #512 on: January 10, 2017, 08:45:26 AM »
Last night some changes were pushed to Attract Mode's source code that fix the cached keypress issue. Maybe we can get a v.6 image that incorporates the fixes.

I went ahead and re-compiled Attract Mode from the update source code and it seems to be working great. My issues playing some of the videos have also disappeared.

Guys, first post here, but the cached key press key can be fixed, in the latest version of Attract mode, and the latest version of Retro-Pi....

The problem with this was in sfml-pi.  This is also why the issue would not show up if using X....but if not using X, it would. You need to upgrade the images, and then it will be OK....

https://github.com/mickelson/attract/wiki/Compiling-on-the-Raspberry-Pi-%28Raspbian-Jessie%29

Follow the instructions to clone SFML-pi and then to compile attract mode.  After you do this, you can also upgrade Retropie to all the latest.

Fire it up, and the issue will be gone.  Did this last night, and I could not be happier with it now!  This is by far the best front end for Pi in my opinion.....

Specifically:

sudo apt-get install cmake libflac-dev libogg-dev libvorbis-dev libopenal-dev libjpeg62-turbo-dev libfreetype6-dev  libudev-dev libfontconfig1-dev

then:

cd ~/develop
git clone --depth 1 https://github.com/mickelson/sfml-pi sfml-pi
mkdir sfml-pi/build;cd sfml-pi/build
cmake .. -DSFML_RPI=1 -DEGL_INCLUDE_DIR=/opt/vc/include -DEGL_LIBRARY=/opt/vc/lib/libEGL.so -DGLES_INCLUDE_DIR=/opt/vc/include -DGLES_LIBRARY=/opt/vc/lib/libGLESv1_CM.so
sudo make install
sudo ldconfig


« Last Edit: January 10, 2017, 08:48:36 AM by cyborgcnc »

Gioacchino87

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #513 on: January 18, 2017, 08:45:41 AM »
hi guys, i'm with v0.5 builds, how can update AM?


Gioacchino87

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3: CACHED KEY Press Fixed!
« Reply #514 on: January 20, 2017, 09:47:55 AM »

Specifically:

sudo apt-get install cmake libflac-dev libogg-dev libvorbis-dev libopenal-dev libjpeg62-turbo-dev libfreetype6-dev  libudev-dev libfontconfig1-dev

then:

cd ~/develop
git clone --depth 1 https://github.com/mickelson/sfml-pi sfml-pi
mkdir sfml-pi/build;cd sfml-pi/build
cmake .. -DSFML_RPI=1 -DEGL_INCLUDE_DIR=/opt/vc/include -DEGL_LIBRARY=/opt/vc/lib/libEGL.so -DGLES_INCLUDE_DIR=/opt/vc/include -DGLES_LIBRARY=/opt/vc/lib/libGLESv1_CM.so
sudo make install
sudo ldconfig

i did this command yesterday night, it's ok to update am to 2.1?

Matt68061

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #515 on: January 20, 2017, 10:59:40 PM »
What a great image. I finally have all the kinks worked out on a simple setup that is using ONLY Adv Mame emulator with about 50 games booting directly into Attract Mode.
 Latest image, latest AM updates.
I can not get the high scores in AdvMame to save.  I am pretty sure that I have the right dat file and also pretty sure that I am just placing the file in the wrong folder? Can someone point me in the right direction?

Also, is there a way to disable these boxes that comes up before and after the games load / play? (Pics attached)

Thanks...I had no luck with the search function.

Setti

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #516 on: January 24, 2017, 05:19:03 AM »
You can remove the startup message by editing runcommand.cfg
/opt/retropie/configs/all/

Add the following:
disable_menu = "1"

Setti

sasdj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #517 on: January 27, 2017, 06:12:58 AM »
hi i installed your v0.5
works fine ,but videos sometimes work then not , keep freezing , still can here sound but no video
also changed the intro video, and that do same

could anyone  please help

thanks

Floob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #518 on: January 27, 2017, 12:34:42 PM »
hi i installed your v0.5
works fine ,but videos sometimes work then not , keep freezing , still can here sound but no video
also changed the intro video, and that do same

could anyone  please help

thanks

http://forum.attractmode.org/index.php?topic=1249.0
RetroPie Help Guides: https://goo.gl/3gcNsT

^F117^

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #519 on: March 02, 2017, 10:18:28 AM »
I have this 2 errors.. any ideas? first start. Pi3

http://i63.tinypic.com/o7lklj.jpg
http://i67.tinypic.com/28wngq9.jpg

^F117^

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #520 on: March 03, 2017, 11:27:02 AM »
I'm stuck here, really i don't understand how to start the attract mode menu.

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 745
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #521 on: May 06, 2017, 04:40:17 PM »
It is just as it says..press the TAB key. You MUST have a keyboard connected to the pi to set up AM for the first time. You need to generate a list for your emulator THEN attract mode will work. If you have already done this..then press left or right to scroll you your new list. That first menu is the setup menu.

Also if you want to set up your controller (and you will need to) then you need to "launch emulationstation to configure controls"

more help here:

https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1DRJs3I8FqQ
People want life easy..then complain about it

flexfulton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Raspberry Pi Image for Pi 2 and Pi 3
« Reply #522 on: October 12, 2017, 07:40:35 AM »
I know it's a long shot but does anyone know how to get rid of the glGetError 0x500 that flashes up on the screen before every game is launched?  I know it has no effect on the functionality of attract mode but the error getting displayed is the only thing preventing me from having a completely clean set up with no text or anything pi related.

I have done this

12. How can I get rid of the terminal/console text I see when I launch a game or exit a game? Check out this post http://forum.attractmode.org/index.php?topic=1642.0.

However if I use the Retropie Script at all that screen will always flash up when launching a game until I do a reboot.

Any help, insight, tips or ways to get this cleaned up would be greatly appreciated.

I'm running the latest version, installed from scratch from the Retropie Experimental options.

Thank you!