Author Topic: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators  (Read 2306 times)

Stevep

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« on: July 03, 2017, 06:15:59 PM »
I've been trying to add these 2 emulators with no success. The config is easy enough to setup but neither emulator works. For example sega 32x doesn't even see my roms when trying to generate a romlist. I've checked the paths and file extensions and they're correct.
Sega cd is really a weird one...On first try I set up the config and created a romlist. When trying to launch a game it boots me back into attrack mode with an error code " can't get error 500"...at least that's what I think it said...it displays only for a second..so I decided to delete the emulator and start over only to get the same results with one weird difference...when I create the romlist and go back out to the system wheel I now have two Sega CDs ...one with the roms and one without....either way I still can't get the games to boot....any suggestions??

hermine.potter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 452
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2017, 10:39:46 PM »
@Stevep
post your config of your emulator system.
AM Version : 2.4.0
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : WindowsXP x86 SP3
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 4GB RAM
Emulators : zsnes; mame; dosbox; scummvm; bsnes; fusion; openbor; windows_games; winuae; video; flashgames; vice; visualboy

Stevep

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2017, 06:36:40 AM »
Apparently I'm either looking in the wrong directory or something else is going on. I navigate to /home/pi/attract/emulators. The Sega CD .cfg file isn't there although I added it in the config menu under "add emulator". Is it created somewhere else on the tree?

Stevep

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2017, 07:11:15 AM »
After my last post I had a thought. I went into retropie setup,removed and reinstalled lr- picodrive. When going back in to attrack mode I checked /home/pi/.attrack/ emulators and there it was...but it still won't boot games..It flashes "g1 get error 0x500"

akafox

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 800
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2017, 09:57:29 AM »
you need bioses for the 32X and sega cd in the /home/pi/bios/ folder
People want life easy..then complain about it

Stevep

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2017, 09:02:21 PM »
I'm pretty sure the bios is present but I'll have to check. I have multiple sd cards and things can get confusing....you know what I mean...

Stevep

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2017, 08:23:52 AM »
I checked for the BIOS this morning and sure enough they were missing....loaded em in and presto!...I must have loaded them in on a previous install....too many sd cards...to little time...thanks again for your help!

gema

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2019, 04:22:32 AM »
Hi, I want to play again Sega 32X games but now on my mobile android phone and someone to recommend some good emulator for that purpose?

hermine.potter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 452
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2019, 09:37:10 PM »
@ gema
What has been tried?
I think, that attract mode frontend won't work on android system.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2019, 09:38:45 PM by hermine.potter »
AM Version : 2.4.0
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : WindowsXP x86 SP3
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 4GB RAM
Emulators : zsnes; mame; dosbox; scummvm; bsnes; fusion; openbor; windows_games; winuae; video; flashgames; vice; visualboy

gema

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2019, 10:22:32 AM »
Can you suggest some emulators from this website (link removed) because I downloaded the games from the same site? It would be nice.

Moderator note:
I understand that it was a link to emulators..but again it links to rom files as well. That is not allowed on almost ANY forum!
« Last Edit: September 03, 2019, 03:14:18 PM by akafox »

xbs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2019, 01:20:33 PM »
RetroArch

akafox

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 800
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« Reply #11 on: September 03, 2019, 03:18:49 PM »
@gema I have to agree with xbs there retroarch would be your best bet for sega CD and 32X. Note though you may have trouble with 32x on some phones. Sega CD works well on my phone though from retroarch using the Genesis GX or picodrive cores. Don't forget you'll need BIOS files for both of those systems
People want life easy..then complain about it

muro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2019, 08:57:25 AM »
Expect RetroArch is there any other emulator for playing the Sega 32x games. I found the Kega Fusion Emulator and someone to know is it good or bad for playing ROMs on PC.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2019, 10:03:42 AM by muro »

hermine.potter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 452
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble addingSega CD and Sega 32x emulators
« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2019, 09:33:56 AM »
@ muro
You did not tell us, which OS you use.
See ratings and description
here
here
here
AM Version : 2.4.0
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : WindowsXP x86 SP3
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 4GB RAM
Emulators : zsnes; mame; dosbox; scummvm; bsnes; fusion; openbor; windows_games; winuae; video; flashgames; vice; visualboy