Author Topic: Arcadeflow theme v 5.7 [Release] Updated 11 October 2019  (Read 58776 times)

dukpoki

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #405 on: June 04, 2019, 09:29:16 AM »

Here you go.  Same crash again switching to "Arcade".

I see. To save my mind from a nervous breakdown I've cooked a layout that disables completely all features related to using Arcadeflow as Displays Menu. I suggest you try this new stripped down layout, set your displays menu layout as "Default" in the options, and set Attract Mode to start in "Last selected (Default)" instead of Displays Menu.

Please let me know if, at least, this solves the Arcade library issue (you might need to run it a couple of times)

EDIT: I see something strange in your log: it seems the selected filter index is 2, but the filters array is of size 2, so filter index should only be 0 or 1, not 2. I don't know how this can happen but I'll add a check to avoid it

Okay perhaps there was a communication error.  I have not been using Arcadeflow as a display menu.  I have always had it disabled i.e. it was always at "Last selected (Default)"--that is if we are talking about Tab->General->Startup Mode->Show Last Selection (Default).  What I have been doing was going all the way up past the flyers, then the "Utility Menu" comes up and then I switch systems via the "Display" option.

Good news is with the new layout.nut (the one where you disabled "all features related to using Arcadeflow as Displays Menu"), switching to Arcade via that Utility Menu seems to work now without crashing.

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #406 on: June 04, 2019, 01:46:20 PM »
Okay perhaps there was a communication error.  I have not been using Arcadeflow as a display menu.  I have always had it disabled i.e. it was always at "Last selected (Default)"--that is if we are talking about Tab->General->Startup Mode->Show Last Selection (Default).  What I have been doing was going all the way up past the flyers, then the "Utility Menu" comes up and then I switch systems via the "Display" option.

I know, but most of the issues are related to code that I added to manage displays menu, so I wanted to strip it to the bare bones.

Quote
Good news is with the new layout.nut (the one where you disabled "all features related to using Arcadeflow as Displays Menu"), switching to Arcade via that Utility Menu seems to work now without crashing.

Well that's a relief, now I only need to rewrite all the displays menu part of the code :D

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #407 on: June 04, 2019, 01:47:40 PM »
That seems to solve the other issues for now at least. :) And I like that the boxart/screenshot switch saves your choice per system, really nice.

Great, believe it or not, I'm testing 4.6 on my Macbook Pro and it works flawlessly in displays menu mode. Well I'll rewrite the displays menu portion anyway

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #408 on: June 05, 2019, 06:19:50 AM »
Working on a new displays menu for AF 4.7, without having to use the layout as displays menu layout, but wanting something a bit richer than a bland list, I've coded this draft: the usual displays menu with a scrolling artwork list, which uses titles and artwork from the menu-art folder.

Enkak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #409 on: June 05, 2019, 07:34:06 AM »
Looks better than the default menu. :) Hopefully you can also solve the issues with Display Menu code because it looks great here in 4.5 with the option of 1 row horizontal. :)

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #410 on: June 05, 2019, 07:37:31 AM »
Looks better than the default menu. :) Hopefully you can also solve the issues with Display Menu code because it looks great here in 4.5. with the option of 1 row horizontal. :)

Well that will be very hard, it seems I'm having lots of issues when the layout is reloaded (even in 4.5 sometimes), for example when reloading the layout after rotation toggle :/ If I can get an option to switch displays without reloading the layout I'll implement something that looks like AF for displays but is in fact something overlayed on top of the layout itself. That would be faster and safer.

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #411 on: June 05, 2019, 08:00:08 AM »
If someone is interested in beta-testing the new displays menu layout it can be loaded here, just substitute the 4.6 layout.nut with this one

Enkak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #412 on: June 05, 2019, 08:09:13 AM »
First 11 systems the image show up on the right. The next 11 (I have 22 including the exit AM one) don't show the picture on the right.

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #413 on: June 05, 2019, 08:11:44 AM »
First 11 systems the image show up on the right. The next 11 (I have 22 including the exit AM one) don't show the picture on the right.

Well it's 50% good :D Can you tell me the file names of the pictures not showing? Right now it expects the wheel to be a .png file, while the snapshot can be a ".jpg" (which is cropped square) or a ".png" which is centered...

Enkak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #414 on: June 05, 2019, 08:31:51 AM »
The snaps are all ".jpg" and named the same as the systems inside \menu-art\snap. The wheels are ".png" in \menu-art\wheel. Basically they stop showing up at 50% of the displays order. ??? The last one that shows the picture is Sony PlayStation, then Sony PlayStation 2 and all the others next don't show. Maybe something in the code is limiting the number, like show at most 11 systems pictures only?

In 4.5 Display Menu it shows good both the snap+wheel for all displays. :)

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #415 on: June 05, 2019, 08:44:54 AM »
Maybe something in the code is limiting the number, like show at most 11 systems pictures only?

"Maybe" I used the wrong index to loop through the displays so it only rendered half of them, but didn't notice because I only had images for the first in the list :D Fixed

Enkak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #416 on: June 05, 2019, 09:00:13 AM »
First time all seemed good except the "Exit Attract-Mode" snap+wheel not showing but that is probably on purpose in the code? Now, after exiting AM the first time it didn't launch anymore. :o Then after some more tries launched again and next time stopped launching again. ??? Crazy stuff ;D

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #417 on: June 05, 2019, 10:34:26 AM »
Crazy stuff indeed, even the stripped down version sometimes crashes, even on my Mac. I’ll have to check previous versions, the only thing that changed is the way snaps are updated: not with index offset or rawest index offset, but with explicit file_name calls and get_art functions. Maybe this is stressing attract mode too much. I’ll look into it deeply

Enkak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #418 on: June 05, 2019, 10:58:04 AM »
In version 4.5 things seems to be working good without those crash issues or others. The only thing I notice compared to other themes is that Arcadeflow taxes the CPU/GPU more. Main computer handles the theme well, but on a older computer here Arcadeflow moves in slow motion but it could be a drivers problem since it's not my computer and has an older AMD card.

dukpoki

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.6 [Release] Updated 24 May 2019
« Reply #419 on: June 05, 2019, 10:59:36 AM »
So i was messing around with the different options.  I didn't even realize you could do a single row until Enkak mentioned it earlier.  It's great...except for one fact:  you can only have 3 games showing at one time.  What that means, is all the pictures are gigantic.  Is it possible to have 5 games on the screen for a single row, the same way a double row would look?

Here's a mockup screen I did.  I also added white borders to the unselected games and minimized the on screen texts so it's way less cluttered.  I would personally love a minimal design option like this but what are your thoughts on it?  P.s. I know it makes it look more and more like "Ambience" especially once it transitions to playing a video file but since it doesn't look like Oomek will ever release it, you would be doing a favor for the whole community designing a similar alt version considering how many people are clamoring for it.  :P