Author Topic: How do you set up individual consoles with MAME?  (Read 312 times)

progets

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 574
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up individual consoles with MAME?
« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2018, 12:18:28 AM »
You can read here to determine the best method to get the correct mame.xml file to suit your needs. http://docs.mamedev.org/commandline/commandline-all.html

You can read here about how to import mame, mamewah, hyperspin and other xml files to your AM romlists. This might be what you want if you don't want any check against the actual rom files. https://github.com/mickelson/attract/blob/v2.3.0/Readme.md You can use complete romlists in AM and use an "if file exists" filter to only display the games for roms you actually have.

I mentioned Romlister above which you can find here. https://www.waste.org/~winkles/ROMLister/

As far as the mame chd files go, why even tell AM about these? There should be a .zip file for each of them and if MAME is setup properly they don't need to be configured in AM. I assume these are really duplicate entries because you have the <dir> extension defined. If not, you can always use an app like excel to reorder these games.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2018, 12:30:39 AM by progets »

krick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up individual consoles with MAME?
« Reply #16 on: June 28, 2018, 10:14:26 AM »
Thanks for all your help. I'll definitely check out all the resources you linked.

As far as the mame chd files go, why even tell AM about these? There should be a .zip file for each of them and if MAME is setup properly they don't need to be configured in AM. I assume these are really duplicate entries because you have the <dir> extension defined. If not, you can always use an app like excel to reorder these games.

I'll admit that I don't totally understand the emulator configuration options within Attract Mode but I'm slowly figuring it out with your help.  I assumed (incorrectly) that Attract Mode needed the same ROM paths as my mame.ini and that's obviously wrong (now).

I basically used the default MAME config that comes with Attract Mode and modified with my paths.  This is what I had...
Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.3.0
#
executable           c:/mame/mame64.exe
args                 [name]
rompath              e:/MAME 0.198 ROMs (merged);e:/MAME 0.198 CHDs (merged)
romext               .zip;.7z;<DIR>
system               Arcade
info_source          listxml
artwork    flyer           
artwork    marquee         
artwork    snap            e:/MAME 0.198 EXTRAs snap
artwork    wheel           

And this is what it looks like now (which no longer has the list of CHDs at the end).  Not sure if I still need  system = Arcade  though.  I think probably not...
Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.3.0
#
executable           c:/mame/mame64.exe
args                 [name]
rompath              e:/MAME 0.198 ROMs (merged)
romext               .zip
system               Arcade
info_source          listxml
artwork    flyer           
artwork    marquee         
artwork    snap            e:/MAME 0.198 EXTRAs snap
artwork    wheel           

The only remaining oddity is this one game (worldadv) floating at the end of the list for some reason.  Not sure where that's coming from.  Maybe it doesn't have a proper description in MAME's listxml output or something....
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

progets

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 574
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up individual consoles with MAME?
« Reply #17 on: June 28, 2018, 11:38:01 PM »
And this is what it looks like now (which no longer has the list of CHDs at the end).  Not sure if I still need  system = Arcade  though.  I think probably not...
Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.3.0
#
executable           c:/mame/mame64.exe
args                 [name]
rompath              e:/MAME 0.198 ROMs (merged)
romext               .zip
system               Arcade
info_source          listxml
artwork    flyer           
artwork    marquee         
artwork    snap            e:/MAME 0.198 EXTRAs snap
artwork    wheel           
The "system Arcade" setting is only used if you're using thegamesdb.net to scrape game info and/or artwork.

The only remaining oddity is this one game (worldadv) floating at the end of the list for some reason.  Not sure where that's coming from.  Maybe it doesn't have a proper description in MAME's listxml output or something....
When you see a MAME game like this it's because no data was found for the game (using what ever method you have specified in the emulator.cfg).