Author Topic: Mame not getting focus when lauching from AM in anything but Window-Mode  (Read 2019 times)

raygun

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 383
    • View Profile
Re: Mame not getting focus when lauching from AM in anything but Window-Mode
« Reply #15 on: November 30, 2018, 09:19:23 PM »
Hi MachoMan22,
 
I've made another update to try to fix the issue you have reported.  Would you mind testing the build of attract-mode linked below and let me know your results?  Make sure you set the "Window Mode" to "Fill Screen (Default)" when testing this out.  Thanks!

32-bit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1mTufcjRpDeF6v-UJVwszp10q2nLR5PO-/view?usp=sharing

64-bit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1IYvUVaeT2BvyrJNPPmtVS4-mg5jTbI6P/view?usp=sharing

rand0m

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 197
    • View Profile
Re: Mame not getting focus when lauching from AM in anything but Window-Mode
« Reply #16 on: December 01, 2018, 11:10:07 PM »
Hi MachoMan22,
 
I've made another update to try to fix the issue you have reported.  Would you mind testing the build of attract-mode linked below and let me know your results?  Make sure you set the "Window Mode" to "Fill Screen (Default)" when testing this out.  Thanks!

32-bit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1mTufcjRpDeF6v-UJVwszp10q2nLR5PO-/view?usp=sharing

64-bit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1IYvUVaeT2BvyrJNPPmtVS4-mg5jTbI6P/view?usp=sharing

(Not directly related to thread, sorry)

Hi, I was facing a different problem of AM screen blinking once when starting or changing focus back to AM (like exiting emulator or alt-tabbing) on Win 8.1 x64, the blinking problem persisted on all window modes. The AM file linked here fixes that issue. Please incorporate the fixes in upcoming releases. Thanks!

Can I keep using this fixed version instead of regular 2.5.1 or wait for an official release? I also made a bug fix request #487 about the flickering/ blinking issue.

https://github.com/mickelson/attract/issues/487

deanobirko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Mame not getting focus when lauching from AM in anything but Window-Mode
« Reply #17 on: December 06, 2018, 01:31:30 AM »
If its win 10 theres a setting in Registry...

HKEY_CURRENT_USER > CONTROL PANEL > DESKTOP > FOREGROUNDLOCKTIMEOUT

Change the value of foregroundlocktimeout to 0 and that solved the problem for me.  The window was popping under instead of over and this fixed it.

mondaiji

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Mame not getting focus when lauching from AM in anything but Window-Mode
« Reply #18 on: December 07, 2018, 02:32:49 AM »
I had an issue with any version after attract-v2.4.0-win64 AttactMode would not switch to GroovyMAME correctly.

I downloaded and tested attract-v2.5.1-1-win64b and it works fine.

Thankyou Raygun.

nickblame

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Mame not getting focus when lauching from AM in anything but Window-Mode
« Reply #19 on: February 23, 2019, 03:55:10 AM »
Hi MachoMan22,
 
I've made another update to try to fix the issue you have reported.  Would you mind testing the build of attract-mode linked below and let me know your results?  Make sure you set the "Window Mode" to "Fill Screen (Default)" when testing this out.  Thanks!

32-bit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1mTufcjRpDeF6v-UJVwszp10q2nLR5PO-/view?usp=sharing

64-bit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1IYvUVaeT2BvyrJNPPmtVS4-mg5jTbI6P/view?usp=sharing

I'd like to also confirm that this version fixed the issue for me.

I'm using a windows 8.1 embedded with a Ati 4670HD with it's latest driver which is off course old. I had the same issue with attract-mode staying on top of MAME and I had to press alt tab to get it fixed. This beta version is now fine for me.
Thanks!

Rupert H

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Hi, I'm still having this exact problem using Windows 7 Pro, GroovyMAME64 2.06 d3dex non-nag with Attract Mode 2.5.1.

raygun, did the changes you made in the later version patches also apply to Windows 7? It used to run fine when I was using AM 2.3 with GroovyMAME 1.93 a few years back but with my current build it refuses to switch from AM to GM in anything other than "windowed" mode.

amnesia

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
I just wanted to chime in, and tell that the "*-1" version also helped my problems.

Running Windows 10 with Intel graphics, I only got a black screen when running a MAME game. It worked fine, until i installed the Intel driver, but thereafter it was as mentioned.

Again, this solved it - so the WIN10/Intel graphics driver is probably bad in regards to some versions of AM - working like a charm now :-)

Tapper

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
The 251-1 build seems to fix it for me! FWIW I'm on Windows 10 with a nvidia 1080.