Author Topic: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.1)  (Read 3167 times)

rand0m

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.0.0)
« Reply #15 on: April 15, 2019, 02:14:43 AM »
Chicuelo Mix Complete v1.1.0 Released!

    1. Added some new system flyers/ controllers images which were added in original theme by Chicuelo.
    2. Added an indicator bar/ progress bar on left of gamelist.
    3. Arrow blink effect was not working with gamepad input, fixed that.
    4. Tweaked some items on Trigger.EndNavigation for better performance. Couldn't get most text items on End.Navigation as they were derieved from functions and code refused to work with them :D perhaps in next version.

Warning Please don't paste this on top of a pre-configured Attract-Mode installation as it will overwrite files. It is mainly for fresh installation of Attract-Mode (which is portable thus you can have any number of installations on single rig) where you paste it on top of Attract-Mode and have everything in order and configured.

If you only want the layout/ theme then "layouts/Chicuelo Mix" contains everything needed by the layout to work so you paste this folder in "AM/layouts".

Link: https://github.com/randombyt/Chicuelo-Mix/releases

[Note: Kiel's was very helpful in getting the arrow effect to work with both keyboard and gamepad input! TY]
« Last Edit: April 15, 2019, 02:16:57 AM by rand0m »

Enkak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.0)
« Reply #16 on: April 15, 2019, 04:56:20 AM »
Thank you for the new update. :)

Noticed that arrow blink effect doesn't work if you use the d-pad, only with the analog button.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2019, 04:59:56 AM by Enkak »

rand0m

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.0)
« Reply #17 on: April 15, 2019, 07:07:58 AM »
Thank you for the new update. :)

Noticed that arrow blink effect doesn't work if you use the d-pad, only with the analog button.

Thanks, please copy the following code and paste it in place of original (starts at line 45) and check if it works:

Code: [Select]
function tick_up(ttime){
    (fe.get_input_state("Up") || fe.get_input_state("Joy0 Up") || fe.get_input_state("Joy0 PovYpos")) ? image_up.visible = true : image_up.visible = false;
}

function tick_down(ttime){
    (fe.get_input_state("Down") || fe.get_input_state("Joy0 Down") || fe.get_input_state("Joy0 PovYneg")) ? image_down.visible = true : image_down.visible = false;
}

Enkak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.0)
« Reply #18 on: April 15, 2019, 07:41:14 AM »
I can confirm that it works now with the updated code that you gave, both with d-pad and analog. :)

A quick question: what's the difference between DisplayType and DisplayName?

I ask because in the new version of the theme, in layout_games.nut, for the system logos you have DisplayType in line 55 and noticed that the system logo didn't appear in the frontend. But if I change it to DisplayName the logo appears as it should near the games story.

Cheers and thank you again for all your efforts. :)

rand0m

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.0)
« Reply #19 on: April 15, 2019, 08:01:18 AM »
I can confirm that it works now with the updated code that you gave, both with d-pad and analog. :)

A quick question: what's the difference between DisplayType and DisplayName?

I ask because in the new version of the theme, in layout_games.nut, for the system logos you have DisplayType in line 55 and noticed that the system logo didn't appear in the frontend. But if I change it to DisplayName the logo appears as it should near the games story.

Cheers and thank you again for all your efforts. :)

TY, released a bug fix version for DisplayType and also added D-Pad support guess it'll come in handy for most of the users.

rand0m

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.0)
« Reply #20 on: April 15, 2019, 08:03:35 AM »
Chicuelo Mix Complete v1.1.1 (Bug Fix)

Additions

    - Added arrow effect for D-pad, requested by forum member Enkak. Arrow effect on pressing "Up" or "Down" should now work with Keyboard, gamepad stick and gamepad D-pad.

Bug Fixes

    - Made a mistake in layout_games.nut by calling [DisplayName] instead of [DisplayType]. Thanks to Enkak for find the bug.

Link: https://github.com/randombyt/Chicuelo-Mix/releases

Warning Please don't paste this on top of a pre-configured Attract-Mode installation as it will overwrite files. It is mainly for fresh installation of Attract-Mode (which is portable thus you can have any number of installations on single rig) where you paste it on top of Attract-Mode and have everything in order and configured.

If you only want the layout/ theme then "layouts/Chicuelo Mix" contains everything needed by the layout to work so you should paste this folder in "AM/layouts".
« Last Edit: April 15, 2019, 08:05:53 AM by rand0m »

Enkak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.1)
« Reply #21 on: April 15, 2019, 02:23:35 PM »
No problem and glad to help! :)

Enkak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.1)
« Reply #22 on: May 01, 2019, 04:54:09 PM »
Hi rand0m :)

I'm building here slowly an AM build using your excellent port of Chicuelo. The games part is almost done but I have 2 questions regarding Displays menu:

- Is it possible to make all the information work with a 2 tier menu structure (systems + games) instead of the original 3 tier?

If yes, how can I make the info at the top (example: 1998 - 128-BIT CONSOLE) appear?

- The final question is connected to the information at the bottom. I noticed that system menu tier originally says x games available but that is connected to the number of items/systems in that tier and not to the games available in each system romlist, the logical step. So every time you scroll the number is always the same and not connected at all to the games that are available in the romlists. How can we change that?

PS: I'm using version 1.1.2

Cheers and thank you so much again!

rand0m

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.1)
« Reply #23 on: May 03, 2019, 12:54:54 PM »
1. Two-tier menu is possible but you will have to manually add that info in layout since AM won't be able to grab that info from Arcades/Computers etc romlists. The top info panel, lets call it headline can be added similarly to how platform menu items operate in main layout i.e.

Code: [Select]
//Headlines
function headlines()
{
if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Arcades") return "COIN OPERATED CABINETS";
else if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Computers") return "COMPUTER SYSTEMS";
else if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Consoles") return "CONSOLE SYSTEMS";
else if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Handhelds") return "HANDHELD SYSTEMS";
else if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Favorites") return "FAVORITE GAMES";
else if( fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Collections") return "CUSTOM COLLECTIONS";
else if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Exit Attract-Mode") return "SHUT-DOWN MENU";
else if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) != "Arcades" || "Computers" || "Consoles" || "Handhelds" || "Favorites" || "Collections" || "Exit Attract-Mode" ) return "";
}
local headlines = fe.add_text("[!headlines]", 155, 221, 580, 100);
headlines.font= "Roboto-Medium.ttf";
headlines.align = Align.Centre;
headlines.word_wrap = true;
headlines.charsize = 30;
headlines.set_rgb(129, 129, 129);

Instead of Arcades/ Computers use the "Title" of system directly. e.g. "Arcade (MAME)", "Super Nintendo" and list the System info after "return" like 128 Bit Console etc (you can also add year here, manually).


2- I have not been able to get the "total games in system" to work,  IMHO there is currently no way to get it from AM directly. Perhaps a table with permanent values can be created but that is beyond my skill level. You can manually add "total # of games" in this part of code >

Code: [Select]
function listsize()
{
if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Arcades") return "[ListSize]" + " Systems" + " Available";
else if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Computers") return "[ListSize]" + " Systems" + " Available";
else if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Consoles") return "[ListSize]" + " Systems" + " Available";
else if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Handhelds") return "[ListSize]" + " Systems" + " Available";
else if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Favorites") return "[ListSize]" + " Games" + " Available";
else if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Collections") return "[ListSize]" + " Collections" + " Available";
else if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Exit Attract-Mode") return "";
else if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) != "Arcades" || "Computers" || "Consoles" || "Handhelds" || "Favorites" || "Collections" || "Exit Attract-Mode" ) return "[ListSize]" + " Games" + " Available";
}
local listsize = fe.add_text("[!listsize]", 230, 680, 420, 300);
listsize.font= "Roboto-Medium.ttf";
listsize.align = Align.Centre;
listsize.word_wrap = true;
listsize.charsize = 30;
listsize.set_rgb(79, 81, 89);

In place or [ListSize] use actual number e.g. if a System with Title Super Nintendo has 200 roms then:

Code: [Select]
if (fe.game_info( Info.Title ) == "Super Nintendo") return "200" + " Games" + " Available";
Best of luck with your build :D

Enkak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.1)
« Reply #24 on: May 03, 2019, 03:16:06 PM »
Hi rand0m and thank you so much for reply and all the hints. Will start doing more tests. :) 

In this print from a few days ago I added art and info for PC games and opted to take out the bottom info at the time until a better solution arrived, in this case your hints and instructions. Can't wait to test it and share some results. It really looks so nice and clean the theme, really love it. :)

PS: I'm noticing something peculiar when I use Chicuelo prominently. The display menu stops remembering the last system selected when you quit AM and most times it chooses a random system when I go back to AM. Maybe just a coincidence? Is there a way in AM to reset display menu memory just in case for testing?

Enkak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.1)
« Reply #25 on: May 06, 2019, 10:24:54 AM »
After following your instructions everything is working good and look as expected, thanks again rand0m. :)

A quick question. Was searching a little more about that idea of scrolling text for titles and overview text. Did some failing tests with scrollingtext module/object. Well, the title text at least scrolled but not where the Titles are  ;D
So, would be possible to use something like scrollingtext module/object for that purpose?

I wish I could understand better squirrel +_+

rand0m

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.1)
« Reply #26 on: May 07, 2019, 11:32:22 PM »
Hi rand0m and thank you so much for reply and all the hints. Will start doing more tests. :) 

In this print from a few days ago I added art and info for PC games and opted to take out the bottom info at the time until a better solution arrived, in this case your hints and instructions. Can't wait to test it and share some results. It really looks so nice and clean the theme, really love it. :)

PS: I'm noticing something peculiar when I use Chicuelo prominently. The display menu stops remembering the last system selected when you quit AM and most times it chooses a random system when I go back to AM. Maybe just a coincidence? Is there a way in AM to reset display menu memory just in case for testing?

This happened to me too after I added collections and custom favorites. Its just a hunch but I think if an item is listed in multiple places AM exhibits this behavior (not returning to parent folder).
« Last Edit: May 07, 2019, 11:40:56 PM by rand0m »

Enkak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.1)
« Reply #27 on: May 08, 2019, 11:49:41 AM »
I tried again looking for that but no collections and favorites here. Also deleting some leftover display info didn't work. +_+ I will try creating a clean standalone AM build with only a 2 tier Chicuelo version to see if it works normal as it should without that behavior.

Enkak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Chicuelo Mix Theme Release (v1.1.1)
« Reply #28 on: May 13, 2019, 11:26:14 AM »
Hi rand0m and thank you so much for reply and all the hints. Will start doing more tests. :) 

In this print from a few days ago I added art and info for PC games and opted to take out the bottom info at the time until a better solution arrived, in this case your hints and instructions. Can't wait to test it and share some results. It really looks so nice and clean the theme, really love it. :)

PS: I'm noticing something peculiar when I use Chicuelo prominently. The display menu stops remembering the last system selected when you quit AM and most times it chooses a random system when I go back to AM. Maybe just a coincidence? Is there a way in AM to reset display menu memory just in case for testing?

This happened to me too after I added collections and custom favorites. Its just a hunch but I think if an item is listed in multiple places AM exhibits this behavior (not returning to parent folder).

Found the culprit finally. In main custom build for testing I had 2 displays with the options:
in_cycle             no
in_menu              no

I created those two systems displays before deciding to put their romlists together in Arcade.
Them remembered that in other clean build those systems had same options to "yes" or simply not there.
So deleting those displays in attract.cfg in custom test build or options to "yes" made the Display menu back to normal.