Author Topic: automatic coins  (Read 1663 times)

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 745
    • View Profile
automatic coins
« on: August 06, 2015, 08:00:20 PM »
would it be difficult to write a script to make it so that as soon as the mame game is launched coins are automatically "inserted"? Yes I know that takes away the arcadeness...but for those that don't have a cab it wouldn't matter much. I know that some games can be set to free play but not all of them can. Good idea? Bad idea? I do not know enough squirrel yet to make a script like that..anyone up for the challenge?
People want life easy..then complain about it

checkist

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: automatic coins
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2015, 09:26:24 PM »
One possible alternative is to set "coin" and "start" to the same key.

Then, pressing 'coin/start' key 1~2 times will eventually start the game

tomek

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
    • About Me
Re: automatic coins
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2015, 03:20:31 AM »
I don't think that knowing squirrel will help you at all. AP is basically a fancy user interface used to start an emulator. That's it. Once the emulator is running there is no communication if any kind between the front end and the emulator. So in short, there is no way to do what you want with AM + MAME.

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 745
    • View Profile
Re: automatic coins
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2015, 06:45:12 AM »
Yeah I know. *sigh* I had to ask though. it'll have to be a "wrapper" type program. I was using a program called closeemu in windows. It was called by the front end to load first that would call itself before launching the emulator..basically it mapped made the esc key to close the emulators that would not close with esc. (The front end did not have a hotkey option.) The program did other things as well..but I only used it for that really. Two threads of interest:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,96878.0.html or
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,47627.80.html

I wonder if mame itself could be patched...wonder how the devs would feel about that....
Headkaze made a program..but I think he got "heat" for it. Not sure why.
People want life easy..then complain about it

kayser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: automatic coins
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2015, 08:36:02 AM »
I have made a script for windows users that do that every time you enter a game will send credits (coins)  to the game 2 i think (made it long time ago) and if reachs 0 will send more automaticlly , i will look for and post it here but remenber is for winodws users only...
« Last Edit: August 07, 2015, 02:28:09 PM by kayser »

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 745
    • View Profile
Re: automatic coins
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2015, 03:48:57 PM »
Thanks for that kayser! Windows is not a problem. Tell me how it works a little more when you get the chance please.
People want life easy..then complain about it

michel almeida

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: automatic coins
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2015, 10:43:32 AM »
I liked that idea does have a way with a script made in autoit
the front end will send a command to the script lilha
to call the correct rom emulator + will accelerate and send a coin

but the front-end could send one or number two to tell which joytique
precionou the start
in the choice of the game screen should display the amount of coins also