Author Topic: ShmupArch  (Read 15012 times)

lordricker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
ShmupArch
« on: December 04, 2020, 06:58:31 AM »
So in the effort to find a near latency free option for old arcade games (me and dad both agree that sometimes the galaga ship just doesnt shoot when you press the button or similar effects on other games on  mame) i tried shmupmame and it did not give results like we were wanting.

I have now stumbled upon ShmupArch which has some powerful latency options and pacman feels like butter on it. Unfortunately i tried setting it up on attractmode like i had with the mame versions but it just shows a black screen for a second or two then back to game select.

Has anyone tried shmuparch (or i think retroarch is basically the same backend) on attractmode and got it to work?
nevato theme on attractmode just looks so nice.

hermine.potter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 767
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2020, 12:07:31 PM »
Please tell us the commandline arguments (with full paths) to start a romfile.
so we can get it to AM.
AM Version : 2.6.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : Windows10 Pro
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 12GB RAM

lordricker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2020, 07:25:14 PM »
not completely sure what that means. this is the config file for shmup arch in attract mode
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.0
#
executable           C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\retroarch.exe
args                 [name]
rompath              C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\roms
romext               .zip;.7z
system               Arcade
info_source          listxml
artwork    marquee         C:\mame\shmupmame42_64bit\marquee
artwork    snap            C:\mame\shmupmame42_64bit\snap
artwork    wheel           C:\mame\shmupmame42_64bit\wheel

the roms folder is inside the second ShmupArch 6 folder

hermine.potter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 767
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2020, 11:42:37 PM »
I think, your arguments are not correct.
because of space in foldername (ShmupArch 6) this should do it:
args                 "[romfilename]"


maybe this too:
executable          "C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\retroarch.exe"


if not:
start CMD / commandline / command prompt : Here

Are you able to start a romfile from there?
"C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\retroarch.exe" "C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\roms\your_example_game123.zip"

if not : what is the correct command to start it from there?
AM Version : 2.6.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : Windows10 Pro
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 12GB RAM

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1274
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2020, 01:49:54 AM »
You need to tell retroarch which core to use. You should also tell it to run in full screen.

something like this
Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable       C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\retroarch.exe
args                 -f -L cores\<name_of_core>.dll "[romfilename]"

lordricker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2020, 06:36:50 AM »
So i took the spaces out and now when I start a game in attract mode it opens up the retro arch backend, im not sure how to command it to go to the game selected after that point, I might not be understanding Progets args line. say galaga.zip is the rom, ive tried these
-f -L cores\<fbneo_libretro.dll>.dll "galaga.zip"
-f -L cores\<fbneo_libretro.dll>.dll "[galaga.zip]"
-f -L cores\<fbneo_libretro.dll>.dll [galaga.zip]
all of these produces the original result, black for a sec then back to game select on attract mode

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1274
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2020, 08:51:25 PM »
Try one of these

Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable       C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\retroarch.exe
args                 -f -L cores\fbneo_libretro.dll "[romfilename]"

Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable       C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\retroarch.exe -f -L cores\fbneo_libretro.dll
args                 "[romfilename]"


lordricker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2020, 05:00:51 AM »
so just to be sure, i should type "[romfilename]" or should it actually be the the name of the file i want to play.

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1274
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2020, 11:13:01 AM »
"[romfilename]"

The actual game names will be in the romlist once you generate it.

lordricker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2020, 04:16:38 PM »
ok so i tried both of those to no avail, same issue
i tried out the cmd thing,
retroarch.exe opens up the back end as expected
galaga.zip just opens up the galaga folder

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1274
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2020, 07:22:42 PM »
Try running this from the Windows command line. The goal is to see Galaga run and not see the RetroArch GUI.

Code: [Select]
"C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\retroarch.exe" -f -L "C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\cores\fbneo_libretro.dll" "C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\roms\galaga.zip"

lordricker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2020, 10:08:43 AM »
that command line did open up galaga correctly.
i tried
executable           C:\mame\ShmupArch6\ShmupArch6\retroarch.exe
args                 -f -L "C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\cores\fbneo_libretro.dll" "[romfilename]"

didnt work

hermine.potter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 767
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2020, 12:46:03 PM »
your paths are not correct, because you left the space in path name ("ShmupArch 6" VS "ShmupArch6")

if command line of progets works (or customize to your existing paths and correct folder structure):

executable           "C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\retroarch.exe"
args                  -f -L "C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\cores\fbneo_libretro.dll" "[romfilename]"
rompath              C:\mame\ShmupArch 6\ShmupArch 6\roms
romext               .zip;.7z

generate your collection/romlist again
AM Version : 2.6.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : Windows10 Pro
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 12GB RAM

lordricker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2020, 02:29:17 PM »
yeah i had renamed the shmuparch6 folders to have no spaces
i did try that one and it still does black screen then menu after a few seconds
executable           C:\mame\ShmupArch6\ShmupArch6\retroarch.exe
args                 -f -L "C:\mame\ShmupArch6\ShmupArch6\cores\fbneo_libretro.dll" "[romfilename]"
rompath              C:\mame\ShmupArch6\ShmupArch6\roms
romext               .zip;.7z

just for reference the code that worked in cmd was
C:\>"C:\mame\ShmupArch6\ShmupArch6\retroarch.exe" -f -L "C:\mame\ShmupArch6\ShmupArch6\cores\fbneo_libretro.dll" "C:\mame\ShmupArch6\ShmupArch6\roms\galaga.zip"
just tried it again

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1274
    • View Profile
Re: ShmupArch
« Reply #14 on: December 08, 2020, 04:14:22 PM »
Try these

Code: [Select]
executable           C:\mame\ShmupArch6\ShmupArch6\retroarch.exe
args                 -f -L C:\mame\ShmupArch6\ShmupArch6\cores\fbneo_libretro.dll "[romfilename]"
rompath              C:\mame\ShmupArch6\ShmupArch6\roms
romext               .zip;.7z

Code: [Select]
executable           C:\mame\ShmupArch6\ShmupArch6\retroarch.exe -f -L C:\mame\ShmupArch6\ShmupArch6\cores\fbneo_libretro.dll
args                  "[romfilename]"
rompath              C:\mame\ShmupArch6\ShmupArch6\roms
romext               .zip;.7z