Author Topic: How make MAME load game with diferents names in AttractMode??? Like this:  (Read 6560 times)

gamesmame

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
How to Attract make MAME read the MAME game without using RL

For example ..

I have the game with the name: 2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe) .zip

Using RL MAME Load game normal...





But in Attraction Mode the screen just blinks and the game doesn't appear because if the addresses are right?

# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable M: /Emulators/mameplus/mame.exe
args collection [romname] -skip_gameinfo
rompath M: \ Emulators \ Colecovision \ Colecovision rom
romext .zip; .7z; .col


akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 985
    • View Profile
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable M: /Emulators/mameplus/mame.exe
args collection [romname] -skip_gameinfo
rompath M: \ Emulators \ Colecovision \ Colecovision rom
romext .zip; .7z; .col

Do this:
Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable M: /Emulators/mameplus/mame.exe
args coleco -cart "[romname]" -skip_gameinfo
rompath M: \ Emulators \ Colecovision \ Colecovision rom
romext .zip; .7z; .col

1. Remember the Command line doesn't like spaces. Quotes make it "one thing". (Thus you are sending
Code: [Select]
mame col -cart 2010 to the command line not
Code: [Select]
mame col -cart 2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe) the command line needs the full file name to work correctly.)

2. Note that when using roms with mame they normally do not take the long form (i.e. 2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe) .zip is normally 2010.zip) They can be used of course.

 report back if it worked please
« Last Edit: June 14, 2021, 09:55:03 AM by akafox »
People want life easy..then complain about it

gamesmame

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Do this:
Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable M: /Emulators/mameplus/mame.exe
args collection "[romname]" -skip_gameinfo
rompath M: \ Emulators \ Colecovision \ Colecovision rom
romext .zip; .7z; .col

 report back if it worked please

Dont work =(

I used this:

Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable           M:/Emulators/mameplus/mame.exe
args                 collection "[romname]" -skip_gameinfo
rompath              M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom
romext               .zip;.7z;.col
system               Colecovision

And yes man, i know  ;D games with long name, MAME use other short name... but if works in RL with BIG name MAME loads perfect see?:



i think the Attract can be to it!!! but i dont know how  :-\
« Last Edit: June 14, 2021, 09:54:48 AM by gamesmame »

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 985
    • View Profile
I wasn't finished posting sorry. Please look at the end this post. it should have a corrected (and hopefully working) config file

I noticed your args line was missing needed things. the above should work

I need to ask though do you have your mame.ini set correctly? the rom path? You need to ave that path in your mame.ini file so that mame knows to look there for the roms (I am guessing yes because mame works just fine without AM.)

One other thing:
Code: [Select]
executable M: /Emulators/mameplus/mame.exe
is incorrect...assuming you are on windows..it should be

Code: [Select]
executable M:\Emulators\mameplus\mame.exe
looking further .... your rom path looks incorrect
 
Code: [Select]
rompath M: \ Emulators \ Colecovision \ Colecovision rom
is incorrect syntax

Code: [Select]
rompath "M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom"
the space in your path name...again you need quotes

Your config file should look like this

Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable M:\Emulators\mameplus\mame.exe
args voleco -cart "[romname]" -skip_gameinfo
rompath "M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom"
romext .zip; .7z; .col
« Last Edit: June 14, 2021, 10:09:17 AM by akafox »
People want life easy..then complain about it

gamesmame

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
I wasn't finished posting sorry. Please look at the end this post. it should have a corrected (and hopefully working) config file

I noticed your args line was missing needed things. the above should work

I need to ask though do you have your mame.ini set correctly? the rom path? You need to ave that path in your mame.ini file so that mame knows to look there for the roms (I am guessing yes because mame works just fine without AM.)

Your config file should look like this

Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable M:\Emulators\mameplus\mame.exe
args voleco -cart "[romname]" -skip_gameinfo
rompath "M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom"
romext .zip; .7z; .col

Dont worked with your code =(...

gamesmame

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
With this code

Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable           M:\Emulators\mameplus\mame.exe
args                 coleco "[name]" -skip_gameinfo
rompath              M:\Emulators\mameplus\roms\coleco
romext               .zip;.7z;.col
system               Colecovision

"works" for example if i rename the: 2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe).zip for 2020.zip

BUT i need, this AM/MAME loads with the Big names, exacly with the RL makes MAME loads, like same your see in my printscreens!

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 985
    • View Profile
can you start mame dirrectly from the command line using this?:

open the command line by pressing Windows key+ R and typing"

Code: [Select]
cmd
then

Code: [Select]
cd M:\Emulators\mameplus\
then

Code: [Select]
mame.exe coleco -cart  "M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom\2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe) .col " -skip_gameinfo
(short version open a command line prompt change to your folder that has your mame.exe in it and then try to start it from the command line using the  correct format for mame)

Are you using a front end? I ask because of the picture you sent..it looks like it

Also sorry that is not supposed to be

Code: [Select]
args voleco -cart "[romname]" -skip_gameinfo
it should be

Code: [Select]
args coleco -cart "[romname]" -skip_gameinfo
coleco not voleco (sorry for the typo!)
People want life easy..then complain about it

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 985
    • View Profile
[quote author=gamesmame link=topic=4005.msg27984#msg27984 date=1623692896
"works" for example if i rename the: 2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe).zip for 2020.zip

BUT i need, this AM/MAME loads with the Big names, exacly with the RL makes MAME loads, like same your see in my printscreens!
[/quote]

Hmm...well if you are wanting clean long name in attract mode lists Attract mode will give you the long name when you build the list...

but I think it's something with mame. Let me try with a long name rom...give me just a moment

if you do this:
Code: [Select]
mame coleco -cart "2010 - The Graphic Action Game (1984).zip" it will not work

if you do this:

Code: [Select]
mame coleco -cart "/home/user/.mame/roms/2010 - The Graphic Action Game (1984).zip" it will work

you need to add the full path and rom name including extension

if you can make it run from the command line and give me exactly what you used I can build your config file for you to make it work.. however

Code: [Select]
mame.exe coleco -cart  "M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom\2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe).col" -skip_gameinfo should work remember you need to be in the folder where mame is before you can type that for it to work!

also if your rom is zipped use
Code: [Select]
mame.exe coleco -cart  "M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom\2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe).zip" -skip_gameinfo should work remember you need to be in the folder where mame is before you can type that for it to work!

Note: I am coming from linux you can not use my CLI line!
« Last Edit: June 14, 2021, 11:11:00 AM by akafox »
People want life easy..then complain about it

gamesmame

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
I create one bat with this code here and works:

Code: [Select]
mame coleco -cart  "M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom\2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe).col" -skip_gameinfo
Worked this to:

Code: [Select]
M:\Emulators\mameplus\mame.exe coleco -cart  "M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom\2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe).col" -skip_gameinfo
BUT how i transfer this for AM?
« Last Edit: June 14, 2021, 11:17:06 AM by gamesmame »

gamesmame

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
I use this:

# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable           M:\Emulators\mameplus\mame.exe
args                 coleco -cart "[name]" -skip_gameinfo
rompath              "M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom"
romext               .zip;.7z;.col
system               Colecovision

The 2020.zip load(RUN FINE) ... but the 2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe).col dont... i have this 2 (same)games there!!
« Last Edit: June 14, 2021, 11:24:22 AM by gamesmame »

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 985
    • View Profile
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable        mame.exe
args                 coleco -cart "[romfilename]"
workdir             [place your path to you mame executable here]
rompath             "M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom\"
romext               .zip;.7z;.col
system               Colecovision
info_source          thegamesdb.net


see if that works...

Remember to rebuild your list after you change everything!
People want life easy..then complain about it

gamesmame

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable        mame.exe
args                 coleco -cart "[romfilename]"
workdir             [place your path to you mame executable here]
rompath             "M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom\"
romext               .zip;.7z;.col
system               Colecovision
info_source          thegamesdb.net


see if that works...

OK.. i use this:
Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.6.1
#
executable        mame.exe
args                coleco -cart "[romfilename]"
workdir             M:\Emulators\mameplus
rompath             "M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom\"
romext               .zip;.7z;.col
system               Colecovision
info_source          listxml
The 2020.zip works, load(RUN FINE) ... but the 2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe).col dont... i have this 2 (same)games there!!

With this bat: 

Code: [Select]
mame coleco -cart  "M:\Emulators\Colecovision\Colecovision rom\2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe).col" -skip_gameinfo
2010 - The Graphic Action Game (USA, Europe).col Loads right!!!  ???
« Last Edit: June 14, 2021, 11:59:38 AM by gamesmame »

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 985
    • View Profile
This is so odd...

change

Code: [Select]
workdir             M:\Emulators\mameplusto
Code: [Select]
workdir             M:\Emulators\mameplus\

if you have the roms zipped (.zip) and one rom uncompressed (.col) that is why you have two of the same game

Also note you can use a different emulator for coleco games
« Last Edit: June 14, 2021, 12:46:47 PM by akafox »
People want life easy..then complain about it

gamesmame

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
This is so odd...

change

Code: [Select]
workdir             M:\Emulators\mameplusto
Code: [Select]
workdir             M:\Emulators\mameplus\

if you have the roms zipped (.zip) and one rom uncompressed (.col) that is why you have two of the same game

Also note you can use a different emulator for coleco games

The 2020.zip works with bouth

Code: [Select]
workdir             M:\Emulators\mameplusOr
Code: [Select]
workdir             M:\Emulators\mameplus\
but the other with big name dont work with any!! =(  :-[

why you have two of the same game

Only for testing... i will delete one or other with we make work here...

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 985
    • View Profile
Well I am not sure what the problem is. However as I said...

If you will use the gamesbd as an info source (i.e. info_source thegamesdb.net not info_source  listxml) when you build the list the list should contain long names even if you use mame roms for coleco vision on mame.

But that does not explain why you attract mode config is not working...  :-\

Could you post your mame.ini file please? specifically just these parts so that i can see your path setup please

# CORE SEARCH PATH OPTIONS
#
homepath                  .
rompath     M:\Emulators\mameplus\   <-make sure you have this
hashpath     
samplepath   
artpath     
ctrlrpath     
inipath     
fontpath                 


I tired with my mame after changing my rom path and AM will not work... Put the right path in in the correct place and it works fine

if you need to make an ini file go to your mame directory and type
Code: [Select]
mame -cc
« Last Edit: June 14, 2021, 04:12:23 PM by akafox »
People want life easy..then complain about it