Author Topic: Switch emulator  (Read 536 times)

tom75000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Switch emulator
« on: July 24, 2022, 12:17:07 AM »
Hi,

It is possible with AM to switch betewwen 2 emulator for the smhae system?
For example Snes : snes9x and RA?
Thx

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1254
    • View Profile
Re: Switch emulator
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2022, 02:53:34 AM »
Yes. Configure both emulators in AM. Set one to be the default "Emulator" for your system. Make sure you have a key/button defined for "Edit Game" in the "Controls" settings of AM. Highlight any game you want to use the alternate emulator and press the key/button set for "Edit Game" and choose the alternate emulator configuration. This will need to be done for each game that needs the alternate emulator.

You can also manually edit the romlist.txt for your system and type in the alternate emulator for the games that need it by changing the name in the "Emulator" field to your alternate emulator.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2022, 03:02:17 AM by progets »

tom75000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Re: Switch emulator
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2022, 03:26:56 PM »
Thank you,
Can you send me an example of a system config file?

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1254
    • View Profile
Re: Switch emulator
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2022, 07:10:21 PM »
Not sure what you mean by "example of a system config file". The "attract.cfg" or the "emulator.cfg" files don't contain any information about the second/alternate emulator.

tom75000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Re: Switch emulator
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2022, 09:48:53 PM »
Thx for your answer. So if it's not this 2 file it's romlist.txt?

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1254
    • View Profile
Re: Switch emulator
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2022, 11:54:50 PM »
Yes. You can create a "SNES" emulator for snes9x and a "SNES2" emulator for RA. Then you can just change the SNES games that you want to use RA by editing the romlist.txt "Emulator" field from "SNES" to "SNES2". Of course this is just an example and you can call the emulators anything you want (i.e. SNES_snes9x, SNES_RA, etc.).

If you use the GUI as I mentioned above, this will be the only change in any file.