Author Topic: BIN/CUE roms, how to "prefer CUE if available"?  (Read 1451 times)

placebo_yue

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 56
  • sup
    • View Profile
    • Instagram
BIN/CUE roms, how to "prefer CUE if available"?
« on: January 17, 2021, 02:15:23 PM »
As the title says, i have a particular game which i compressed from a cue with 20 bin audio tracks into a single bin+cue.
The game works fine with music (why i went thru this hassle) if i open the cue file, but NOT if i open the bin file.
How do i tell attract mode to open the cue if available? apparently it goes straight for the bin, and because many other games are simply bin files i can't just vanish the bin format from my romlist creation.

hermine.potter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 769
    • View Profile
Re: BIN/CUE roms, how to "prefer CUE if available"?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2021, 01:43:30 AM »
Different ways (depends on used emulator, that you didn't told us ^-^):

>create .iso files:

it "combines" cue and bin to one single file.
but depends on used emulator. or that any conversion tools supports it.
please tell us which emulator..



>add multiple rom file extensions to AM and edit/clean your romlist afterthen manually:

if this are your romfiles:
game1_1.bin
game1_2.bin
game1.cue

game2.bin

game3.bin

-set multiple file extension and create collection/romlist in AM:
executable           C:\attract\your_emulator\your_emulator.exe
args                 "[romfilename]"
rompath              C:\attract\your_emulator\ROMS
romext               .cue;.bin

-then open your romlist, remove unnecessary entries and save it
here:
C:\attract\romlists\your_emulator.txt

remove:
game1_1.bin
game1_2.bin
« Last Edit: January 18, 2021, 01:49:08 AM by hermine.potter »
AM Version : 2.6.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : Windows10 Pro
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 12GB RAM

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1263
    • View Profile

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 983
    • View Profile
Re: BIN/CUE roms, how to "prefer CUE if available"?
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2021, 11:23:08 AM »
First I have to ask why you are using bins for some and cues for one. Use cues for all of them just to make sure you get the music/sounds. I am just curious. It would help to know what system you are trying to work with (PSX, Sega CD, Dreamcast...ect.) Because as progets pointed out you can use a compressed version of the game.

Either that or set the cue file as a separate "emulator" and have the extension type set as .cue. generate your list. then close AM open the new list you just made in a text editor and copy just the game info (the entire line) and paste it into the list it should be on. Reload AM and then go back to settings...displays set the single use 'emulator" to display and cycle to off (or no). Then go back to the games list.

You should now have the game in the list where it should be should load the cue as default and the "cue emulator" not be seen.
People want life easy..then complain about it