Author Topic: Tag Equals doesn't work  (Read 810 times)

Leecher

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Tag Equals doesn't work
« on: December 28, 2021, 01:05:17 AM »
I have a display called "3D Action" and a display called "3D Action Vehicular".

Then I notice that "Twisted Metal" shows up in my "3D Action" display. So, I change the filter from "contains" to "equals" but that breaks the display not showing any games at all.

hermine.potter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 769
    • View Profile
Re: Tag Equals doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2021, 05:42:24 AM »
See difference between contains and equals here

please set and press button to switch between your filters
AM Version : 2.6.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : Windows10 Pro
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 12GB RAM

Leecher

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Tag Equals doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2021, 03:59:57 PM »
@hermine.potter

In your post it says

Quote
Manufacturer equals Whatever
shows : Whatever
don't show : Whatever/Whatelse2

Manufacturer contains Whatever
shows : Whatever
shows : Whatever/Whatelse2

But why would "Whatever" not show if the filter is "equals Whatever"?

hermine.potter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 769
    • View Profile
Re: Tag Equals doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2021, 06:41:11 AM »
I think, you read it wrong:
It would "Whatever" show if the filter is "equals Whatever"!
If you use equals, it is case sensitive and needs a 100% match.
If you use contains, parts are ok.

For example four romfiles on your harddrive:

Twisted Metal.aaa
Twisted Metal (USA).aaa
Twisted Metal - Whatelse.aaa
Twisted Sisters.aaa

Name equals Twisted Metal
Output :
Twisted Metal

Name contains Twisted Metal
Output:
Twisted Metal.aaa
Twisted Metal (USA).aaa
Twisted Metal - Whatelse.aaa

Name equals Twisted
Output:
empty/nothing shown

Name contains Twisted
Output:
Twisted Metal
Twisted Metal (USA)
Twisted Metal - Whatelse
Twisted Sisters
AM Version : 2.6.1
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : Windows10 Pro
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 12GB RAM

Leecher

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Tag Equals doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2021, 05:12:01 PM »
@hermine.potter

Yes. That is how the condition "equals" and condition "contains" works. But my issue with Attract-mode is that condition "equals" on "Tags" doesn't work. And I check both the letter case of the condition and the titles.

I use condition "equals" on "Emulator" on my build without any issues. I'm on Windows 10.

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
    • View Profile
Re: Tag Equals doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2022, 02:35:38 AM »
@hermine.potter

Yes. That is how the condition "equals" and condition "contains" works. But my issue with Attract-mode is that condition "equals" on "Tags" doesn't work. And I check both the letter case of the condition and the titles.

I use condition "equals" on "Emulator" on my build without any issues. I'm on Windows 10.

Many people miss understand exactly how rules work or apply in AM. "Tags" "equals" would only apply to the tag name and not the games in the file. A lot of people don't know or understand that AM rules use regex and certain characters need to be escaped to be understood which is important in an "equals" rule. I have done some testing and think you might be correct that there is an issue here. I would recommend that you submit the issue as a bug. It's your best option. It will be identified as a bug or you'll likely find out what's wrong with your rule syntax.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2022, 02:41:01 AM by progets »

Leecher

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Tag Equals doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2022, 03:17:17 PM »
@progets
Quote
I would recommend that you submit the issue as a bug.

I went to the Bug Reports forum, but it redirects to github. I don't have a github account and no plans on using any kind of repositories in the future. :'(

And I already worked around my issue by renaming the tag from "3D Action" to "3D Action Combat".

But I'll probably do it in the far future.