Author Topic: Please help to configure the xpad controllers  (Read 2811 times)

elite2030

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Please help to configure the xpad controllers
« on: May 18, 2017, 01:31:56 PM »
Quote

I followed all the setting to configure the xpad controllers in emulation station and attract mode and also the same issue

Please Help!!

elite2030

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Please help to configure the xpad controllers
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2017, 04:45:19 AM »
Need help guys!

pressDUCK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Please help to configure the xpad controllers
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2017, 01:12:30 PM »
I guess if you are using a pre-built image with attract mode, maybe the guy who burned the image had custom controls set up?  I'm assuming you are running retroarch underneath it all, maybe the configuration had been changed?  I started with the basic retropie image and installed attract mode on top from the manage packages options, then built it up with robospin themes and what-not...doubt this helps you, though....

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 958
    • View Profile
Re: Please help to configure the xpad controllers
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2017, 01:40:31 PM »
First of all if you are using an image file when you first start emulation station and set up your button config that's what you get. All are set up (for the most part) correctly. For each system. Except for advmame or pi-mame.

These can be set up as follows:
1. load a game
2. Press TAB
3. Input general
4. Set up the controller the way you want it
Doing this will affect ALL games

For individual games:
1. load a game
2. Press TAB
3. Input for this game
4. Set up the controller the way you want it
This will set up the controls for the current running game ONLY

As for any retroarch cores you have to bring up the retroarch gui and configure from there.

Remember the "default" layout for setting up your controller is a Super Nintendo D-pad. Thus when the configuration says press the "X button" it does not mean YOUR X button it means the button you want X to be.

https://github.com/retropie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/RetroArch-Configuration

When I setup my Genesis 6-button controller I set it up wrong the first time. If you look at the wiki above and set your controller to what the have it works fine. I have never seen an X-Pad controller. What is the EXACT game pad are you using? I might be able to map them out correctly for you.

Also Understand this is NOT an Attract Mode Problem and has everything to do with RetroPie itself. Check the retropie forum as they may have some better information for you.
People want life easy..then complain about it