Author Topic: UserConfig for display menu  (Read 7477 times)

jedione

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1135
  • punktoe
    • View Profile
UserConfig for display menu
« on: January 05, 2017, 07:11:52 AM »
in the theme "Concept" this code works for changing text on screen.

but i cant get it to work for the new display-menu

it shows up on the screen, but not under display options

Code: [Select]
class UserConfig
{
</ label="User custom text", help="Enter text to display on the layout", order=1 /> uct="Change this text in the Layout Options";


local my_config = fe.get_config();


// User Custom Text
local uct = fe.add_text( my_config["uct"], 0, 682, 1280, 38);
uct.charsize = 18;
uct.set_rgb( 205, 205, 205 );
uct.set_bg_rgb( 0, 0, 0 );
uct.bg_alpha = 205;
uct.font="Roboto";
uct.align = Align.Left;
help a friend....

jedione

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1135
  • punktoe
    • View Profile
Re: UserConfig for display menu
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2017, 10:31:06 AM »
so im pretty sure after testing a bit..
that the stuff in layout options is saved in the "attract.cfg"  :ie
Code: [Select]
layout_config Grid
param                art marquee
param                aspect_ratio Yes
param                columns 4
param                flow Vertical
it seems that a display-menu theme, is not righting to it.
But,,,,if you Manually edit it and put it in It will read it .

any one with moor experience with  adding options to themes
please chime in..thanks
help a friend....

liquid8d

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 442
    • View Profile
Re: UserConfig for display menu
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2017, 04:29:41 PM »
I'm not sure, but I'd like to know more about the display menus in general - as far as I can tell there is no explanation on how to customize it. I see that any general layout, it makes a display menu option available where it will use your layout and hijack? your listbox and a textbox to display what it needs. That's all I could tell. I don't quite understand how the fe.overlay and catching Overlay transitions work exactly. Is there a good example of a custom display-menu layout yet?

jedione

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1135
  • punktoe
    • View Profile
Re: UserConfig for display menu
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2017, 06:52:10 PM »
thanks for your reply liquid8 ,,,

so i solved my problem..

this worked...
Code: [Select]
class UserConfig
{ </ label="User custom text",
help="Enter text to display on the layout", order=1 />
uct="Change this text in the Layout Options";

local my_config = fe.get_config();
local flx = fe.layout.width;
local fly = fe.layout.height;
local flw = fe.layout.width;
local flh = fe.layout.height;

local uct = fe.add_text( my_config["uct"], flx*0.030, fly*-0.003, flw*0.500, flh*0.050 );
uct.charsize = 20;
uct.set_rgb( 205, 205, 205 );
uct.set_bg_rgb( 0, 0, 0 );
uct.bg_alpha = 000;
uct.font="ARCADE";
uct.align = Align.Left;

it needed the screen size to make it work
dont know why..

local flx = fe.layout.width;
local fly = fe.layout.height;
local flw = fe.layout.width;
local flh = fe.layout.height;

and must be run from the layout.nut
not a fe.do_nut  ,,wont work


thought what im tring to do is run the theme with
fe.do_nut("scripts/start.nut"); for all the diff-aspects of the theme
ie:
Code: [Select]
local my_config = fe.get_config();
local flx = fe.layout.width;
local fly = fe.layout.height;
local flw = fe.layout.width;
local flh = fe.layout.height;
fe.do_nut("scripts/cabs.nut");
local bg = fe.add_image( "images/bg.png", 0, 0, flw, flh );
fe.do_nut("scripts/wheel.nut");
fe.do_nut("scripts/bars.nut");
fe.do_nut("scripts/bgf.nut");
fe.do_nut("scripts/logo.nut");
fe.do_nut("scripts/start.nut");
fe.do_nut("scripts/custom-1.nut");
fe.do_nut("scripts/clock.nut");
fe.do_nut("scripts/reload.nut");

and it's working great...for keeping it organized
and it will make it a snap for inserting code and creating themes
you need a wheel in your theme just ad  "fe.do_nut("scripts/wheel.nut");"  done..

new display menu im putting out tomorrow morning....check it out...peace
help a friend....

liquid8d

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 442
    • View Profile
Re: UserConfig for display menu
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2017, 04:13:18 PM »
awesome, look forward to seeing it. Some of those might qualify as modules, as that is kind of the point of modules : ) (include reusable .nut code) - a wheel module is something that has been needed for a while.

That's something I planned on doing and just haven't had time, add a bunch of 'object' modules that could be used in multiple layouts. You do have to rework some of the code sometimes though to be a bit more usable across layouts.