Author Topic: (SOLVED!) Controls Not Working In Attract Mode  (Read 1593 times)

dylan1988

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
  • "I love the power glove... It's soo bad!
    • View Profile
(SOLVED!) Controls Not Working In Attract Mode
« on: January 30, 2018, 01:06:04 PM »
Hey guys,

I built a M.A.M.E arcade machine for a friend of mine, and he seems to be having an annoying issue with it. The machine has the following setup:

Frontend: Attract Mode version 2.3 (latest release)
Layout/Theme: Game Station (4:3)
M.A.M.E: GroovyMame64 0.186
ROM Sets: 0.185
CRT_Emudriver: Beta 10 16.2.1
Arcade OSD: 2.0
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD6450
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Keyboard Emulator: J-PAC

Now, the problem is when Attract Mode loads (I have Windows boot straight into Attract Mode) sometimes you're able to use the joysticks and buttons, and other times not? When the controls aren't working, you cannot scroll up or down the games list, nor can I launch a game. I don't believe it to be an issue with the J-PAC as there are no warning lights on the PCB. Also, I've closed Attract Mode and opened a notepad up to test the buttons and Joysticks. They all register an input. When the joysticks/buttons work in Attract mode, they will always work. When they don't work, the only solution I've found is to end the Attract.exe processes, and re-open Attract Mode. Or to simply reset the PC. I've also tried connecting an actual USB keyboard, it too won't work in Attract Mode. Could it be a Windows problem?

I believe I have the latest driver/firmware for the J-PAC, I know that it isn't a Groovymame issue as I can play the games..

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
« Last Edit: April 09, 2019, 07:29:15 PM by dylan1988 »

keilmillerjr

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 938
    • View Profile
Re: Controls Not Working In Attract Mode
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2018, 02:01:17 PM »
I’m stumped too. Delete the config file, start attract to generate a new one, and try reconfigure it? How are you launching it in boot?

dylan1988

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
  • "I love the power glove... It's soo bad!
    • View Profile
Re: Controls Not Working In Attract Mode
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2018, 03:09:11 PM »
I’ll give that a go and report back. I have a shortcut of the Attract.exe file placed in the startup folder. It almost feels as though Windows doesn’t fully load the program sometimes, not too sure. I tried creating a scheduled task to boot Attract Mode at startup. But it didn’t really work, for some reason it booted Attract Mode, but it would skip the intro video and the tab menu would appear instead of the games list for MAME.

keilmillerjr

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 938
    • View Profile
Re: Controls Not Working In Attract Mode
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2018, 05:24:00 PM »
Try running attract as a shell. I have no issues with it as such.

dylan1988

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
  • "I love the power glove... It's soo bad!
    • View Profile
Re: Controls Not Working In Attract Mode
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2018, 05:29:43 PM »
You’ll have to forgive my inexperience, but I don’t know how write a shell script? Would you be able to share your script, and I can change the paths?

keilmillerjr

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 938
    • View Profile
Re: Controls Not Working In Attract Mode
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2018, 06:37:42 PM »
You’ll have to forgive my inexperience, but I don’t know how write a shell script? Would you be able to share your script, and I can change the paths?

No, not a shell script. A shell, like explorer.

Open regedit and navigate to ```HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon``` and replace the key ```string``` value to ```pathtoattract/attract.exe``` and reboot. Any issues, control+alt+delete and open task manager, then run new task and type ```explorer.exe```.

dylan1988

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
  • "I love the power glove... It's soo bad!
    • View Profile
Re: Controls Not Working In Attract Mode
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2018, 12:01:11 AM »
Quote
No, not a shell script. A shell, like explorer.

Open regedit and navigate to ```HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon``` and replace the key ```string``` value to ```pathtoattract/attract.exe``` and reboot. Any issues, control+alt+delete and open task manager, then run new task and type ```explorer.exe```.

I gave this a try over the weekend. I modified the binary for the “shell” string. I changed it from “explorer.exe” to the path to my Attract Mode setup “C:\Attract Mode\attract.exe”. When I boot the PC it does load to Attract Mode, but unfortunately to the menu screen, NOT the emulator. I can’t actually exit to the games selection either. Only resolve is to ctrl + alt + delete and kill the Attract.exe process.

I also have the same result when scheduling a task, it will load Attract Mode (skip the splash intro) and result in the tab menu screen. Is there something I’m missing? Do I need a batch command or something?

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 877
    • View Profile
Re: Controls Not Working In Attract Mode
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2018, 06:14:44 PM »
Quote
No, not a shell script. A shell, like explorer.

Open regedit and navigate to ```HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon``` and replace the key ```string``` value to ```pathtoattract/attract.exe``` and reboot. Any issues, control+alt+delete and open task manager, then run new task and type ```explorer.exe```.

I gave this a try over the weekend. I modified the binary for the “shell” string. I changed it from “explorer.exe” to the path to my Attract Mode setup “C:\Attract Mode\attract.exe”. When I boot the PC it does load to Attract Mode, but unfortunately to the menu screen, NOT the emulator. I can’t actually exit to the games selection either. Only resolve is to ctrl + alt + delete and kill the Attract.exe process.

I also have the same result when scheduling a task, it will load Attract Mode (skip the splash intro) and result in the tab menu screen. Is there something I’m missing? Do I need a batch command or something?

You are getting that result because attract.exe doesn't know where your attract.cfg file is located (even though it's in the same folder). When running as a shell or a task you need to change your command to
Code: [Select]
“C:\Attract Mode\attract.exe" -c "C:\Attract Mode”

dylan1988

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
  • "I love the power glove... It's soo bad!
    • View Profile
(SOLVED!) Controls Not Working In Attract Mode
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2019, 07:28:18 PM »
I know i’m loong over due on this, but wanted to thank you for that last reply. That was the fix for this issue (loss of focus). Hopefully anyone else that may of experienced this issue will see the solution.

My mates arcade machine has been going strong ever since!

Cheers!