Author Topic: How do I run MAME roms off an external drive?  (Read 244 times)

UnicornsOnLSD

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
How do I run MAME roms off an external drive?
« on: August 04, 2018, 01:13:51 PM »
Hi, I'm using a 32GB Acer NUC with Linux Mint and Attract Mode. I would like to run ROMs off an external drive but I just can't get it set up right. Attached are screenshots of the config in Attract Mode, the error output in the terminal, and the directory with the ROMs.

Thank you!

progets

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
Re: How do I run MAME roms off an external drive?
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2018, 10:19:39 PM »
Chances are you don't have the rom path set in MAME. If that isn't your issue post your mame.ini file. Also, what type of MAME set are you using split/merged/non-merged?

UnicornsOnLSD

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: How do I run MAME roms off an external drive?
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2018, 11:37:58 AM »
Chances are you don't have the rom path set in MAME. If that isn't your issue post your mame.ini file. Also, what type of MAME set are you using split/merged/non-merged?

Hi, I have since moved to a new set of ROMs and still have the issue. Attached is mame.ini and some additional screenshots. I am using [romfilepath] as the launch command. Quick note: mame.ini was last modified years ago so it must have came with the ROMs I downloaded.

progets

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
Re: How do I run MAME roms off an external drive?
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2018, 10:39:09 PM »
That mame.ini is expecting the games to be installed in the mame emulator sub directory called "roms". Based on your original post, this isn't correct.

your mame.ini rompath line should be more like this
Code: [Select]
rompath                   roms;/media/arcadeamachine/64GBsandisk/mame/roms

Also, in the AM emulator configuration (/attract/emulators/mame.cfg) you need to use [name] and not [romfilepath] like you mention.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2018, 10:49:29 PM by progets »

UnicornsOnLSD

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: How do I run MAME roms off an external drive?
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2018, 11:33:38 PM »
That mame.ini is expecting the games to be installed in the mame emulator sub directory called "roms". Based on your original post, this isn't correct.

your mame.ini rompath line should be more like this
Code: [Select]
rompath                   roms;/media/arcadeamachine/64GBsandisk/mame/roms

Also, in the AM emulator configuration (/attract/emulators/mame.cfg) you need to use [name] and not [romfilepath] like you mention.

Thank you so much, I'll try this when I get home :D

UnicornsOnLSD

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: How do I run MAME roms off an external drive?
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2018, 10:14:12 AM »
That mame.ini is expecting the games to be installed in the mame emulator sub directory called "roms". Based on your original post, this isn't correct.

your mame.ini rompath line should be more like this
Code: [Select]
rompath                   roms;/media/arcadeamachine/64GBsandisk/mame/roms

Also, in the AM emulator configuration (/attract/emulators/mame.cfg) you need to use [name] and not [romfilepath] like you mention.

Hey, I think I sent the wrong mame.ini, where would I find it?

progets

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
Re: How do I run MAME roms off an external drive?
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2018, 09:07:39 PM »
That mame.ini is expecting the games to be installed in the mame emulator sub directory called "roms". Based on your original post, this isn't correct.

your mame.ini rompath line should be more like this
Code: [Select]
rompath                   roms;/media/arcadeamachine/64GBsandisk/mame/roms

Also, in the AM emulator configuration (/attract/emulators/mame.cfg) you need to use [name] and not [romfilepath] like you mention.

Hey, I think I sent the wrong mame.ini, where would I find it?

Depends on the type and version of mame and OS being used. Looks like you're using mame32ui on Linux so I would guess...
Code: [Select]
~/.mame/mame.ini
FYI - .mame is a hidden folder

If that isn't right then you can just look for it...
Code: [Select]
find / -name mame.ini
« Last Edit: August 14, 2018, 09:09:36 PM by progets »