Author Topic: Command arguments  (Read 6265 times)

Cisek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Command arguments
« on: June 14, 2015, 12:02:05 PM »
Hi

I am trying to configure Elsemi Sega Model 2 emulator and Demul to work with attract mode, what should be a cmd argument to load game, instead of emulator main screen? Thanks

liquid8d

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 442
    • View Profile
Re: Command arguments
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2015, 04:57:44 PM »
Model 2 Emulator:
Code: [Select]
Tab, Emulators, Add Emulator (at the bottom)
Type model2, hit Enter
For Emulator executable: the full path to your emulator.exe
For Command Arguments: [name] (no quotes)
For Rom Path: the full path to your roms

Make sure in the emulator.ini file:
[RomDirs]
Dir1=<path to your roms>

[Renderer]
AutoFull=1 (just above [Input])

That should launch it fullscreen, you'll need a way to Alt-F4 it to exit back to AM. Esc brings it back to window mode.

Have to test demul, haven't set that up..

Cisek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Command arguments
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2015, 10:52:37 PM »
I am using model 2 1.1a version (the newest one). I tried your settings, however it still loads only gui, it doesnt automatically load any game.

liquid8d

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 442
    • View Profile
Re: Command arguments
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2015, 11:16:14 PM »
Something must be misconfigured, I'm using the same.

The Model 2 emulator doesn't want quotes or a path or anything to start on the command line, just 'emulator.exe romname'.

Your path to your emulator is correct because it's launching the emulator. If you have [name] (with no quotes) for the command arguments, it should be sending it correctly.

Switch to Window mode in AM so you can see the output that AM is using - it should say for example: *** Running: C:\games\model2\emulator.exe von

If that is correct, then it means your path to your roms is probably incorrect or commented out. Open the emulator.ini and double check.

Cisek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Command arguments
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2015, 06:42:41 AM »
Ok, it works now, thank you. Is it possible to use some utility that will enable to quit model 2 with selected buttons combinations from joypad?

liquid8d

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 442
    • View Profile
Re: Command arguments
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2015, 08:57:00 PM »
The simple route would be JoyToKey: http://joytokey.net/en/overview

Cisek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Command arguments
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2015, 07:45:43 AM »
thank you! last question - how to get full rom names with model 2. My Model 2 gamelist shows "vf2", instead of "Virtua Fighter 2" for example

liquid8d

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 442
    • View Profile
Re: Command arguments
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2015, 09:09:01 AM »
I don't think you can use thegamesdb.net scraping for Model 2 (could be wrong?) , but look in your romlists folder. There is a delimited text file for it. Just manually enter them in that file like:

vf2;Virtua Fighter 2