Author Topic: Transferring AttractMode configuration to new machine  (Read 256 times)

ThePlayer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Transferring AttractMode configuration to new machine
« on: September 13, 2019, 11:28:28 AM »
I am setting up a new machine which has the newest version of AttractMode.  Can someone help by letting me know which file(s) to move over to get all my settings transferred from an old machine with a previous version of AttractMode to a new machine with the newest version of AttractMode.

Thanks.

iOtero

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 378
    • View Profile
Re: Transferring AttractMode configuration to new machine
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2019, 03:28:11 AM »
¿PC, Raspberry?
¿S.O.?
¿AM Old and New Version?

I love that on my laptop the eyes shine to the Alien every time i access the ssd... :D

keilmillerjr

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 980
    • View Profile
Re: Transferring AttractMode configuration to new machine
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2019, 07:26:26 AM »
attract.cfg (may have slightly different paths for things like font if different platform)
romlists/
emulators/

You could transfer the whole directory. If you are worried about an incompatibility,  rename attract.cfg to attract.cfg.bak and start attract to generate a new file. Compare the two.

iOtero

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 378
    • View Profile
Re: Transferring AttractMode configuration to new machine
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2019, 09:32:54 AM »
¿layouts?  ::)
And if it is a Retropie? That's why i asked...  :-[
I love that on my laptop the eyes shine to the Alien every time i access the ssd... :D

keilmillerjr

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 980
    • View Profile
Re: Transferring AttractMode configuration to new machine
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2019, 10:29:19 AM »
¿layouts?  ::)
And if it is a Retropie? That's why i asked...  :-[

No idea. I do not use retropie. I don't like retropie. This is one of the reasons.

iOtero

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 378
    • View Profile
Re: Transferring AttractMode configuration to new machine
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2019, 02:15:33 PM »
¿layouts?  ::)
And if it is a Retropie? That's why i asked...  :-[

No idea. I do not use retropie. I don't like retropie. This is one of the reasons.

I do not use retropie, i do not like anything, but i said it for the one who asked, because if he use Retropie nothing we can say will help.
I love that on my laptop the eyes shine to the Alien every time i access the ssd... :D

ThePlayer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Transferring AttractMode configuration to new machine
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2019, 07:29:16 PM »
Thanks for the replies.  This is just for the PC.

toothlessgrinn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Re: Transferring AttractMode configuration to new machine
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2019, 07:28:55 PM »
keilmillerjr is right. move the attract.cfg (may have slightly different paths for things like font if different platform) should be the same if its for winpc. ive done that. or take all the old files and only replace attract.exe with the newer one. that works the best for me anyways
« Last Edit: September 24, 2019, 07:31:13 PM by toothlessgrinn »
we came , we saw , we lost LOTS of quarters...

Win 7
Asus mobo amd 64bit 3core
12g ram
4 player. Custom built woody cab
46" plasma screen with 22" marquee

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 800
    • View Profile
Re: Transferring AttractMode configuration to new machine
« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2019, 07:21:02 PM »
Toothlessgrin and keilmillerjr are correct

Just make sure your path is correct so that AM can find them....but to make that even easier...just move a copy of your entire Attract Mode folder to the new machine it will work just fine. I do this all the time. But again you might have to change some file paths. I set it up once on one system and "have 10 set up in 10 minuets"

If you want to run it on retropie you can do the same thing. EXCEPT you MUST put all the information in the correct location..which I can not think of right now (not next to my pie).
People want life easy..then complain about it