Author Topic: Retroarch Mame arguments  (Read 5541 times)

Mettekr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Retroarch Mame arguments
« on: January 17, 2016, 02:01:10 PM »
i have retroarch working in AM for NES, SNES, SMS, GEN, 32X, and TG16 with no issues, but I can't for the life of me get AM to successfully launch a game through the MAME core. For the aforementioned systems, the exe is just retroarch.exe and the arguments are "[romfilename]" -L cores/core_name.dll. That doesn't work with the MAME core, nor does switching to either [name] or "[name]". I think I've tried about every combination. I can launch a game from within retroarch without any problems. And I don't really have a problem just using mame, but I'm building a pc for a friend to put in a cab and having everything just be part of retroarch would make it simpler for him.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2016, 10:29:36 AM by Mettekr »

hursit

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2017, 04:04:47 PM »
Hello there
if someone please help me ?

i have the same issue. I can play other retroarch cores etc. fbalpha. There is no problem.
But with the mame core, i couldt do anything.
help us please

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 883
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2017, 04:15:32 PM »
Code: [Select]
executable           .\RetroArch\retroarch.exe
args                 -f -L .\cores\mame_libretro.dll "[romfilename]"

hursit

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2017, 04:34:20 PM »
Code: [Select]
executable           .\RetroArch\retroarch.exe
args                 -f -L .\cores\mame_libretro.dll "[romfilename]"

Hello
thanks for help
but when i try to launch with this, retroarch gives error and closed.
All of the cores are workng only mame has problem.

And without the attract mode, i tested the mame2016 core.it is working. But in the frontend no :(

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 883
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2017, 04:59:00 PM »
You need to change "mame_libretro.dll" to "mame2016_libretro.dll" or what ever your core is named.

Post your mame.cfg emulator configuration file.

hursit

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2017, 05:07:02 PM »
Quote
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.2.1
#
executable           C:\AttractMode\emulators\RetroArch\retroarch.exe
args                    -f -L cores\mame2016_libretro.dll "[romfilename]"
rompath              C:\AttractMode\roms\Cave
romext               .zip
info_source          thegamesdb.net


thanks

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 883
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2017, 06:05:02 PM »
Your argument is wrong. You aren't providing a relative or full path to the core. "cores\mame2016_libretro.dll " is not a valid path. This is an issue.

Post an emulator.cfg from one of the systems that is working properly so I can see how/where you have RetroArch setup.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2017, 06:11:10 PM by progets »

hursit

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2017, 06:08:52 PM »
Im just trying to play Deathsmiles

when i try to play this game with Retroarch and mame2016 core or mame2014 core. There is no problem, i can play. That means the rom file is ok.

but if i try to play with attract mode, retroarch has error and stopped. I tried all of the other mame cores :(

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 883
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2017, 06:10:27 PM »
Read above, I modified my post when I saw your bad path in the argument line.

hursit

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2017, 06:51:15 PM »


left side is not working mame core
righ side is working fba core no problem

bionictoothpick

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 247
  • He who laughs lasts.
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2017, 04:44:12 AM »
i see the only differences as -f and the rom location.

akafox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2017, 08:11:19 AM »
+1 for the full path needed
People want life easy..then complain about it

hursit

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2017, 08:24:20 AM »
i tried with -f or without -f
it is the same result

i just try to launch game from cmd with the same attractmode command. And it plays fine no problem
see



but the same command with attractmode, it gives error and retroarh stopped

see


« Last Edit: February 11, 2017, 08:29:43 AM by hursit »

progets

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 883
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2017, 03:37:16 PM »
Ok, I think I found your issue.

When you are using the command line the end of the command looks like this.
Code: [Select]
\dsmbl.zip

When you are using Attract-Mode the end of the command looks like this.
Code: [Select]
/dsmbl.zip

To fix this you need a trailing back slash (\) in your mame.cfg rom path like this.
Code: [Select]
# Generated by Attract-Mode v2.2.1
#
executable           C:\AttractMode\emulators\RetroArch\retroarch.exe
args                    -f -L cores\mame2016_libretro.dll "[romfilename]"
rompath              C:\AttractMode\roms\Cave\
romext               .zip
info_source          thegamesdb.net

This should correct Attract-Mode to use "\dsmbl.zip" instead of "/dsmbl.zip" at the end of the command and fix your issue.

amzg79

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Retroarch Mame arguments
« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2017, 12:20:01 AM »
@hursit your inbox is full! please delete some messages :)