Author Topic: Updated version of Roboskin spinwheel, scales from 1024 to 1080...  (Read 247041 times)

verion

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • View Profile
    • new projects
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #135 on: December 15, 2015, 11:47:39 AM »
yes - updated version of your theme, after you added surface to help with snap scaling issues.
yes - newest AM version 1.6.2

one user was reporting this before http://forum.attractmode.org/index.php?topic=291.msg2066#msg2066
But I couldn't replicate the problem - now I know why, because all my themes were without surfaces.

omegaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 880
    • View Profile
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #136 on: December 15, 2015, 12:32:24 PM »
Here's an updated version. I changed the code to position and pinch the surface after the snap instance is bound to the surface. This is the only thing that I could think of since I don't have OSX to test with, which is why I rely  on you for that.  ;)  I also added vertical art instead of a listbox. So, this gave me an excuse to make the change.

Update!!!

Ripped out the fade module since it was causing snap issues.  Added Categories and filter name to the left side of layout.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 11:20:37 PM by omegaman »

verion

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • View Profile
    • new projects
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #137 on: December 15, 2015, 12:48:54 PM »
Thanks. I'll test it and let you know.

---

no joy - still the same :(
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 12:59:24 PM by verion »

rsn8887

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #138 on: December 15, 2015, 05:53:22 PM »
Great theme, but I cannot see my snaps playing at all. The Arcade cab display shows a static "static" screen, e.g. the white noise but it is not animated. I switched all the options around, turned all shader effects on and off, but no luck.

I think I am seeing the same bug as reported above (snap/video not showing).

rsn8887

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #139 on: December 15, 2015, 06:09:05 PM »
I fixed the problem by replacing
this line
local snap = FadeArt("snap", 0, 0, 640, 480, surface );

with this line
local snap = surface.add_artwork("snap", 0, 0, 640, 480);

Now the videos are showing! So it must be some bug with the way fadeart is used, or FadeArt itself.

Very professional layout! It is really cool, I like that I can adjust the speed of the wheel, and that it speeds up and that page up page down also works as it should.

One thing, is it possible to add text display of the Category? I think only year and manufacturer are shown, but not category.

omegaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 880
    • View Profile
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #140 on: December 15, 2015, 07:27:20 PM »
Yeah, it seems to be more of a combination of using FadeArt with Surfaces on OSX for whatever reason. It works fine on windows and linux, so I'm not sure why it breaks on OSX. Probably need to run this one by Raygun.

I can definitely add an option for categories, probably should add nplayers as well. I'll update it tomorrow.  :)

omegaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 880
    • View Profile
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #141 on: December 15, 2015, 07:31:53 PM »
rsn8887-

Are you running OSX too ?

rsn8887

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #142 on: December 15, 2015, 09:07:38 PM »
I am running Windows 10. So the issue is not limited to OSX. I had that exact problem and removing fadeart worked.

I am happy the way it is because I am not a huge fan of those fades anyways, I want to see the preview immediately with no delay. (That bothers me about the progetto videosnaps, because they have the fade hard encoded into the snaps)
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 09:10:31 PM by rsn8887 »

omegaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 880
    • View Profile
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #143 on: December 15, 2015, 10:10:14 PM »
This is really strange then because I am running windows 10 and the fade module works as it should. Maybe, I should just toss out the Fade module because something is definitely bugged now. I am sure there is a logical explanation, I just don't know what it is.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 10:14:54 PM by omegaman »

omegaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 880
    • View Profile
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #144 on: December 15, 2015, 11:24:55 PM »
Update !!!

Ripped out the fade module with a mortal kombat move. Snaps should be working now. Thanks verion and rsn8887 for bringing this to my attention. Uploaded the fix under original post.   

verion

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • View Profile
    • new projects
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #145 on: December 16, 2015, 12:41:44 AM »
Well... that's good and bad news :)
Fade module is soooo sweet - it makes everything look more refined.

But good news is that it is working now and we've pinpointed the bug.

----

Just to be precise (if someone is going to squash that bug):
- FadeArt inside surface definition is not working (as described above)
- FadeArt without surface is working correctly

omegaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 880
    • View Profile
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #146 on: December 16, 2015, 06:36:10 AM »
Agreed, I'm going report this to Raygun. If it gets fixed, I'll add an option where you can turn the fade on or off based on user preference.

verion

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • View Profile
    • new projects
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #147 on: December 20, 2015, 12:41:51 PM »
I have a question re your layout.nut
Can I ask why are you using flx/flw and flw/flh definition?

Code: [Select]
local flx = fe.layout.width;
local fly = fe.layout.height;
local flw = fe.layout.width;
local flh = fe.layout.height;

I know it is much easier to use "flx" instead of "fe.layout.width" - I get that part.
But why are you using both flx AND flw?

like - here:

Code: [Select]
local usnap = fe.add_image( "static.png", flx*0.09, fly*0.38, flw*0.238, flh*0.267 );
usnap.rotation = -4.9;

Why not just stick with either flx/fly or flw/flh?
« Last Edit: December 20, 2015, 12:48:34 PM by verion »

omegaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 880
    • View Profile
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #148 on: December 20, 2015, 08:38:35 PM »
I guess it's more for readability on my part and hopefully others. Since, functions like fe.add_image() and fe.add_artwork use 2d coordinates for objects why not use syntax that represents them in that way, i.e., fe.add_image ( name, x, y, w, h ). It just helps me keep things straight.

verion

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • View Profile
    • new projects
Re: Updated robospin theme !!!
« Reply #149 on: December 20, 2015, 10:22:05 PM »
ok. _now_ I get it.  8)
thanks
« Last Edit: December 21, 2015, 01:18:59 AM by verion »