Author Topic: Can't get m64p to start in fullscreen  (Read 586 times)

ThePlayer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Can't get m64p to start in fullscreen
« on: January 25, 2018, 05:26:11 AM »
I have one last issue on my setup.  I can't get the N64 emulator to open in fullscreen.  I am using m64p (mupen64plus + GLideN64 + a GUI).  Looking around the internet and this website I have tried:
--fullscreen "[romfilename]"
"[romfilename]" --fullscreen
mupen64plus-gui.exe  --fullscreen 
I can't get anything to work, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

hermine.potter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 383
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get m64p to start in fullscreen
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2018, 05:52:13 AM »
@ThePlayer
always test a system on commandline:
path_to_mupen\mupen64plus.exe --fullscreen path_to_romfile\romfile.z64

In my case:
C:\attract\EMU\mupen\mupen64plus.exe --fullscreen C:\attract\EMU\mupen\ROMS\my_game.z64

So transfer this to AM:
executable           C:\attract\EMU\mupen\mupen64plus.exe
args                 --fullscreen "[romfilename]"
rompath              C:\attract\EMU\mupen\ROMS
romext               .z64;.v64
AM Version : 2.4.0
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : WindowsXP x86 SP3
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 4GB RAM
Emulators : zsnes; mame; dosbox; scummvm; bsnes; fusion; openbor; windows_games; winuae; video; flashgames; vice; visualboy

ThePlayer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get m64p to start in fullscreen
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2018, 06:23:59 AM »
This is one of the ways I tried:

executable           c:\emulators\n64\mupen64plus-gui.exe
args                 --fullscreen "[romfilename]"
rompath              c:\emulators\n64\roms
romext               .z64;.v64

I will test with commandline later.  Could m64p having the gui mupen64plus-gui be causing me an issue?

Thanks for the reply.

hermine.potter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 383
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get m64p to start in fullscreen
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2018, 10:06:36 PM »
@ThePlayer
the mupen64plus-gui from m64p is the problem.

Testing first on commandline is essential, because you can't know the correct structure of an emulator system without testing (or reading manual, or faq, or program help file, or internet research).

There is no documentation about any commandline parameters from m64p. no faq. no manual. no external program help file. internet research shows only parameters from rival product m64py

So the last chance is, there's a help file enclosed in program itself (internal program help file). After trying to start the mupen64plus-gui.exe mit different help parameters in command line:
mupen64plus-gui.exe /help => doesn't work
mupen64plus-gui.exe -help => doesn't work
mupen64plus-gui.exe -h => works


So the correct commandline is (in my case):
C:\attract\EMU\mupen64plus\mupen64plus-gui.exe --nogui C:\attract\EMU\mupen\ROMS\my_game.z64

In AM:
executable           C:\attract\EMU\mupen64plus\mupen64plus-gui.exe
args                 --nogui "[romfilename]"
rompath              C:\attract\EMU\mupen64plus\ROMS
romext               .z64;.v64

So : After correct testing/starting a rom file from commandline, you can transfer it to AM.



AM Version : 2.4.0
Input : Mad Catz Brawlstick; Mouse; Keyboard; Xbox360 Wireless
Cabinet : Yes
OS : WindowsXP x86 SP3
System : Dell Precision T3500 ; Intel X5650 ; 4GB RAM
Emulators : zsnes; mame; dosbox; scummvm; bsnes; fusion; openbor; windows_games; winuae; video; flashgames; vice; visualboy

nevincho

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get m64p to start in fullscreen
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2018, 08:12:10 AM »
I have one last issue on my setup.  I can't get the N64 emulator to open in fullscreen.  I am using m64p (mupen64plus + GLideN64 + a GUI).  Looking around the internet and this website I have tried:
--fullscreen "[romfilename]"
"[romfilename]" --fullscreen
mupen64plus-gui.exe  --fullscreen 
I can't get anything to work, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Try this: 

Open with Notepad++ , mupen64plus.cfg

in Video change ScreenWidth and ScreenHeight default to 640x480

[Video-General]

# Use fullscreen mode if True, or windowed mode if False
Fullscreen = True
# Width of output window or fullscreen width
ScreenWidth = 640
# Height of output window or fullscreen height
ScreenHeight = 480
# If true, activate the SDL_GL_SWAP_CONTROL attribute
VerticalSync = False
AM Version : 2.1.0/2.3.0
Input :  Mouse; Keyboard; USB Joystick, Arcade controls
Cabinet : No ( working on second ) and Yes one with Pandoras Box 4
OS : Groovy Arcade 2016/Windows
System : IBM M52 ; Intel P4 3GHz Dual Core ; 4GB DDR2 RAM
Emulators : mame, mupen64plus, PSX (mednafen), Dolph