Author Topic: Arcadeflow theme v 6.0 [Release] Updated 2 December 2019  (Read 67403 times)

dukpoki

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.8 [Release] Updated 17 June 2019
« Reply #465 on: June 19, 2019, 12:20:23 PM »
The modified layout you've made for arthurvalenca is wicked!  I think the crop actually looks good!

Thank you for making the "clean" mode.  It's very minimal and nice.  There is one thing I do wish you could modify though and that is for your region info to have more detection.  Is there any way to make it so that every parenthesis (and not just the first) in the title can be detected and displayed?

For example, let's say I have four different roms of the same game:

1.  Final Fantasy VI (USA)
2.  Final Fantasy VI (Japan)
3.  Final Fantasy VI (Japan) (English Translated)
4.  Final Fantasy VI (USA) (Beta) (Hacked)

Currently..  It only shows USA for 1 & 4 and Japan for 2 & 3.


I use a code like this for my own layouts and it works fine:

Code: [Select]
function trimmed_name( index_offset ) {
    local s = split( fe.game_info( Info.Title, index_offset ), "(" );
    if ( s.len() > 0 )
        return s[0];

    return "";
}

// gets the second part of the game name, after the "("
function subname1( index_offset ) {
local s = split( fe.game_info( Info.Title, index_offset ), "(" )
local s2 = ""
if ( s.len() > 1 ) {
s2 = split(s[1],")")
return s2[0]
}
return ""
}

// gets the third part of the game name, after the "("
function subname2( index_offset ) {
local s = split( fe.game_info( Info.Title, index_offset ), "(" )
local s3 = ""
if ( s.len() > 2 ) {
s3 = split(s[2],")")
return ", " + s3[0]
}
return ""
}

// gets the fourth part of the game name, after the "("
function subname3( index_offset ) {
local s = split( fe.game_info( Info.Title, index_offset ), "(" )
local s4 = ""
if ( s.len() > 3 ) {
s4 = split(s[3],")")
return ", " + s4[0]
}
return ""
}

// Any blank--if no text after parenthesis, then sends N/A
function subname4( index_offset ) {
local s = split( fe.game_info( Info.Title, index_offset ), "(" )
local s5 = ""
if ( s.len() > 1 ) {
s5 = split(s[1],")")
return ""
}
return "N/A"
}


local region_text =fe.add_text("",100, 100, 500, 22 )


fe.add_transition_callback( "update_game_info" )
function update_game_info( ttype, var, ttime )
{
    if ( ttype == Transition.StartLayout || ttype == Transition.ToNewList || ttype == Transition.EndNavigation )
    {
region_text.msg = subname1 (var) + subname2 (var) + subname3 (var) + subname4 (var) ;

    }
    return false;
}



I'm sure though there might be a better way than I have implemented.

dukpoki

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.8 [Release] Updated 17 June 2019
« Reply #466 on: June 19, 2019, 02:38:04 PM »
For some pics there are some weird aspect ratio/not-fitting-properly problems going on.

Here is an example:




Look at the left of the Policenauts boxart.  I've attached the original boxart image which is 800x672.


zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.8 [Release] Updated 17 June 2019
« Reply #467 on: June 19, 2019, 10:56:59 PM »

1.  Final Fantasy VI (USA)
2.  Final Fantasy VI (Japan)
3.  Final Fantasy VI (Japan) (English Translated)
4.  Final Fantasy VI (USA) (Beta) (Hacked)

Currently..  It only shows USA for 1 & 4 and Japan for 2 & 3.


I see, thank you for telling me, I never thought about this because I started with Mame where you only have one "( )" group after the main name. I think it's pretty easy to solve, also thank you for the code, I'll see what's the best way to implement this and come up with a temp layout to check before releasing.

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.8 [Release] Updated 17 June 2019
« Reply #468 on: June 19, 2019, 11:03:50 PM »
For some pics there are some weird aspect ratio/not-fitting-properly problems going on.

Got it, this happens because the image is "horizontal" (width > height) but aspect ratio is "more square" than 4:3, so the cropping is wrong. Thanks for spotting this!

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.8 [Release] Updated 17 June 2019
« Reply #469 on: June 20, 2019, 02:08:47 AM »
For example, let's say I have four different roms of the same game:

1.  Final Fantasy VI (USA)
2.  Final Fantasy VI (Japan)
3.  Final Fantasy VI (Japan) (English Translated)
4.  Final Fantasy VI (USA) (Beta) (Hacked)

You can try the attached layout: it should fix the cropping of box art, and use all the notes in parenthesis. Please let me know if it works for you

dukpoki

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.8 [Release] Updated 17 June 2019
« Reply #470 on: June 21, 2019, 05:21:58 PM »
You can try the attached layout: it should fix the cropping of box art, and use all the notes in parenthesis. Please let me know if it works for you

Yes that fixes everything!  Here is a video of it in action. The boxart stretch is fixed and the titles show up properly.  I also see that you've fixed the titles in the game details section.  This works perfectly because for the extra long titles, you can just go into that menu and read the full title.  I appreciate all you have done.  Thank you so much.

jedione

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 797
  • punktoe
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.8 [Release] Updated 17 June 2019
« Reply #471 on: June 21, 2019, 05:48:11 PM »
i haven't used the theme for a bit now,    and just tryed the latest..and wow

this theme has relay formed into a great front end theme...amazing work  thanks

i will be using this on the 64 inch tv in the living room....how cool :)

help a friend....

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.8 [Release] Updated 17 June 2019
« Reply #472 on: June 25, 2019, 08:50:01 AM »
I'm working on 4.9 right now, incorporating most of the fixes of the latest draft shared here (crops, aspects etc), but with lots of code rewriting and cleanup. Most important, I don't use artworks with index_offset or rawset_index_offset anymore for image loading, but direct get_art statements. This is a huge change and fixes a lot of issues I had, for example with keyboard search when some artwork was not updated correctly. I'm still trying to understand what I can simplify and what is still needed, therefore if you want to try this layout and report any bugs before release it'll be greatly appreciated :D

Enkak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.8 [Release] Updated 17 June 2019
« Reply #473 on: June 26, 2019, 02:58:39 AM »
Started to test it in a separate build and so far seems to be very stable. :) I forgot to tell that I also like how overview info/story files shows up now if you don't have history.dat, thank you so much for that too ;)

A question for the display menu. Would be possible an option to deactivate there only the splash effect when you reach a new letter? I ask because I like that effect very much on the gaming lists but normally on Display menu my systems aren't in alphabetical order (more like eras/time or type).

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.8 [Release] Updated 17 June 2019
« Reply #474 on: June 26, 2019, 05:21:36 AM »
Started to test it in a separate build and so far seems to be very stable. :)

Good, did you notice any slowdown? Just a bit of extra cleanup and I'll release it next week.

Quote
A question for the display menu. Would be possible an option to deactivate there only the splash effect when you reach a new letter?

Sure, this can be done easily, you can check the attached layout...

Enkak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.8 [Release] Updated 17 June 2019
« Reply #475 on: June 26, 2019, 05:40:40 AM »
Thank you so much for the updated layout, works wonderful the display menu no splash letter option. :)

Regarding the speed or slowdown. Generally it feels very fast, even now in the Display Menu with some bigger cover files. It only hangs a little if I chose boxart in Arcade and the flyers are too big/heavy of course. Even more "complicated" systems like Nintendo DS with its vertical style snaps screenshots+video combo show up very good now, impressive. :)

Nintendo DS art crops a little on the sides, just like it happens with some vertical art, but nothing serious.

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.9 [Release] Updated 27 June 2019
« Reply #476 on: June 26, 2019, 07:31:44 AM »
Arcadeflow updated to 4.9!

New method for loading artwork means less glitches, better crops, fixed many bugs and added gameplay videos in box art mode! Enjoy!
« Last Edit: October 31, 2019, 06:38:36 AM by zpaolo11x »

dukpoki

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.9 [Release] Updated 27 June 2019
« Reply #477 on: June 26, 2019, 08:00:26 AM »
There is a bug for me in 4.9.

Here's the steps to reproduce it.

1.  Open AM.
2.  Select the very first game in the list and go to the details menu (the menu with the screenshot and game description).
3.  From here, scroll all the way to the very last game in the list but go in reverse i.e. hit left once.
4.  Press Esc and go back to the main menu.

You will see upon hitting Esc, that the current game in question is not selected.  At least that's what happens to me.

Edit:  I've tried it with the previous version and the same thing happens.  So it's not something that came about from 4.9.  Looks like it's all versions.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2019, 08:02:44 AM by dukpoki »

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.9 [Release] Updated 27 June 2019
« Reply #478 on: June 27, 2019, 03:12:50 AM »
You will see upon hitting Esc, that the current game in question is not selected.  At least that's what happens to me.

I see, I was able to replicate the issue... this happens also if you use "prev game" hotkey from the very first item in the list, and its due to the fact that AF should not "cycle" the game list jumping from first to last item. I'll look into it but probably the easiest way to solve the issue is to prevent jumping like that

arthurvalenca

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 4.9 [Release] Updated 27 June 2019
« Reply #479 on: June 27, 2019, 10:39:19 AM »
There is a bug for me in 4.9.

Here's the steps to reproduce it.

1.  Open AM.
2.  Select the very first game in the list and go to the details menu (the menu with the screenshot and game description).
3.  From here, scroll all the way to the very last game in the list but go in reverse i.e. hit left once.
4.  Press Esc and go back to the main menu.

You will see upon hitting Esc, that the current game in question is not selected.  At least that's what happens to me.

Edit:  I've tried it with the previous version and the same thing happens.  So it's not something that came about from 4.9.  Looks like it's all versions.


It was fantastic, thank you for creating and keeping this wonderful theme always updated and improving every day. So I would like to put one more opinion, maybe in its next update could develop the same theme with compatibility to machines that have weaker hardware, so they can also run the smooth theme free of crashes. But so far my opinion for my machine works very well in every way.
Thank you!