Author Topic: Arcadeflow theme v 6.6 [Release] Updated 23 February 2020  (Read 79876 times)

Sea Monkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.0 [Release] Updated 2 December 2019
« Reply #705 on: December 15, 2019, 02:02:31 PM »
In layout.nut, Ln 63 and 64, you have misspelled 'Displays' as 'Displyas'. Also, all instances of

Code: [Select]
options = " ",
can be removed with no perceived ill effects.  It still doesn't fix the fact that the dividers have selectable options, but so far, I don't know how to fix that.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2019, 02:31:45 PM by Sea Monkey »

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 678
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.0 [Release] Updated 2 December 2019
« Reply #706 on: December 15, 2019, 10:27:38 PM »
In layout.nut, Ln 63 and 64, you have misspelled 'Displays' as 'Displyas'.

Oh thank you for spotting that! Gonna fix it for 6.1 :)

Quote
Also, all instances of

Code: [Select]
options = " ",
can be removed with no perceived ill effects.  It still doesn't fix the fact that the dividers have selectable options, but so far, I don't know how to fix that.

I don't know if there's a way to fix that too, dividers in the option panel are a hack that I used to make the list more readable, it's not something officially supported.

Sea Monkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.0 [Release] Updated 2 December 2019
« Reply #707 on: December 16, 2019, 04:24:30 PM »
I use Skyscraper with the screenscraper module, which returns multiple comma-delimited categories for many games.  The result is that these games don't display any category image.  It would be neat if the theme could parse these and cycle through the relevant category images for these games.  Alternatively, and probably much easier to implement, you could have it omit everything after the first comma thereby only using the image for the first category listed.

tvsht

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.0 [Release] Updated 2 December 2019
« Reply #708 on: December 17, 2019, 02:32:29 AM »
I use Skyscraper with the screenscraper module, which returns multiple comma-delimited categories for many games.  The result is that these games don't display any category image.  It would be neat if the theme could parse these and cycle through the relevant category images for these games.  Alternatively, and probably much easier to implement, you could have it omit everything after the first comma thereby only using the image for the first category listed.


Yup, same issue from me, didn't know the reason yet, thank you for solving that for me

Sea Monkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.0 [Release] Updated 2 December 2019
« Reply #709 on: December 18, 2019, 10:41:02 PM »
I made the mistake of defining Arcadeflow 6.0 as the layout type for the Displays menu and realized that this did not set it to the auto-generated list, but rather the default Arcadeflow layout used by the systems themselves.  I eventually figured out that the fix was to edit attract.cfg and set menu_layout to undefined (no text after 'menu_layout'). Noting this here in case anyone else runs into the same issue.

yxiie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.0 [Release] Updated 2 December 2019
« Reply #710 on: December 19, 2019, 03:17:26 AM »
Any plans on supporting arbitrary aspect ratios? Many box covers like Wii U and PSP look ugly right now.

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 678
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.0 [Release] Updated 2 December 2019
« Reply #711 on: December 20, 2019, 02:32:45 AM »
I use Skyscraper with the screenscraper module, which returns multiple comma-delimited categories for many games.  The result is that these games don't display any category image.  It would be neat if the theme could parse these and cycle through the relevant category images for these games.  Alternatively, and probably much easier to implement, you could have it omit everything after the first comma thereby only using the image for the first category listed.

I'm attaching you an updated file to put into Arcadeflow 6.0 folder. I have to warn you that substituting this file will mess with manufacturer logos because it's a work in progress of Arcadeflow 6.1, so use it just for test to see if it solves your issues with categories. What it does is that it extract only the first category from the comma separated list.


zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 678
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.0 [Release] Updated 2 December 2019
« Reply #712 on: December 20, 2019, 02:34:16 AM »
Any plans on supporting arbitrary aspect ratios? Many box covers like Wii U and PSP look ugly right now.

Not at the moment: arbitrary aspects would be cool but it would be a complete rewrite of the theme, so it's not something I'll do so quickly. PSP box art will be severely cut in 3:4, but WiiU shouldn't look so bad... can you share a screenshot just to check that there's not something else going on?

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 678
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.0 [Release] Updated 2 December 2019
« Reply #713 on: December 20, 2019, 02:44:58 AM »
I made the mistake of defining Arcadeflow 6.0 as the layout type for the Displays menu and realized that this did not set it to the auto-generated list, but rather the default Arcadeflow layout used by the systems themselves.

Yes that's the intended behavior in Attract Mode when using a layout as "displays" layout.

Quote
I eventually figured out that the fix was to edit attract.cfg and set menu_layout to undefined (no text after 'menu_layout'). Noting this here in case anyone else runs into the same issue.

You can obtain the same result in the menu where you set ARcadeflow as displays menu, just set the value to "Default" and it will use the list as displays menu

Sea Monkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.0 [Release] Updated 2 December 2019
« Reply #714 on: December 20, 2019, 06:27:12 PM »

Quote
You can obtain the same result in the menu where you set ARcadeflow as displays menu, just set the value to "Default" and it will use the list as displays menu

Strangely enough, this set it back to the Basic layout and editing the config was the only way I managed to get it back.  I haven't experimented with it further, but I figured whatever function ArcadeFlow uses to generate the Displays menu doesn't run every time a system is loaded, but rather only when ArcadeFlow is set as the theme for a system.  I could be completely wrong.  I was just happy I figured out how to fix it.

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 678
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.1 [Release] Updated 24 December 2019
« Reply #715 on: December 23, 2019, 11:59:39 AM »
Arcadeflow 6.1 is out! Mostly bug fixes and a larger number of vector manufacturer logos!

Enjoy, report bugs and happy holidays!

dark1973

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.1 [Release] Updated 24 December 2019
« Reply #716 on: December 23, 2019, 02:12:12 PM »
Grazie per la nuova versione e tanti auguri!!

Jate

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.1 [Release] Updated 24 December 2019
« Reply #717 on: December 31, 2019, 05:42:50 AM »
In display menu you can't watch videos, is that correct? Only work in systems?

And I have another problem, GameGear videos look bad in Boxart mode

« Last Edit: December 31, 2019, 09:08:32 AM by Jate »

zpaolo11x

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 678
    • View Profile
    • My deviantart page
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.1 [Release] Updated 24 December 2019
« Reply #718 on: December 31, 2019, 10:39:41 AM »
In display menu you can't watch videos, is that correct? Only work in systems?

You want videos to play when using Arcadeflow as displays menu layout? I have to check, I'm not sure if videos are disabled. You must put your system videos in the menu-art folder...

Quote
And I have another problem, GameGear videos look bad in Boxart mode

Oh this is bad... the situation is similar to Genesis (vertical box art and horizontal screenshots) and I'm sure that it works in that case, so the issue may be related to the LCD nature of the Game Gear... I'll have a look at the code next year :D

Jate

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Arcadeflow theme v 6.1 [Release] Updated 24 December 2019
« Reply #719 on: January 01, 2020, 03:56:23 AM »
Quote
You want videos to play when using Arcadeflow as displays menu layout? I have to check, I'm not sure if videos are disabled. You must put your system videos in the menu-art folder...
Yes, I do it but it doesn't work

Quote
Oh this is bad... the situation is similar to Genesis (vertical box art and horizontal screenshots) and I'm sure that it works in that case, so the issue may be related to the LCD nature of the Game Gear... I'll have a look at the code next year :D

Thanks , in genesis/megadrive games go well. Only fail in gg and neogeo pocket






And one suggestion, could you make the active video scale to the standard aspect ratio (4: 3 or 16: 9)?
or that the video is extended as in the theme Ambience HD (by Oomek)?